wazua Mon, Jul 21, 2025

9 Pages«<6789>
Ethiopia's Trams
#141 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2015 6:11:08 PM

innairobi wrote:
congratulations ethiopia for the lrt. generally speaking, ethiopia is coming from a lower development base and some of the investments its making or getting now are phases kenya has passed. except things like lrt of course.

what are these phases that kenya has passed
#142 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2015 6:13:55 PM

innairobi wrote:
congratulations ethiopia for the lrt. generally speaking, ethiopia is coming from a lower development base and some of the investments its making or getting now are phases kenya has passed. except things like lrt of course.

8 teachers strike, Ethiopians cant dare!!!
#143 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2015 6:38:34 PM

Gathige wrote:
Would trams solve Nairobi's transport problems? I don't think so not unless they are put on all matatu routes. Matatus are more efficient in ferrying huge numbers of people to many many destinations which trams can't.

Trams would only work for intra-city transport, eg hopping from Kencom to GPO. Nairobi trasport problem is getting the masses from the residential areas to the City.Once people are in the city, they can then solve their movements. I doubt many people would wait for a tram from for example railways bus park to GPO. Its better to walk as the waiting time might be much more than the walking time.

Nbi is just too congested to plan. It would be much easier to build a new capital elsewhere with better infrastructure than try to create order our of chaotic Nbi.

My 2 rupees.

Too short a route.

To be more effective one lane should run from Syokimau -CBD(through railways -Moi ave)- Kangemi, another Komarock- CBD (through muthurwa hailesellasie) - Rongai, and another Thika rd - CBD (through muranga rd community ngong rd) - Karen

This is what was proposed in 2012

Then Kidero dreamt of this in 2014

Then juzi this one popped up in the dailys

I think watu wa kukula bado hawajashiba
innairobi
#144 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2015 7:22:31 PM

innairobi wrote:

angalia development and economics statistics of the two countries.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
#145 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2015 7:43:47 PM

Gathige wrote:
Would trams solve Nairobi's transport problems? I don't think so not unless they are put on all matatu routes. Matatus are more efficient in ferrying huge numbers of people to many many destinations which trams can't.

Trams would only work for intra-city transport, eg hopping from Kencom to GPO. Nairobi trasport problem is getting the masses from the residential areas to the City.Once people are in the city, they can then solve their movements. I doubt many people would wait for a tram from for example railways bus park to GPO. Its better to walk as the waiting time might be much more than the walking time.

Nbi is just too congested to plan. It would be much easier to build a new capital elsewhere with better infrastructure than try to create order our of chaotic Nbi.

My 2 rupees.

Too short a route.

To be more effective one lane should run from Syokimau -CBD(through railways -Moi ave)- Kangemi, another Komarock- CBD (through muthurwa hailesellasie) - Rongai, and another Thika rd - CBD (through muranga rd community ngong rd) - Karen

@murchr, the problem with KE is we have grand designs but no implementation follow through.
#146 Posted : Tuesday, September 22, 2015 4:35:44 AM

Gathige wrote:

My 2 rupees.

Too short a route.

@murchr, the problem with KE is we have grand designs but no implementation follow through.

Then add the eating mentality. Tenderpreneurs will delay the process by starting unending court battles whenever they dont win projects...Ethiopia will eventually be the better economy in EA...
#147 Posted : Tuesday, September 22, 2015 5:59:31 PM

Finishing yao ni bure kabisa
#148 Posted : Tuesday, September 22, 2015 9:21:24 PM

Ching chong ndio wanaendesha hizo train ama nimecheki nini?
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#149 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2015 1:18:22 PM

well what do you expect.they are overflowing with electricity.good for them
#150 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2015 9:43:06 PM

Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:

Have you ever been to Addis? Which overflowing electricity are you talking about?
#151 Posted : Wednesday, September 23, 2015 10:29:04 PM

Have you ever been to Addis? Which overflowing electricity are you talking about?

Swenani Ethiopia produces more electricity than Kenya.
#152 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2015 8:53:14 AM

I do not refute that but fact is, Ethiopia has far more blackouts in a day than Kenya
#153 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2015 10:34:04 AM

I do not refute but fact is, Ethiopia has more far blackouts in day than Kenya

Very true. To add to that, nobody complains Sad
Anti_Burglar
#154 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2015 10:48:01 AM

Na wewe hata hujaanza starting.
#155 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 9:18:39 PM

On 2:06 is that Norman Nyaga?
Thitifini
#156 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2016 12:34:55 PM

How much do they charge per trip?

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
#157 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2016 1:43:14 PM

Production alone does not solve the problem if the distribution infrastructure is not efficient.
Similar to Ndondori people having surplus potato harvest but unable to get it to the market.

Having said that,life is in Ethiopia is very affordable. The country is taking Malaysian route of pursuing economic and social stability. Human rights na sijui freedom of media wameachia wakenya.
#158 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2016 5:48:55 PM

Production alone does not solve the problem if the distribution infrastructure is not efficient.
Similar to Ndondori people having surplus potato harvest but unable to get it to the market.

Having said that,life is in Ethiopia is very affordable. The country is taking Malaysian route of pursuing economic and social stability. Human rights na sijui freedom of media wameachia wakenya.

tuna ng'eng'ana tu smile
#159 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 11:12:08 PM

Nothing tram but an excellent project taking shape at our neighbors up there

50 MW Waste to Energy Plant

The proposed waste-to-energy facility at Reppie will be located within the open dumping site and be part of the proposed transfer station which will see roughly 1,200 tons of waste a day. The facility will be located in the shallowest area of the dumpsite within a 7-hectare area out of the total 37-hectare dump site. The project will be located within a vacant brown-field area which is currently used to dump, burn, and dispose of waste without any environmental sensitivity.

Construction is ongoing
#160 Posted : Wednesday, April 17, 2019 7:05:05 PM

Still problematic..efficiency problems