wazua Sun, Aug 17, 2025

Safaricom & Fraud
streetwise
#1 Posted : Wednesday, August 26, 2015 8:57:27 AM

Keep wondering why Safaricom can't arrest the fraud and conwork that occur on thier network namely.

1. Messages being send about mpesa that actually
have your actual balance. This looks like
inside jobs.

2. Threatening messages with numbers that are
registered yet when you call the number is
mteja.

3. Calls being made with fake promotional messages

I know they may say they dont know who does
this,
so why not keep a database of the numbers and
track them.

You will ask me where they will
get the numbers from, provide a portail for
reporting the same. If a number is reported
from multiple sources then mark it as suspect
and check messages comes from that numner.

#2 Posted : Wednesday, August 26, 2015 9:28:20 AM

streetwise wrote:
Keep wondering why Safaricom can't arrest the fraud and conwork that occur on thier network namely.

inside jobs.

mteja.

this,
track them.

@Muheani,the ball is in your court.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, August 26, 2015 10:39:49 AM

streetwise wrote:

inside jobs.

mteja.

this,
track them.

No. 2, you always report to the police. That is the procedure. As for the rest, always all Safaaricom. Such numbers are usually flagged.
#4 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 8:12:38 AM

streetwise wrote:

inside jobs.

mteja.

this,
track them.

No. 2, you always report to the police. That is the procedure. As for the rest, always all Safaaricom. Such numbers are usually flagged.

No.3, buy SMART phone, and not smart porn!
Shame on you

Muheani
#5 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 8:49:37 AM

streetwise wrote:

inside jobs.

mteja.

this,
track them.

How Now?

Any Way

1. Safaricom and any other Company cannot arrest anyone. The powers to arrest are vested in the police and to Citizens who have to handover arrested offenders to the police

2. All Users of a company's products and services have a duty to report Fraud or attempted Fraud to both the Company and the Police. That means if you buy a fake Closeup at Kamukunji you have to report to the police and alert the Company as well.

For Safaricom, I believe their free sms Fraud reporting number is 333. Forward the sms you receive or the Number that threatens you to that number and it shall be flagged, investigated, Retired or culplits apprehended through the police

3. All the Mobile providers have invested in full fledged AML and Fraud detection sections that are always working with the police to stop/apprehend offenders. Our duty as users is to facilitate this through reporting.

Most of the fraud is engineered by already convicted criminals fending for their families back home. i remember an initiative sometimes back to jam the signals within the cells. This were installed away from the cells. The jammers only worked for a week or so. Then they were vandalized. Your guess is as good as mine as to who facilitated the vandalism.

Just as the junior traffic/NTSA officers share collections with their seniors, the prisoners shares their's with the "Free" prisoners in prison police uniforms.

streetwise
#6 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 9:14:58 AM

Excellent the 333 number is a very good effort. Never heard of it before.

And yes corruption has alot to do with the success of these criminals. The other day in the media it was reported one prisoner killed the other over such proceeds.
#7 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 9:53:43 AM

Muheani wrote:
streetwise wrote:

inside jobs.

mteja.

this,
track them.

How Now?

Any Way

1. Safaricom and any other Company cannot arrest anyone. The powers to arrest are vested in the police and to Citizens who have to handover arrested offenders to the police

2. All Users of a company's products and services have a duty to report Fraud or attempted Fraud to both the Company and the Police. That means if you buy a fake Closeup at Kamukunji you have to report to the police and alert the Company as well.

For Safaricom, I believe their free sms Fraud reporting number is 333. Forward the sms you receive or the Number that threatens you to that number and it shall be flagged, investigated, Retired or culplits apprehended through the police

3. All the Mobile providers have invested in full fledged AML and Fraud detection sections that are always working with the police to stop/apprehend offenders. Our duty as users is to facilitate this through reporting.

Most of the fraud is engineered by already convicted criminals fending for their families back home. i remember an initiative sometimes back to jam the signals within the cells. This were installed away from the cells. The jammers only worked for a week or so. Then they were vandalized. Your guess is as good as mine as to who facilitated the vandalism.

Just as the junior traffic/NTSA officers share collections with their seniors, the prisoners shares their's with the "Free" prisoners in prison police uniforms.

No 3, Safaricom abets fraud.There is no clear KYC procedure.See the post and thread.The bugger even conned using Paul Wasanga's name.
http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...sts&t=20903&p=7

it is true safaricom is encouraging mpesa fraud.i applied for a job with a leading company and was interviewed.days later i received a call from someone claiming to be the chairman of the company.he told me he was a bit down financially but would push for my appointment if i facilitated him with 100k.in my wisdom i used my watchman's line to send him 500 bob and indeed i received a confirmation message with the chairman's name.was excited and send 100k and i received a confirmation message with the chairman's name.a week later i bump into the real chairman in united kenya club and after introduction i realize he does not even know me and was not the one i send cash to.i call the fake chairman immediately with my phone on handsfree and he picks the call and says how he i am going to get the job and should send him 50k to buy other directors lunch.to cut the long story short the guy registered an mpesa line in the chairman's name and swindled several people.it should be a requirement for strict kyc before opening a mpesa account i.e passport photo,id copy,utility bill etc.

This is the con who swindled me.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m0sHbwJdRQQ
#8 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 9:55:40 AM

Muheani wrote:
streetwise wrote:

inside jobs.

mteja.

this,
track them.

How Now?

Any Way

@Muheani that is a very informative piece.

I guess people just want to look at negative side of others. I think operators do a lot to facilitate the job that is to be executed by the police. I'm sure as a business entity, there's so much you can do: facilitate by providing tools and information. The power to arrest rest with law enforcement.
streetwise
#9 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 11:34:55 AM

I don’t think it is negative talk and we know the police are supposed to arrest.

We must however insist that any organization products achieve the highest safety measure, including protecting the user from fraudulent activates including reduction of counterfeits.

Can you imagine EABL leaving the door open for others to make fake beer and waiting for the police to act.
#10 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 11:43:14 AM

streetwise wrote:
I don’t think it is negative talk and we know the police are supposed to arrest.

We must however insist that any organization products achieve the highest safety measure, including protecting the user from fraudulent activates including reduction of counterfeits.

Can you imagine EABL leaving the door open for others to make fake beer and waiting for the police to act.

Wewe unaambiwa it starts with you. Report, report, report! There is so much an organization can do. The rest ni yako. If you dont report and expect fraudsters to be arrested, you are in lalaland.