wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

Anyone know of a good mercedes mechanic out there?
blacksilvergal
#1 Posted : Monday, December 12, 2011 7:01:28 PM

I know I may be asking for a needle in a haystack but does anyone know of a good mercedes mechanic out there? I'm about to pull my hair out after the third mechanic whose talk and action are quite mismatched!
Stealth
#2 Posted : Monday, December 12, 2011 8:53:06 PM

Just take it to DT Dobie. Expensive but u'll be at peace.
#3 Posted : Monday, December 12, 2011 9:18:12 PM

Problem with these European cars. Few Kenyans can service them.
#4 Posted : Monday, December 12, 2011 9:39:09 PM

Problem with these European cars. Few Kenyans can service them.

Precisely. Excellent until they develop a snag, kwanza if in the bunduz, u r royally screwed.
GGK
#5 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2011 7:30:13 AM

Stealth wrote:
Just take it to DT Dobie. Expensive but u'll be at peace.

I thought Mercs are taken to DT Dobie not to road side quacks
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
Axe
#6 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2011 7:51:24 AM

Try a garage at Limuru Rd just on your way to Muthaiga Shopping Center. As you start to decend the slope, on you left there is a garage that deals with Germany Brands only.
"You wouldn't know where the boundary was until you got a slap on the back of your wrist"
hairglo
#7 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2011 9:30:28 AM

There's a garage near Church road on waiyaki way (with a BMW sign on the gate). You can ask there. i've seen a no. of merc's being repaired there.
But like others have said, DT Dobie
Chaka
#8 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2011 9:53:00 AM

What is wrong with the Merc..?I thought the only thing you do with this kind of vehicles is change oil,oil filter,fuel filter,ATF,plugs,break pads,tyres,bushes and ensure there is water in the radiator and you will not have issues..?
deadpoet
#9 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2011 10:31:59 AM

there's a garage near the Spring Valley roundabout that's supposed to be quite good.
JkMwatha
#10 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2011 10:34:50 AM

blacksilvergal wrote:
I know I may be asking for a needle in a haystack but does anyone know of a good mercedes mechanic out there? I'm about to pull my hair out after the third mechanic whose talk and action are quite mismatched!

St. Austins (appointed), Ngong Road are certainly cheaper than DT Dobie... (but not necessarily the cheapest).

There are a few other Merc specialists even cheaper... Specialists in that they previously worked for DT Dobie, and fix mercs only.

1. Bremen Auto Merc - Eric Nunda (0722-680-547/0722-736-038) Garden Est. Next to Roosters (Rosters?)
2. Mercedes Garage?(dont know the name)- Moses Otieno(0722-779-132) Inda...somewhere between Bunyala rd & Lusaka Road not far from Chloride Exide.

I usually use the two guys to service the mercs I bring in and provide them with parts. They're have small garages, so not so serious overheads. By my experience, they definitely seem to know what the're doing. Both formerly DT Dobie mechanics.

Then there is also Exquite Cars (Mercedes Car Centre)- More Established than the other two - Owner -Martin Mbutura (0722-515-459) also somewhere between Garden Est. and Kiambu Road.
#11 Posted : Wednesday, December 14, 2011 2:42:22 PM

Chaka wrote:
What is wrong with the Merc..?I thought the only thing you do with this kind of vehicles is change oil,oil filter,fuel filter,ATF,plugs,break pads,tyres,bushes and ensure there is water in the radiator and you will not have issues..?

kwani hazitumii ngataa???
blacksilvergal
#12 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2011 8:18:57 PM

JkMwatha wrote:
St. Austins (appointed), Ngong Road are certainly cheaper than DT Dobie... (but not necessarily the cheapest).

There are a few other Merc specialists even cheaper... Specialists in that they previously worked for DT Dobie, and fix mercs only.

1. Bremen Auto Merc - Eric Nunda (0722-680-547/0722-736-038) Garden Est. Next to Roosters (Rosters?)
2. Mercedes Garage?(dont know the name)- Moses Otieno(0722-779-132) Inda...somewhere between Bunyala rd & Lusaka Road not far from Chloride Exide.

