wazua Mon, Jan 27, 2025

CFC Bank HY 2015 net profit down 35%
#1 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2015 7:16:20 PM

Sad news popped up in twittersphere. These results are not good. What happened to this bank?

whiteowl
#2 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2015 7:44:11 PM

At this rate the price will slide back to 2012 levels
#3 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2015 7:45:15 PM

KWANI HUKU KUNAENDA AJE?

The culprit is that KShs. 1.5B reduction in Non-Interest income.

Everything else looks like remained constant.

Pesa Nane
#4 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2015 7:46:37 PM

Nyasaye!
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
Pesa Nane
#5 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2015 7:50:27 PM

Saviour: Interim Dividend of Ksh. 0.75 Per Share
Pay day for FY14: 13 August 2015
The optimist
#6 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2015 7:58:48 PM

muganda wrote:
Sad news popped up in twittersphere. These results are not good. What happened to this bank?

It used to be a darling of manySad
#7 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2015 8:07:45 PM

KWANI HUKU KUNAENDA AJE?

The culprit is that KShs. 1.5B reduction in Non-Interest income.

Everything else looks like remained constant.

Who has the breakdown of this non-interest income? I would like to know what it is that has fallen so sharply... forex, fees, one off?
#8 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2015 8:14:17 PM

This can trigger Mr. Bear back to Nse!!!
Gatheuzi
#9 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2015 8:22:13 PM

I will wait for full year to get the whole impact of NPL's. Credit impairment charges at half year is way lower compared to last HY and about a third of full year. So my guess is that that number should hit almost 1B at full year. Perhaps keeping it low at half year is one way to help the market absorb the dissapointment in batches! All in all it appears a profit warning will be made before full year.
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
Boris Boyka
#10 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2015 8:39:55 PM

Two more such results and the devil(bear) back with a bang. Sad
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
Pesa Nane
#11 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2015 8:50:56 PM

Those mad volumes of Thursday 6 August 2015 suggest somebody somewhere knew something that we obviously didn't. Sad

#Cryinginsidetoilet
#12 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2015 9:14:28 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:

Those mad volumes of Thursday 6 August 2015 suggest somebody somewhere knew something that we obviously didn't. Sad

#Cryinginsidetoilet

Always assumed wewe huwa mbele ya Wanjiku Nse information wise
Boris Boyka
#13 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2015 9:56:50 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:

#Cryinginsidetoilet

He's always ahead on officially released or published information, not on insider information.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
Gatheuzi
#14 Posted : Wednesday, August 12, 2015 7:03:09 AM

Boris Boyka wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:

#Cryinginsidetoilet

He's always ahead on officially released or published information, not on insider information.

Even insider @obiero did not see this one coming, despite the exchange bar being opposite stanbic smile
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
heri
#15 Posted : Wednesday, August 12, 2015 8:45:55 AM

EPS is now 10.66 from almost 20 in 2014

Do we expect the share price to go below 70bob?
#16 Posted : Wednesday, August 12, 2015 9:10:56 AM

When did this bank reach profit peak to start reporting declines, I read a management problem, for a bank to retreat so sharply it's a cause of great concern,meanwhile I will be a cautious customer to deal with c fc.
Ayiko Atatmo
#17 Posted : Wednesday, August 12, 2015 9:36:20 AM

Their S.Sudan branch lost almost all its business with the Government of SS to a smaller bank. Key staff members of CFC also shifted to this small bank
Punda ametanda. Mawingu yamechoka. Nipigwe nyuma sitarudi pingu
gogeta
#18 Posted : Wednesday, August 12, 2015 9:47:33 AM

mlennyma wrote:
When did this bank reach profit peak to start reporting declines, I read a management problem, for a bank to retreat so sharply it's a cause of great concern,meanwhile I will be a cautious customer to deal with c fc.

Why?
Think the unthinkable but wear a dark suit
#19 Posted : Wednesday, August 12, 2015 9:48:11 AM

Ayiko Atatmo wrote:
Their S.Sudan branch lost almost all its business with the Government of SS to a smaller bank. Key staff members of CFC also shifted to this small bank

the share has high foreign holding so it might hold well
#20 Posted : Wednesday, August 12, 2015 9:52:03 AM

gogeta wrote:
mlennyma wrote:

Why?

a bank on a growth path can't wake-up and report 35% decline,I will use gossip to dig in.