my theory is Humans need to understand the universe... or at least be able to explain it to themselves! That is how the human brain works... it simply does not like saying SIJUI one too many times when confronted with a question and may need to delude itself into having an "answer". The people you ridicule - the people in the slums and the not so green areas of Kenya need to believe something! I think it was @Tycho who once asked and I paraphrase "what will we need to pray for" in the context of wealth, understanding. It's a plain fact that Religion is the opium of the poor ... and it's good for Opium to do it's thing! Numb the pain of poverty! Sedate the mind by telling it about a nicer place (paved with Gold) because if it does not... you will not like that horde of people matching your way.
I remember asking about this photo some years back

- I think @hambuglar had an answer that "the system failed the kid". I remember asking about the parent of this kid.. is he/she willing to believe that's it? the Kid was eaten by that vulture and THAT IS IT? I think we are not ready for the hordes of people living in destitution to believe "THIS IS IT! YOU DIED AND - THAT'S ALL FOLKS" simply because (my opinion) they will raid @Hambuglar's restaurant - kwani utaDo? Atheism only works with educated people simply because THEY KNOW BETTER and the system kinda works for them. Not for everyone! My thoughts!