wazua Thu, Jan 9, 2025

Be an Enterprising Person
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2015 5:15:52 PM

Some simple Businesses with high
returns
1) ERRANDS boy /Girl : Peak time 8:00am and 5:00 pm , this would actually involve you looking for Parking spots on behalf of your clients , It is a FACT most people struggle to locate a parking spot Especially the Working class who attend evening MBA classes in town, Other things would also be Purchasing items / Doing banking
transactions on behalf : you can charge only 50/= per client and you
can serve as many as 100 people per day , this is 5000/= per day and
would be 100,000/= per month (assuming you work for 20 days - i.e.
4 weeks)

2) DAY Care School / : Research
shows many Kenyans have started
trusting day Care Schools , This is a
huge potential business with many
parents actually paying over 30,000
per child (depends on Location ) per
week , what do you Need ? A clean
well ventilated room with Adequate
security and you are good to go , You
can make UP TO 1,000,000 Clean
money , this heavily depends on
Trust .

3) CAR Wash : How Often do you
clean your Car ? How much do you
pay? , this is a Booming Business , on
average you would charge 300/= per
car (body wash) IF you have a good
location and motivated staff you can
manage 100 cars per day , this is
30,000 Per day , assuming you work
for 20 days a month you make a
clean Gross income of 600,000/=
4) Did you know you can join a Sacco
in Kenya and be given 5 times the
amount borrowed? this will allow you
to expand your business with a very
good Capital base and low interest .,
STIMA SACCO is currently the best
FMCG supplier , Yes for 50K only , you
can be a leading supplier of BIDCO
kenya, COCACOLA, RAMCO, CROWN
GROUP , there are 2 approaches in
this , 1) to be subcontracted by the
Appointed Agents 2) to do it solo by
buying as a Wholesaler

5) Movie Shop in Kenya : According to
Hollywood research , in Africa Kenya
comes in 4th as a market for film
Products that is after SA, Egypt and
Nigeria , this is Huge potential , with
a small Capital of as little as 30K, you
can make up to 4K daily .

6) Coffee Shop, Have you ever learnt
How JAVA Kenya entrepreneur
started ? it was a small room with
only 2 waiters , his Motto was quality
in service and convenience, After 1
year his capital base grew from
35,000 to 5,000,000 ..

7) BALD HEAD – Hair refill
Research Shows, over 75 % of men get
bald (mine has just started so al be
your first client), In Kenya we have a
Population of 43M Kenyans This is a
very simple Business, you just Buy
Hair fiber refill, other hair fibers
brands going for as low as 15USD per
can in the US can be imported and
the you translate it to Cash
There are BIG opportunities both as a
Retailer and as a Wholesaler; ALL you
need is to get your marketing right
MIDDLE CLASS - Furnished
Apartments – a 1 Bedroom apartment
in Nairobi Eastlands Goes for 10,000/
= (on Average) Have you ever thought
of Talking to the Landlord and
converting them to Fully Furnished
Apartment? All you need is a Good
Website so that Tourists from All over
the World can visit and make
reservations online, all you can
Charge is USD 112 per week meaning
you can 50,000 per house per Month
(assuming 1 USD = 89 KES). 3 to 5
star Hotels at the Moment Charge
USD 198 to 225 Per night ...

9) ANGER Management Professionals –
Research shows that at least 3 out of
every 10 people are ANGRY, So many
People in Kenya, Parents and Kids get
Angry at one given Point; this is due
to a number of factors starting from
Political issues, Poor economy, to
Personal issues, At the Moment we do
not Have ANY anger management
professionals, all we have are
Psychologists who assist .., you CAN
make it BIG here

10) PRIVATE Docs and Bulk Storage –
Have you ever thought about the
security of your Title deeds,
Certificates security, Banks are
currently doing this But their CORE
Challenge is this is not their main
Business., they are more interested
in storing Money as opposed to
Docs ...
ALL THE BEST IN YOUR STARTUPS …
HAVE A GOOD ONE

11) 1000,000 KES buy LAND and
speculate , it is the easiest way of
making money , Land appreciates by
almost 25% every year ..
12) If you have 500,000 KES you can
BUY a second hand MATATU "Pimp it
Up " you can make around 2500 to
3000 KES per day, It is a business
that has made many Billionaire

13) If you have 250,000 KES you can
actually Buy STOCK at NSE , the best
performing company is BAT with its
price going up by 7/= as at
yesterday ..

14) If you have 125,000 KES you can
start a Hair Salon / barber shop, Let’s
say , these guys make as from 3,000/=
to over 15,000 per day (depends on
location )

15) If you have 70,000 , I would do a
lot of Farming , In KITALE for example
you can Hire a 1 acre of land for
30,000 and do farming of Maize which
is a staple food in Kenya , Returns
are as high as 300,000 KES after 4
months

16 For 300 K i would suggest the
following businesses
FMCG Distribution Soda, Coca-Cola ,
Pepsi or mineral water
how? you can buy 2 Motorcycles each
at 50,000 (second hand )
and then this leaves you with a Cool
200K meaning you can buy how many
300Ml bottles at 15/= for a wholesale
price 200K/15 = 13,333 bottles , So
what’s the Distribution Price ,? = 19/
= per bottles , so you make( 4/= per
bottle X 13,333) = 253,327 /= Your
Gross Profit margin is 53,327 , assume
3000/= is for fuel and n other
expenses , then you can easily net
50,000/= per week / for 3 days
depending on Manpower,
In 2 years you are a Millionaire .
How ? 50,000 net per week X 96
weeks (2 years)
= 4,800,000