I usually use the two guys to service the mercs I bring in and provide them with parts. They're have small garages, so not so serious overheads. By my experience, they definitely seem to know what the're doing. Both formerly DT Dobie mechanics.

Then there is also Exquite Cars (Mercedes Car Centre)- More Established than the other two - Owner -Martin Mbutura (0722-515-459) also somewhere between Garden Est. and Kiambu Road.

Thanks JkMwatha. smile I'll try some of those indicated, some I've already tried with mixed resultsSad.
mnjoro
#13 Posted : Friday, December 16, 2011 9:41:50 AM

[quote=JkMwatha
You mean the ones oppsite roasters entrance?I know the place as Okelo's.But true they do repair mercedez.N/B mine is not a merc,but they are good and fare.
JkMwatha
#14 Posted : Friday, December 16, 2011 10:49:37 AM

mnjoro wrote:
[quote=JkMwatha
You mean the ones oppsite roasters entrance?I know the place as Okelo's.But true they do repair mercedez.N/B mine is not a merc,but they are good and fare.

Yes that's the one
Oh, its Roasters?... Not sure where I was getting Roosters/rosters.... English...
#15 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2015 2:41:56 PM

Damn!! I have burst something. I tried a slippery grass patch but then i realized i wouldn't make it and rolled back.The next time i shift forward and the ETS malfunction signal comes on, followed later by the ABS.I have tested emergency braking and true, the ABS function is gone. I have tried jerking her and the traction reaction is also gone.The speedo is limp too. I know i should see a dealer but i am far from one for now.Any harm in driving over?. Do i risk more damage?. Any idea what i could have burst?Sad Sad
$moothie!
#16 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2015 3:15:29 PM

Damn!! I have burst something. I tried a slippery grass patch but then i realized i wouldn't make it and rolled back.The next time i shift forward and the ETS malfunction signal comes on, followed later by the ABS.I have tested emergency braking and true, the ABS function is gone. I have tried jerking her and the traction reaction is also gone.The speedo is limp too. I know i should see a dealer but i am far from one for now.Any harm in driving over?. Do i risk more damage?. Any idea what i could have burst?Sad Sad

Possibly the sensors for traction control have caused the error, check if you can locate the ets/esp switch, switch off to remove traction control. then skid your way out of the slippery grass. if successful you can have the sensors ath all the four wheels checked for dust then proceed to remove the error codes.
#17 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2015 4:01:12 PM

hairglo wrote:
There's a garage near Church road on waiyaki way (with a BMW sign on the gate). You can ask there. i've seen a no. of merc's being repaired there.
But like others have said, DT Dobie

auto bavaria. have mechanics doing benz and some bmw and even seen the audis there. from personal experience the benz and bmw guys know what they are doing. there are guys moonlighting there who work for both dt dobie and bavaria auto.
Prime
#18 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2015 8:22:49 PM

Hi Guys,
Speaking of benzes, Everyone seems to discourage me on purchasing a sprinter as a matatu. Online reviews are full of praise yet the situation seems a little wanting here. One seat fabricator tells me of a friend of his who had to sell his pickup to keep his sprinter on the road after some mechanical failure. How readily available are the spares? The word is readily. Not importation etc. Shuttles to kisumu are using them and so is horizon between nairobi and mombasa. Given the small engine (2200 cc turbo diesel) and the bigger body and weight, how would they handle a hilly route? What is the cost of undertaking a normal service? Would really appreciate if someone here might be in the know or may connect me to someone running one.
Prime
#19 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2015 8:43:24 PM

A quick update. Talked with Eric nunda. Told me that the small engine is quite sensitive to the quality of diesel we have here and the parts are not yet readily available. So he feels that it may not be wise getting one yet. I found him to be a likeable guy.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2015 11:26:54 AM

$moothie! wrote:
[quote=Njung'e]

Possibly the sensors for traction control have caused the error, check if you can locate the ets/esp switch, switch off to remove traction control. then skid your way out of the slippery grass. if successful you can have the sensors ath all the four wheels checked for dust then proceed to remove the error codes.

Walala !! So complex for my old tired brain. The last thing i want is to tinker with stuff i have no idea about. I have also looked at the user's manual and it doesn't say much.I think i will leave it to my service agent. Thanks all the same