wazua Fri, Aug 1, 2025

Toyota Recall, should we be worried?
mufasa
#21 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 4:03:51 PM

sigiriri is right. the sooner we realise that after the ripple effects have hit us, toyota's will no longer be GARI YA MWANANCHI. even spare parts costs will rise. this will all be in an effort to try convincing the public that they are manufacturing quality. maybe we should embrace chinese cars sooner rather than later.
Do it today! Tomorrow is promise to no-one.
gathinga
#22 Posted : Friday, February 12, 2010 8:08:10 AM

Hii Nyayo car haiwezi work hapa. I don't see any guy in EA buying a car made from Kenya while there are brands from Europe and Asia. A car being a status symbol, the origin is paramount.
#23 Posted : Friday, February 12, 2010 9:14:30 AM

did you know our northerly neighbours the Sudanese manufactures its own cars, missiles, tanks and aircraft in their GIAD & Safat industrial-military complexes? And their home-made aircraft is powered by car fuel.

Ssshhh, don't tell that Narok fellow Munir and Maritim about these missiles and tanks...

http://www.worldbulletin...ews_detail.php?id=44452

#24 Posted : Friday, February 12, 2010 12:27:48 PM

Follow the link below. It is titled 'Relatively fewer Complaints abot Toyota' which bring out the point of my earlier post on this thread

http://autos.yahoo.com/a...-complain-about-toyota/

It is all about the companies ethics as much as it is the problem. Most manufacturers do not care
#25 Posted : Wednesday, February 24, 2010 10:25:44 AM

yesterday during the hearing a woman recalled how when was cruising she tried to decelerate but the vehicle could not she checked the throttle stick and see if the mat was pressing on it but it was not she tried to put the reverse gear ,to switch off the engine it was all in vain. she called her husband who assisted her to get help. for around 45 mins the lady was not in control of the vehicle and even after complaining to the Toyota company they only sent a field officer to check the problem but nothing was done.

Another man lost his wife when their toyota vehicle suddenly accelerated down a cliff when he had just parked.

It was interesting and somehow shocking listening to the hearing on CNBC.
Layman
#26 Posted : Monday, March 01, 2010 7:27:43 AM

selah wrote:
yesterday during the hearing a woman recalled how when was cruising she tried to decelerate but the vehicle could not she checked the throttle stick and see if the mat was pressing on it but it was not she tried to put the reverse gear ,to switch off the engine it was all in vain. she called her husband who assisted her to get help. for around 45 mins the lady was not in control of the vehicle and even after complaining to the Toyota company they only sent a field officer to check the problem but nothing was done.

Another man lost his wife when their toyota vehicle suddenly accelerated down a cliff when he had just parked.

It was interesting and somehow shocking listening to the hearing on CNBC.

45 MINS IS SUCH A LONG TIME, ARE YOU SURE
mufasa
#27 Posted : Wednesday, March 10, 2010 5:01:58 AM

Kenya is now trying to steady itself after the PEV of 2007/08. Question is, can we take advantage of Global problems and turn them into our strengths? e.g. Toyota has definitely lost clout in European and American markets, kind of like what happened to Mitsubishi. if they are to revamp, I would calculate that they will want an emerging market to be there launching pad. Pointer from a past example: for pepsi to make it into the American market and challenge cocacola, they had to brand themselves as "the drink of the next generation" in order to identify with a younger generation. and those who wanted to remain young. My Believe is Toyota will want to adopt a similar strategy and thus we should be ready to absorb them into our market
Do it today! Tomorrow is promise to no-one.
Sigiriri
#28 Posted : Friday, March 12, 2010 7:30:57 AM

@mufasa, maybe you got something there....i hear there is talk of an assembly plant - anything to it?
You know the same way we stay away from BMW,VW,Merc and LR assembled in SA? Being a corrupt society might make the idea of assembling the toyos here an issue that toyo might want to consider - if I was them, I'd worry that some dude will mix the chuma the wrong rations to make some cash, or bend the laws on emmissions etc...use michuki safety belts etc...make airbags out of gunia material - yo know the usual clothe-stretching ways of the majority of our biz pple...
#29 Posted : Friday, March 12, 2010 8:01:02 AM

I was reading an article on Time Magazine. Interesting points came out. Companies are so engrossed in their own cultures but have no mechanism of reporting problems through their organisation structures. This should be a lesson to all.

I think Toyota lost the plot after they started making cars like the Koreans to fend off new competition. I would not buy a new generation Toyota. They have lost it. These cars are too light
Nobby
#30 Posted : Friday, March 12, 2010 10:49:12 AM

I think Toyo bieng assemled here will be a good idea,GM are doing Isuzu and thats why we have the nice route 58' mathrees.They should not worry about someone putting a gunia in the airbag since all the materials are made in Japan but only assembled in Kenya.

In the long run we would we would all benefit and you never know if they would buy the old Nyayo pioneer thing....
The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
#31 Posted : Monday, March 15, 2010 9:49:25 AM

Intelli,
Car fuel is more epensive than jet fuel!!!!