Meet the man police link to Safaricom, NIC Bank frauds
derick
#21 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2015 12:02:07 AM

This are the kind of brains we need.
Your income is directly related to your philosophy, Not the economy.-Jim Rohn
#22 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2015 5:11:32 AM

http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-32301117
#23 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2015 7:54:05 AM

derick wrote:
This are the kind of brains we need.

Theseare Assange and snowden in making
#24 Posted : Monday, August 17, 2015 7:04:39 PM

An information technology specialist has been charged with stealing over Sh21 million from two local banks.

Hiram Kiragu Mbuthia, who is also a director at Gama Solutions Enterprises Limited, denied four counts of stealing from the Housing Finance Limited (HF) and the Diamond Trust Bank (DTB).

In the Housing Finance case, Mr Mbuthia was accused of stealing Sh7.5 million on January 20, 2015 while the second count stated that he stole Sh9.5 million the following day.

He also faced a third indictment of conspiring to steal Sh17 million from HFCK

http://www.businessdaily...2/-/1cjledz/-/index.html
#25 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2015 9:14:24 AM

An information technology specialist has been charged with stealing over Sh21 million from two local banks.

Hiram Kiragu Mbuthia, who is also a director at Gama Solutions Enterprises Limited, denied four counts of stealing from the Housing Finance Limited (HF) and the Diamond Trust Bank (DTB).

In the Housing Finance case, Mr Mbuthia was accused of stealing Sh7.5 million on January 20, 2015 while the second count stated that he stole Sh9.5 million the following day.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/1cjledz/-/index.html

The boy is around 26yrs old!
#26 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2015 11:30:03 AM

Smart boy- while wazuans spend their time in blue section on how to make money
#27 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2015 2:38:11 PM

Smart boy- while wazuans spend their time in blue section on how to make money

smile tunapenda easy cash, you see no one spends much time huko orange section
#28 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 4:18:19 AM

Kenya Revenue Authority, several blue-chip banks, a parastatal and a supermarket chain are some of the institutions penetrated by an international cybercrime syndicate that took off with hundreds of millions of shillings – before they were all seized on Monday and Tuesday.

Working with insiders and relatives of “prominent politicians”, the crooks had formed an international band that installed malware into the systems that allowed them to take control of the institutions’ computers and steal what police sources said would run into hundreds of millions.

Security reports, seen by Nation, also indicate that the group were “conspiring to manipulate the IEBC system during the elections” and had been working with relatives of senior politicians which gives the syndicate some political angle too.................................................

How much damage they have left in their wake is unknown, but police say the leader of the cyberheist gang is 35-year-old Calvin Otieno Ogalo, a former police officer and bank employee, who on Saturdays turns into a devout SDA patriot and choir member but worked as a bank hacker every other day between 3pm and midnight.

....................................................... Police sources say that Mr Ogalo is thought to have previously hacked the Independent Elections and Boundaries Commission system and KenCall servers during the last general election.

“There are fears that Ogalo and his network might be targeting the IEBC in the coming August 2017 elections after a Russian male joined the network,” says the report.
At the moment, Mr Ogalo has five pending criminal cases relating to banking fraud and forgery.

#29 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 10:53:26 AM

Kenya Revenue Authority, several blue-chip banks, a parastatal and a supermarket chain are some of the institutions penetrated by an international cybercrime syndicate that took off with hundreds of millions of shillings – before they were all seized on Monday and Tuesday.

Working with insiders and relatives of “prominent politicians”, the crooks had formed an international band that installed malware into the systems that allowed them to take control of the institutions’ computers and steal what police sources said would run into hundreds of millions.

Security reports, seen by Nation, also indicate that the group were “conspiring to manipulate the IEBC system during the elections” and had been working with relatives of senior politicians which gives the syndicate some political angle too.................................................

How much damage they have left in their wake is unknown, but police say the leader of the cyberheist gang is 35-year-old Calvin Otieno Ogalo, a former police officer and bank employee, who on Saturdays turns into a devout SDA patriot and choir member but worked as a bank hacker every other day between 3pm and midnight.

