nakujua wrote:sasa you are going overboard.

ati basketball talent in Kenya - I might be wrong lakini those you claim to be doing well are just Americans with kenyan passports.
Its like saying usa has talent in 5000 and 1500 meters just because Bernard Lagat is American
The point is that if Kenyans in the diaspora can make it in basketball then Kenyans at home can excel at basketball if given the same opportunities. Oh by the way, some of those basketball players went to school in Kenya. Two went to Maseno and one went to Friends Kamusinga.
There is plenty of basketball talent in Kenya but it is not being nurtured and groomed. Also there is no culture of basketball in Kenya.
Kenya has as much basketball talent as any African country including Angola. The difference is we do not have a basketball culture. Thus there arent enough basketball courts in neighbourhoods. Which means vijana vijana have nowehere to practise there skills. Schools do not take basketball seriously.
I will give you an example of how a sporting culture makes a difference. In the 1990s, rugby was non-existent in Uganda having been killed during the Iddi Amin days. In 1997, Kenya played Uganda and won 67-5.
But Uganda started to rebuild their rugby culture. Rugby clubs re-opened. Rugby was re-introduced in schools. They invited South African experts. And by around 2003, Uganda had caught up with Kenya and even beat Kenya at both sevens and XV.
Part of the problem in Kenya is we do not have a culture of football. In Nigeria for example, football is so important that some of the top teams are fully sponsored by the state government.