Miraa/Khat set for Ban in UK!!!
#21 Posted : Friday, July 26, 2013 7:37:54 AM

deleted
#22 Posted : Friday, July 26, 2013 9:03:13 AM

butterflyke wrote:
this morning i watched meru county women rep kajuju on the citizen 'power' breakfast show in a discussion with a dr mutisya on the banning of miraa.

she questioned the banning of miraa on the basis of the impact it will have on livelihoods and said the govt has a parliamentary committee looking into this issue.

she also said that she does not understand what is so wrong with miraa since one of the official expressions of a man's interest in a woman to the njuri nceke involves giving a bunch of miraa.

@nostopping, @kingmvuvi and others 'versed' na haya mambo smile , is this true?

Yaani nostop, amekuwa expert was miraa???
#23 Posted : Friday, July 26, 2013 10:14:32 AM

butterflyke wrote:
this morning i watched meru county women rep kajuju on the citizen 'power' breakfast show in a discussion with a dr mutisya on the banning of miraa.

she questioned the banning of miraa on the basis of the impact it will have on livelihoods and said the govt has a parliamentary committee looking into this issue.

she also said that she does not understand what is so wrong with miraa since one of the official expressions of a man's interest in a woman to the njuri nceke involves giving a bunch of miraa.

what is not true??
#24 Posted : Friday, July 26, 2013 10:16:31 AM

kingfisher wrote:
butterflyke wrote:

what is not true??

@kingmvuvi, hii mambo ya expression of interest - is it true that a bunch of miraa is given to njuri nceke?

@MC, @nostop knows things smile
#25 Posted : Friday, July 26, 2013 10:23:38 AM

butterflyke wrote:
kingfisher wrote:
butterflyke wrote:

what is not true??

@kingmvuvi, hii mambo ya expression of interest - is it true that a bunch of miraa is given to njuri nceke?

@MC, @nostop knows things smile

smile haven't come back to this thread for a while now...

@Butterflyke, when i delved in to Meru sometime back, I didn't manage to get this info...
#26 Posted : Monday, September 02, 2013 6:31:09 AM

Meru women ask UK to bring their women to miraa-chewing men to prove it’s good

And Nyambene district Maendeleo Ya Wanawake chairlady Jennifer Kathure said miraa reduces heartburn, an acidic condition and expectant mothers who eat soil should instead chew a little miraa and the urge to eat soil would go away.“I speak from a mother’s experience as I was born and brought up in a miraa environment,” she said.Miraa does not make our men impotent at all. If anything when our men chew miraa they are overly active in bed. This can be confirmed by married women whose husbands chew miraa,” said Kathure

The Meru and Tharaka-Nithi women representatives Florence Kajuju and Beatrice Nkatha said miraa has never caused any sexual dysfunction in men.Both women leaders observed that their fathers were great miraa chewers and yet they were sired by them.“My father was a great miraa trader and chewer. He’s the one who sired me and my eight siblings. If miraa can cause impotency in men then our father could not have sired us,” said Nkatha.

Kajuju, who is the chairperson of the Parliamentary select committee on miraa, caused laughter when she suggested that the UK should bring over their wives to Meru men who chew so that they can prove miraa doesn’t cause any sexual dysfunction to men.“Let these white people who say miraa can make our men not to perform their conjugal duties bring their wives to our warriors.“I was even seeking for permission in Parliament to take our miraa chewing warriors to Holland and UK so they are given girls to work on and they shall realise men who chew miraa are smarter in bed,” said Kajuju. 
#27 Posted : Monday, September 02, 2013 6:53:20 AM

Why are people trying to force a sovereign country (a word Kenyan politicians like using)to accept something they dont want...
#28 Posted : Monday, September 02, 2013 7:56:37 AM

Why are people trying to force a sovereign country (a word Kenyan politicians like using)to accept something they dont want...

I too wonder. Can we really force the U.K to buy/consume what they clearly don't want?

I happen to have stumbled upon some radio programs that were being broadcast throughout the better part of 2012 in the lead up to the ban. From the interviews conducted, you could tell miraa had really messed up some of those families. I particularly recall the story of a certain young Somali guy (from a somali immigrant family) who was recently admitted to uni there to study med. After just about a year or so of constant miraa consumption, the young man began to experience psychiatric problems apparently brought by khat (well, according to his physician) and eventually had to drop out of uni altogether.