....................................................... Police sources say that Mr Ogalo is thought to have previously hacked the Independent Elections and Boundaries Commission system and KenCall servers during the last general election.

“There are fears that Ogalo and his network might be targeting the IEBC in the coming August 2017 elections after a Russian male joined the network,” says the report.
At the moment, Mr Ogalo has five pending criminal cases relating to banking fraud and forgery.

Crazy stuff....
#30 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 11:18:10 AM

Interesting stuff but these days you can't be 100% safe. Hackers all over
sitaki.kujulikana
#31 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 1:29:34 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly hii story ya kencall servers, always makes me happy, is it that ni ujinga or just guys like having fun with that story, its a small call center we are talking about.
#32 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 3:05:14 PM

Interesting stuff but these days you can't be 100% safe. Hackers all over

Very true. Plus the hackers are mostly more skillful and motivated than the usual employed software developers.

My wonder though is, if banks are losing billions to hackers and thiefing employees (and we know they are), under what item are they hiding/reporting these amounts in their published balance sheets, p&ls?

chemirocha
#33 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 4:08:59 PM

Very true. Plus the hackers are mostly more skillful and motivated than the usual employed software developers.

My wonder though is, if banks are losing billions to hackers and thiefing employees (and we know they are), under what item are they hiding/reporting these amounts in their published balance sheets, p&ls?

Kenyan banks usually write off thefts as complete losses for the sake of discretion.

In this case I however suspect billions is a bit of an exaggeration.
#34 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 4:24:22 PM

chemirocha wrote:

Kenyan banks usually write off thefts as complete losses for the sake of discretion.

I don't think it's exaggerated. I have a friend in one of the large banks, he told me that about 6 young employees were under investigation for stealing 3.2b in under 2 years through manipulating the system. I know it's true because the system was overhauled immediately after and I saw their 'system upgrade' ads in the papers. That's when I knew what system upgrade in banks mean. I'd always wondered why they keep 'upgrading'.

#35 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 4:27:02 PM

chemirocha wrote:

Since monies are usually stolen from client's accounts,I suppose they are paid by insurance.

Meanwhile the mention of hacking,IEBC and elections is fishy at this time.Further mention pf son and daugter of seniour politicians makes it fishier.

There has been a narattive of stealing elections by hacking into the servers.........any link??

chemirocha
#36 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 4:34:16 PM

chemirocha wrote:

I don't think it's exaggerated. I have a friend in one of the large banks, he told me that about 6 young employees were under investigation for stealing 3.2b in under 2 years through manipulating the system. I know it's true because the system was overhauled immediately after and I saw their 'system upgrade' ads in the papers. That's when I knew what system upgrade in banks mean. I'd always wondered why they keep 'upgrading'.

3.2 billion is a massive loss! And the way that entire industry is run, they will never admit that theft occurred.
#37 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 5:24:20 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly hii story ya kencall servers, always makes me happy, is it that ni ujinga or just guys like having fun with that story, its a small call center we are talking about.

That story still baffles many. Some politicians still believe that magic happened and i think they were still conned by this guy a second time
wanyee
#38 Posted : Friday, March 10, 2017 5:29:02 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

That story still baffles many. Some politicians still believe that magic happened and i think they were still conned by this guy a second time

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly sudo apt hack command ..the greatest nonesense i ever saw
Nimerudi
#39 Posted : Saturday, March 11, 2017 11:59:27 PM

wanyee wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly sudo apt hack command ..the greatest nonesense i ever saw

ati sudo apt hack Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#40 Posted : Sunday, March 12, 2017 1:31:21 AM

Crazy stuff....

this video cannot get old!!

privilege escalation
Kama hawa ndio "hackers" tuko na shida!
plus the video is titled "data base..." Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly a tell tell sign that the fellow who was impressed enough to upload it was clueless! kinda like the mzungu who greats you using the words 'Jambo bwana!' you immediately know he/she is not from around here.