17) FREELANCE TOUR GUIDE :
Tourism is actually the 2nd largest
contributor to Kenya's foreign
exchange following agriculture ,
According to the Tourist board
statistics, Kenya now receives over
300,000 + visitors every year, now this
shows we receive an of (300,000 / 12)
= 25,000 Visitors every month ..
(Excluding high seasons i would give
it 60% less EVERY MONTH = [25000]-
[25,000*0.6] = 10,000 Visitors
monthly, How many days do you want
to work for? 20 days excluding
weekends, narrows your target market
to = 10,000/20 = 500 visitors per
day . REMEMBER YOU ARE SMALL =
target only 2% of 500 ,= 10 visitors
per day ,
HOW MUCH IS A NICE 10 SEATER
TOUR VAN FOR HIRE = 10000/= Per
day
YOUR TOUR CHARGE ? 75 USD per
day * 87.0 = 6525 per visitor * 10 =
65,250 per trip,
expenses = (petrol 10,000) + ( Van
Hire 10,000) + (TAX-VAT 16% of
65,250= 10,440) = 30,440 .
Net Income = 65250 - 30,440 = 34,810
on a Good day ...
Growth on this business depends on
high levels of trust and a strong
online marketing strategy like a good
website.

18) RE-USABLE BABY DIAPER
RETAILER;
According to research from the world
bank, there are 31.93 births /1000
people , if we go by the working
population which is 40% of 40M
Kenyans = 16 M Kenyans / 1000 =
16000 Kenyans * 31.93 births =
510,880 Kids born per year meaning
monthly 510,880 /12 = 42,573 .Kids
Per month
, A small Businessman targets the
Middle class , start with 2% as a
target =(2%* 42,573) = 851 kids ..
Reusable Diapers in India are very
affordable, going for only 150/= (after
customs duty) in a pack of six , if you
make 50/= per pack then (851 *50
42,550 Per month , use 10,000 for
distribution = Net = 32,550 ..

19) LANGUAGE ONLINE COACH /
TRANSLATOR :
Are you eloquent in English /
Swahili / French , this is a booming
Business online , we have over 30
embassies in Kenya and we do not
have any proper website that can
coach foreigners to know the Kenyan
languages , ( apart from through
Google and Skype ) so how would this
work ? Build a strong website with
ability to hold video Conferencing
and Online payments solutions like
Mpesa , Visa and Master card , A
good website would cost you 25,000/
=
How many users are you targeting a
day? 10 only, Charges?? 30 USD per
hour , assuming they go for 2 hrs
each then (10*30)*87 = 26,100 per
hour , if you do only 6 hours a day
then this would be 26,100 *6 =
After VAT= (156,600)- (16% of 156,600)
= 131,544
This Business enables you to evade
Fixed Costs like Rent and Service
Charges hence overheads are very low

20) HOME CLEANING SERVICES ;
Yes , A booming Business started by
PARAPET cleaning services with a
Capital of only 10,000 / = , How did
he start ? he hired Women who
strategically placed themselves in
different estates positioning for
Business, His service charge was
1000/= He started with 10 women
and paid them 500/= per house / per
work done , meaning he would spend
5000/= for expenses making his
profits to be 100% , after 2 years , He
Registered His Business and was able
to expand from 10 employees , to over
1200 employees , He now nets over
15,000,000 KES Per month
There's is still a Big Gap in these
Businesses , and you can make it big
here especially when targeting the
Middle Class
Chaka
#2 Posted : Wednesday, September 16, 2015 7:54:40 PM

@Cornelius,
Quite long,I will read that dossier tomorrow.
So, which ones are you doing on that list?
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2015 6:47:58 AM

Chaka wrote:
@Cornelius,

I think it's a c&p. It mentions USD at 85

Not a bad article as it deals with ideas but the writer seems to ignore profits and promises heaven based on GP
#4 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2015 7:11:05 AM

Chaka wrote:
@Cornelius,

Not a bad article as it deals with ideas but the writer seems to ignore profits and promises heaven based on GP

It is a bad article. I will shred it in bits.
1.Is it possible for one to handle 100 errands in Nairobi?
2. Which day care centres can the people being advised on this forum start and they are paid 30k per week per child,what is the capital outlay and assuming it is true what would be the annual fees?
#5 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2015 7:20:17 AM

Good ideas.
popat
#6 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2015 10:23:23 AM

Good ideas but with a lot of assumptions.You notice that not all businesses succeed because of so many factors most of which you have given a wide berth.But nevertheless an entrepreneur can pick on any one of these, do there research and dive.
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2015 1:28:39 PM

Chaka wrote:
@Cornelius,

Even quoting BAT as doing well at the moment!

subzero
#8 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2015 1:55:00 PM

Generally good ideas, lots and lots of assumptions though
Chaka
#9 Posted : Friday, September 18, 2015 5:36:22 PM

I have gone through that long dossier.A few questions though..
Which FMCG business is Stima SACCO involved in?
On # 7,Didn't know about that one..I will google
How long would a re-fill last?
# 8 Where would one go to be certified as an "Anger management specialist"?
# 18,Is a re-usable baby diaper the same as a disposable diaper?The re-usable one I know is the old school cotton napkin?
Nabwire
#10 Posted : Friday, September 18, 2015 5:48:26 PM

There is only one problem, it is assumed that one will instantly make customers once operation starts, when this is just not the case!