wazua Thu, Mar 26, 2026

RE: UNBELIEVABLE!!!!
tylerkay
#1 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 7:32:38 AM

Jana, from 12:00 to around 1:00 p.m. while doing my regular rounds in town, I made Safcom calls at 3bob. Has anyone experienced this in Nairobi???
tylerkay attached the following image(s):
j0439836rv.jpg (12kb) downloaded 1 time(s).
thajoeblog@gmail.com
#2 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 7:38:51 AM

How are you able to tell that you are calling at the reduced rate ? Hook me up!!
tylerkay
#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 10, 2010 5:55:54 AM

@thajoeblog... I inboxed you the info jana... Let me know if you got it, if not all you need to do is dial *155# and viola!!

Hope you rock up on tha 2bob rate!! Hola back...
drakehood
#4 Posted : Wednesday, March 10, 2010 6:21:58 AM

@tylerkay & @thajoeblog... Mein! Niliwahi Supa rate jana joh... Nilikuwa janta downtown afte kitu ka' 2:3o hivi na wasee nilikuwa na-kol viproper... 4bob msee na sio Sato!!!

Nimeshow maboy wangu wacheck hii story juu ya vile madollari zimekuwa less so nikiwahi low rates na hawa maprovider siwachi... Safcom wanakaa wamejanjaruka kiasi, so mambo kwetu au sio??

theslim
#5 Posted : Wednesday, March 10, 2010 7:21:41 AM

every morning rate huwanga 5 bob..kitu 7ish, nakaa doni
the early worm is eaten by the early bird
Seeders
#6 Posted : Wednesday, March 10, 2010 7:42:12 AM

Haiya! Kumekujwo!
#7 Posted : Wednesday, March 10, 2010 8:40:18 AM

>> you can only hit 155 for soo long and find the constant 8 bob rate, until saf learns there is a new order in town.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, March 10, 2010 9:14:15 AM

@kenmac, right on the money. If you set up Cell Broadcasting Services on your phone, you can view a log of all available rates over a day.

It's probable but virtually impossible to obtain a rate of 3/=, in Nairobi town centre during the day. And Safaricom uses the 'probability' to appear 'cheap' - face it!

This 'dynamic discounting' was first launched in Ghana by MTN/Ericcson and has won many awards. However, if providers were transparent (to their detriment), they'd actually publish the average rate on the service which for Safaricom I guesstimate at 6.**

Safaricom's strategy is not cost - that is YU's domain.
tylerkay
#9 Posted : Thursday, March 11, 2010 6:36:08 AM

@ y'all... Either nimeonekaniwa or I must damn lucky!!!
@muganda, i made my Safcom calls at 3bob while heading home in the jioniz, at around 4:30 p.m., after biasharaz in the Nairobi town centre..
Now we either have to hand it to these Safcom guys or mambo is just getting Supa!!!

You should check it out today and let me know at what hours these low rates are checking in, coz I know I would not mind ennjoying these Supa low rates everyday...

Thanks
Jaguar
#10 Posted : Thursday, March 11, 2010 8:49:45 AM

Yu to yu cost 0.50cents after 2mins on noki tariff till midnight. Why should anyone be excited calling saf to saf @4bob?