wazua Thu, Jan 9, 2025

What can you do with 5 million
#1 Posted : Sunday, September 20, 2015 4:45:38 PM

Good ideas are welcome. I have a day job which I still want to keep but not for too long. What biz can I start with 5 million. As I will not be running it full time it should be something that does not need daily supervision.

Very happy with an idea relating to merchandising or distribution.

I am also willing to offer venture capital for someone with a killer idea looking for partner/capital
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#2 Posted : Sunday, September 20, 2015 7:37:48 PM

Chaka
#3 Posted : Sunday, September 20, 2015 8:18:02 PM

[quote=Cornelius Vanderbilt]go big on these ideas

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...px?g=posts&m=683839[/quote]
@Cornelious,
I had asked you on that thread which ideas in that list you were involved in? What is the answer?
Xymalos
#4 Posted : Sunday, September 20, 2015 10:16:28 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Good ideas are welcome. I have a day job which I still want to keep but not for too long. What biz can I start with 5 million. As I will not be running it full time it should be something that does not need daily supervision.

I am also willing to offer venture capital for someone with a killer idea looking for partner/capital

Maybe you can try house flipping - build a single house in a easy to sell place. Maybe in places where a plot costs like 2 million - but may have to add some more money for construction. Then you contract a builder to do it - will require minimum supervision. Never done it, but I think its doable.
#5 Posted : Sunday, September 20, 2015 10:26:13 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Tenderpreneurship.If you need more info, contact me.
jerry
#6 Posted : Sunday, September 20, 2015 11:26:28 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Tenderpreneurship.If you need more info, contact me.

Must be interesting this one.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
urstill1
#7 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2015 4:58:19 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

We need to link up? What's your expected rate of return?
Horton
#8 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2015 7:14:40 AM

You could buy an apartment in Ruaka, i just got one, its 5M and payable over 2years of the construction period. 1.7km from 2 rivers mall with a gym, swimming pool, day care, borehole etc. Also, As u wait for ur killer idea, put the money in fixed deposit, i know a place offering 16.2% and u can put it short term or break it early with no penalty. Get in touch hortoncapital@gmail.com and i shall connect u with them
wilyum
#9 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2015 9:38:47 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

whats your expected rate of return?
#10 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2015 5:49:17 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Do not, I repeat do not trust people with your hard earned money if you are not present to ascertain how it is invested. Adam Smith wrote in "the Wealth of Nations" 1776 that managers will waste other people's money AND only the entrepreneur is diligent on how his money is invested.

If you are investing your money with someone, make sure you understand the business AND the person with whom you are investing with understands it MORE. Here I refer you to another great book "the richest man in Babylon" where Arkard advises that you should not trust your butcher to invest your money in a gold trade.

If you want to invest in a business, make sure you are personally present to monitor the investment OTHERWISE, invest in passive investments like real estate and listed shares.
#11 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2015 6:13:57 PM

@Sparkly, thanks for the word of caution, I am very aware of this. I am not looking to give some lucky guy my money to piss off. Venture capital is alive in Kenya and working for people. I will carry out my due diligence.

Alternatively, I am looking for an idea I can buy thats practicable and comes with a contract, around distribution of FCMGs, liquor etc. I am sure many wazuans work in companies that need heavy investing distributors

@Horton, Not keen on property or shares, thats the plan B if a good idea not found.

@Mawinder, I don't understand tenderprenuership so cannot indulge but I am tempted to contact you for a chatsmile smile

Not thinking of rate of return at this point, just sustainable, however, my expectation is that as it carries higher risk than real estate, the returns should be higher.
#12 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2015 6:19:02 PM

Your list has biz ideas that everyone is running with all over town to some degree of success.

I know this has been thrashed to death but how successful is the Sacco based town to town matatus.

Had thought of land speculation but seems everyone is now speculating.

Which Agric venture/farming can work and where?
winmak
#13 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2015 6:27:23 PM

Horton wrote:
You could buy an apartment in Ruaka, i just got one, its 5M and payable over 2years of the construction period. 1.7km from 2 rivers mall with a gym, swimming pool, day care, borehole etc. Also, As u wait for ur killer idea, put the money in fixed deposit, i know a place offering 16.2% and u can put it short term or break it early with no penalty. Get in touch hortoncapital@gmail.com and i shall connect u with them

Horton, Na sio pyramid? I am also interested... Dropping mail pap...
For investors as a whole, returns decrease as motion increases ~ WB
#14 Posted : Monday, September 21, 2015 6:50:19 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
@Sparkly, thanks for the word of caution, I am very aware of this. I am not looking to give some lucky guy my money to piss off. Venture capital is alive in Kenya and working for people. I will carry out my due diligence.

Alternatively, I am looking for an idea I can buy thats practicable and comes with a contract, around distribution of FCMGs, liquor etc. I am sure many wazuans work in companies that need heavy investing distributors

@Horton, Not keen on property or shares, thats the plan B if a good idea not found.

@Mawinder, I don't understand tenderprenuership so cannot indulge but I am tempted to contact you for a chatsmile smile

Not thinking of rate of return at this point, just sustainable, however, my expectation is that as it carries higher risk than real estate, the returns should be higher.

@Obi 1 in case safety is not your number one concern, drop me a text on 0708733938 and I will get in contact with a concept I have been working on for the last 2 years. It is so simple it will confound you. It has such a wide scope for scalability, you will wonder why no one has jumped on it since NARC came into power.
Capital requirements for now KShs 500k-1m but with potential to be hottest investment since Mpesa.
urstill1
#15 Posted : Tuesday, September 22, 2015 6:22:34 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Your list has biz ideas that everyone is running with all over town to some degree of success.

I know this has been thrashed to death but how successful is the Sacco based town to town matatus.

That's the idea I have. Unfortunately, we can't start big, it's riskier. The money can only work in the future and not anytime now.
kiriita
#16 Posted : Tuesday, September 22, 2015 10:33:26 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Obi, what's your email address? I have an idea that may interest you.
Mart_Consult
#17 Posted : Tuesday, September 22, 2015 4:05:16 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Hi Obi 1,

Would it be of interest in you partnering up (essentially as an early stage/ growth capital participant) as we bring a maturing international brand (original market is the US. Europe & Middle East distribution already taken up; we are offering their route- to- market in Africa via a distributorship license) starting with the East African market?

Our research shows the brand lacks a comprehensive Sub- Saharan presence as well, indicating a greater growth opportunity.

Being first & fast to market with their line of innovative products, and as a great value add to our indigenous Kenyan brand (2015 has seen us gain good traction) offers a strong edge in revolutionizing our product offering to our target market (essentially urban consumers).

The sector in focus is Food Manufacturing/ Services extending to the Hospitality industry as well. In line with Sparkly's comments, your own knowledge base in your area of expertise, in combination with ours of this industry, would be essential to the opportunity's growth.

As we are beyond the idea stage & coming to the close of our second year in operation,we have adopted a revamped 3- year strategy in which we look to roll-out the highlighted brand as part of our portfolio.

If this may interest you, kindly let me know how I may contact you directly with a detailed overview of the opportunity.

Thank you.
I went into the (Ferry) industry knowing the same thing I knew with all other businesses I went into- Nothing. Then I built it from there. - Sheldon Adelson (Titans at the Table- Giants of Macau)
#18 Posted : Tuesday, September 22, 2015 4:57:34 PM

Contact. Kenyanobiwan@gmail.com

Please all feel free to contact.