When politicians go around yapping endlessly, they're being less than honest to us. The right time to lobby was then, not now. But as always, we were caught napping.
bird_man
#29 Posted : Monday, September 02, 2013 9:56:02 AM

I particularly recall the story of a certain young Somali guy (from a somali immigrant family) who was recently admitted to uni there to study med. After just about a year or so of constant miraa consumption, the young man began to experience psychiatric problems apparently brought by khat (well, according to his physician) and eventually had to drop out of uni altogether.

Wewe!So many people take miraa & that doesn't make them drop out from university or stop working.This is not a drug...ni stimulant kama Lucozade & RedBull :)

So why dont the Chinese consume miraa?Demand from China alone would be more than enough.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#30 Posted : Monday, September 02, 2013 10:20:05 AM

The ban could actually be a blessing to some farmers, smuggling the stuff will make it more expensive
#31 Posted : Monday, September 02, 2013 11:15:51 AM

Before we export the Ameru prowess to UK there are some strongholds where airports were complaining loudly that they were not being landed because of mugacha kumi kumi etc why dont we send thes Ameru warriors there to help their cousins?

And help propagate tyranny!

And just when some coffee farmers in Nyiri had smelt money and uprooted coffee replacing it with miraa plantationsSad d'oh! Sad d'oh! Pray

Siringi wrote:
Meru women ask UK to bring their women to miraa-chewing men to prove it’s good

And Nyambene district Maendeleo Ya Wanawake chairlady Jennifer Kathure said miraa reduces heartburn, an acidic condition and expectant mothers who eat soil should instead chew a little miraa and the urge to eat soil would go away.“I speak from a mother’s experience as I was born and brought up in a miraa environment,” she said.Miraa does not make our men impotent at all. If anything when our men chew miraa they are overly active in bed. This can be confirmed by married women whose husbands chew miraa,” said Kathure

The Meru and Tharaka-Nithi women representatives Florence Kajuju and Beatrice Nkatha said miraa has never caused any sexual dysfunction in men.Both women leaders observed that their fathers were great miraa chewers and yet they were sired by them.“My father was a great miraa trader and chewer. He’s the one who sired me and my eight siblings. If miraa can cause impotency in men then our father could not have sired us,” said Nkatha.

Kajuju, who is the chairperson of the Parliamentary select committee on miraa, caused laughter when she suggested that the UK should bring over their wives to Meru men who chew so that they can prove miraa doesn’t cause any sexual dysfunction to men.“Let these white people who say miraa can make our men not to perform their conjugal duties bring their wives to our warriors.“I was even seeking for permission in Parliament to take our miraa chewing warriors to Holland and UK so they are given girls to work on and they shall realise men who chew miraa are smarter in bed,” said Kajuju. 

#32 Posted : Monday, September 02, 2013 11:32:45 AM

bird_man wrote:
I particularly recall the story of a certain young Somali guy (from a somali immigrant family) who was recently admitted to uni there to study med. After just about a year or so of constant miraa consumption, the young man began to experience psychiatric problems apparently brought by khat (well, according to his physician) and eventually had to drop out of uni altogether.

Wewe!So many people take miraa & that doesn't make them drop out from university or stop working.This is not a drug...ni stimuland kama Lucozade & RedBull :)

So why dont the Chinese consume miraa?Demand from China alone would be more than enough.

Ati miraa ni STIMULAND? Lol!
#33 Posted : Monday, September 02, 2013 11:37:13 AM

bird_man wrote:

Wewe!So many people take miraa & that doesn't make them drop out from university or stop working.This is not a drug...ni stimuland kama Lucozade & RedBull :)

he he he...gosh am having a blast on a Monday
bird_man
#34 Posted : Monday, September 02, 2013 11:40:53 AM

bird_man wrote:

he he he...gosh am having a blast on a Monday

Ala!You mean I made such a mistake??Wah!Now collected.d'oh! Laughing out loudly
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#35 Posted : Tuesday, October 08, 2013 9:32:50 PM

#36 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 10:43:51 PM

UK legislators promise Uhunye that they will fight "tooth and nail" to keep miraa in britain, remember China had booked the miraa.
Meru Holiness
#37 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 1:14:03 AM

UK legislators promise Uhunye that they will fight "tooth and nail" to keep miraa in britain, remember China had booked the miraa.

Laughing out loudly consequences after choices?
#38 Posted : Friday, August 22, 2014 3:22:03 PM

#39 Posted : Friday, August 22, 2014 4:45:36 PM

Laughing out loudly consequences after choices?

Consequences!!!
#40 Posted : Thursday, October 01, 2015 10:39:12 PM