wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

90% of family wealth is lost by the 3rd generation
Mike Ock
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 2:02:33 PM

Link: http://time.com/money/39...h-families-lose-wealth/

so what is the point of hustling for kids security, bla bla bla? They'll just blow it anyway?
#2 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 2:24:26 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

so what is the point of hustling for kids security, bla bla bla? They'll just blow it anyway?

shauri yao!
#3 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 2:43:18 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

shauri yao!

Royalty, family owned multinational corporations, Brahmins. . .

Wealth and power runs in blood lines. The families you're talking about are probably wanna be families.
wazuaguest
#4 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 6:45:53 PM

In Kenya you don't have to wait that long.Look at Njenga Karume estate, everyone thought it would be a shining example/exception.Though a lot of it is stolen money.
Africa belongs to Africans.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, September 09, 2015 7:27:41 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

shauri yao!

Wealth and power runs in blood lines. The families you're talking about are probably wanna be families.

it's their choice whether they want to be 'those families' wewe you will be long gone by then! Invest in them and let them do what they feel (after your are dead of course). Trust me - you will not feel any pain if they 'live it up'
Mike Ock
#6 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2015 12:06:40 AM

Mike Ock wrote:

shauri yao!

Cornelius Vanderbilt once had more money from his transport empire than the US treasury! But his heirs squandered and squandered till there is no single millionaire Vanderbilt left

http://www.forbes.com/si...ost-their-crown-jewels/

Even in Kenya, who among us has not seen some super wealthy kid who just knows how to blow money fast while working at some arts and crafts job paying zero? These damning statistics are making me start to really rethink my plan of leaving the young ones with a big business to run.
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2015 8:49:29 AM

The Ndegwas are on which generation?
#8 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2015 12:41:53 PM

I do not subscribe to this notion that since some big families have squandered their wealth we should all give up on our children/grandchildren

Do your best in this regard. Show them how to make it like you did and then leave them to do their thing after you're gone.

You cannot just give up just because the Karumes and Kirimas have inheritance caused family feuds.

Oooh and of course live well, you too deserve to enjoy like they will enjoy when you're gone

Giving up on your kids because you don;t know how they'll turn out to be is like giving up on investment because you're not assured it will yield a return

Prov 13
A good man leaveth an inheritance to his children's children
#9 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2015 1:44:19 PM

Naona kama mimi niko 3rd generation.

Wamunyota
#10 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2015 2:19:05 PM

Hii maneno reminds me of a certain mzee who was a very rich man in my village and used to carry ngwaci(Sweet potatoes)everywhere.When he offered to buy you tea uitishe andazi, hio andazi wewe ndio utalipa. Alikwambia atakununulia chai sio andazi.He would get into his pocket anatoa ngwaci na anaikula.I think he is the reason so many hotels indicate that 'food from outside is not allowed here'.
His kids squandered all his wealth kwa pombe na malaya na sasa ni maskini hohehahe.

Mimi ndio niliamua nitatafuta kama nakula.Watoto watajitafutia yao.
Hutia Mundu!!
#11 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2015 2:21:28 PM

In Kenya I don't think much wealth will be passed down after the second gen.

The Ndgewa's are still technically first Gen, with their powerful matriach still incharge, same case with the Kenyatta's and Moi's. Wait for the wives of sons to start a competition amongst their kids and you will know what 3rd Gen means.

Even Asian brothers are now breaking up companies painstakingly built by their fathers. But atleast they fair best in Kenya in trying to atleast keep the wealth together.
#12 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2015 2:55:38 PM

The reverse is also true. It takes the 3rd generation to free poor families from the shackles of penury.
#13 Posted : Thursday, September 10, 2015 8:13:04 PM

@ Mike Ock, if you leave wealth to your children you die with nothing, and your children are likely to lose it by the third generation. It's a 'lose - lose' situation.

But if a person can find enlightenment, then he/she can set the children in the ways of enlightenment. And the person doesn't lose enlightenment upon death. So it's a 'win - win' situation.

Therefore a person should work more for enlightenment than for wealth. Besides, if it's possible to be enlightened but poor, the probability for wealth within the third generation is high.

Wamunyota
#14 Posted : Friday, September 11, 2015 11:55:03 AM

@ Mike Ock, if you leave wealth to your children you die with nothing, and your children are likely to lose it by the third generation. It's a 'lose - lose' situation.

But if a person can find enlightenment, then he/she can set the children in the ways of enlightenment. And the person doesn't lose enlightenment upon death. So it's a 'win - win' situation.

Therefore a person should work more for enlightenment than for wealth. Besides, if it's possible to be enlightened but poor, the probability for wealth within the third generation is high.

What is enlightenment?
Hutia Mundu!!
Mike Ock
#15 Posted : Friday, September 11, 2015 2:32:07 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

In Kenya I don't think much wealth will be passed down after the second gen.

The Ndgewa's are still technically first Gen, with their powerful matriach still incharge, same case with the Kenyatta's and Moi's. Wait for the wives of sons to start a competition amongst their kids and you will know what 3rd Gen means.

Even Asian brothers are now breaking up companies painstakingly built by their fathers. But atleast they fair best in Kenya in trying to atleast keep the wealth together.

That's why rich families try to set up political dynasties. Easy taxpayer money is harder to finish than earned business money.
Anti_Burglar
#16 Posted : Friday, September 11, 2015 2:46:47 PM

That a grandchild thinks differently of his grandfather's sweat is an indictment to the grandfather that ancient priorities are not necessarily important.
#17 Posted : Friday, September 11, 2015 7:37:49 PM

Wamunyota wrote:

What is enlightenment?

One is enlightened when he/she has seen and understood his existence and how his mind relates with it. And consequently finds peace, and power.
#18 Posted : Monday, September 14, 2015 12:34:57 PM

In the African context:

The biggest worry about the wealthy - they worry about their families, their kids, generational wealth transfer.

Up to 70% of wealth lost in first generational wealth transfer; 90% of wealth lost in second transfer.

Kenya wealth mainly from: property, agriculture, infrastructure development, manufacturing

keraka
#19 Posted : Thursday, September 17, 2015 9:48:03 AM

Mike Ock wrote:

shauri yao!

Cornelius Vanderbilt once had more money from his transport empire than the US treasury! But his heirs squandered and squandered till there is no single millionaire Vanderbilt left

http://www.forbes.com/si...ost-their-crown-jewels/

Even in Kenya, who among us has not seen some super wealthy kid who just knows how to blow money fast while working at some arts and crafts job paying zero? These damning statistics are making me start to really rethink my plan of leaving the young ones with a big business to run.

Word.I just dont understand most are into funny career and academic persuits such as Arts,fashion,useless degree courses,farming without commercial output. When George Saitoti passed on,I followed up on the son being the only son on how he will keep up the family business empire only to note that the guy was running some photo cum art gallery in Hurlinghum and i was like sigh....This dud should be.....I may be wrong.
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
#20 Posted : Sunday, February 21, 2016 5:50:32 PM

Interesting how some families elsewhere have been able to keep it going, forexample Aliko Dangote's family he being the great grandson of Al Hassan Dantata a "billionaire" of his time. May be what matters is not so much the money but the education (not schooling) about wealth passed to the children downstream.