wazua Fri, May 1, 2026

8 Pages«<45678>
Mzee Ojwang
BGL
#51 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2015 5:44:45 PM

This should remind all wazuans that despite your current status in society, if you do not save and invest then your life in old age may be miserable.
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
Alba
#52 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2015 6:44:41 PM

Rahatupu wrote:

@Alba, get your facts right. In the 1980s and 1970s KBC/VOK was the only broadcaster so the audience would be constant,hence revenues accrued from Vitimbi and other shows. When competition set in these shows faded. Why? Secondly the amounts paid to the comedians was comes urate to the earnings of the day 20 bob in 1980 is equivalent to over 4000 today. Lastly what you do with your earnings no matter how small in your hay days matters in your sunset years.

How clueless are you ?

Audiences were not constant. Vitimbi was one of the most popular shows , perhaps the most popular and everyone tuned in and everyone spoke about it. By saying audiences were constant you are implying that a program like Joy bringers or mamboleo had a similar audience size to vitimbi which is nonsense.

Although there was only one broadcaster, audiences were not constant. People sat down to watch the popular shows and ignored the less popular shows. And vitimbi at one point had the highest audience.

Eti ksh 20 in 1980 is worth Ksh 4000. Where did you get that from? Hiyo ni porojo mingi. That would mean that in 35 years, the kenya shilling has devalued by a factor of 200 ! which is bogus.

And by the way in 1980, VoK actors were probably paid nothing. A news article that appeared in the early 1990s stated that KBC actors were being given 20 bob for each episode.

By the way Vitimbi programs were also very popular in Tanzania. Perhaps even more than in Kenya. Yet I doubt Ojwang and his group ever got additional money acruing from being shown in Tanzania.

Vitimbi did not fade when other channels came round. It was still popular though less popular. That has to do with the fact that it had been on TV for over 10 years. Audiences do get tired of seeing the same show for 10 years. Thats why in Europe and North America, sitcoms usually stay on TV for 5 years or so. Then the actors move on to other projects.

I am not saying the government owes Wanjau aka Ojwang Hatari his medical bills. I am stating that it is a fact that he was exploited as were most KBC actors of that period.
#53 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2015 12:42:36 PM

I watched mama Kayai's interview on Saturday's Citizen news

She feels nothing like what most complainers have been singing ati ohh gava, ooh KBC, sponsors etc

For her, she feels she is doing well and that Mzee Ojwang died being fairly Ok. She pointed out to the plot she lives in Kasarani and all other things including educating her kids are from proceeds of her acting career.

The Late Mzee Ojwang owns a neighboring plot
#54 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2015 12:51:46 PM

She feels nothing like what most complainers have been singing ati ohh gava, ooh KBC, sponsors etc

For her, she feels she is doing well and that Mzee Ojwang died being fairly Ok. She pointed out to the plot she lives in Kasarani and all other things including educating her kids are from proceeds of her acting career.

ok

#55 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2015 12:53:58 PM

If my memory serves me right, Mzee Ojwang was also given a house by Moi.
Alba
#56 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2015 4:17:19 PM

Then Mama Kayai is contradicting herself. She has been very vocal in criticizing KBC

Back in March she and Ojwang were interviewed and were very bitter with KBC. This is what they said:

“We worked at KBC for 40 years and we got nothing in the end,” said Wanjau.

Mama Kayai for her part complained that they were terminated without notice "We were chased from KBC like dogs" she said

Even during Ojwangs funeral, KBC actors were trashing KBC. Some were saying that Vitimbi is televised in Tanzania and South Africa yet the actors are not paid royalties.

So which is which?
#57 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2015 5:52:55 PM

Alba wrote:

Then Mama Kayai is contradicting herself. She has been very vocal in criticizing KBC

Back in March she and Ojwang were interviewed and were very bitter with KBC. This is what they said:

“We worked at KBC for 40 years and we got nothing in the end,” said Wanjau.

Mama Kayai for her part complained that they were terminated without notice "We were chased from KBC like dogs" she said

Even during Ojwangs funeral, KBC actors were trashing KBC. Some were saying that Vitimbi is televised in Tanzania and South Africa yet the actors are not paid royalties.

So which is which?

And they say "reading does not finish the eyes"...in that interview I can see @Mama Kayai saying KBC did not pay them, she only said that their last contact was terminated without "prior" notice.

#58 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2015 11:29:00 PM

maybe her 'acting career' included proceeds from mzee ojwang's hustle(s). in other words, alimmaliza kabisa!
#59 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2015 5:56:19 AM

maybe her 'acting career' included proceeds from mzee ojwang's hustle(s). in other words, alimmaliza kabisa!

smile smile

Fomoney
#60 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2015 8:39:27 AM

All those saying ati wanategemea gava can't be serious. They made mad money for KBC through advertising but were not properly compensated. The fact that they are ok right now is because of their side hustles, playing in hotels and the like. they used to be the biggest local TV show on KBC with a bunch of advertisers riding on their shows. I know it's history but dudes never got paid.
8 Pages«<45678>