Housegirls rights
Itt will be a bit difficult to implement some of the labour laws to house helps because the services they offer and the conditions they operate in arre a bit different. African parents don't know how to say sorry.. the closest you will get to a sorry is a 'have you eaten'
Wewe @ Dash,i hope hiyo makofi is not to deny your house-help a pay hike-if you have one or a decent pay in future if you ever get one....I agree our government lacks the moral authority to tell people what they can and cannot pay house-helps but this does not mean that the current exploitation of house-helps should continue.
famooz wrote:Wewe @ Dash,i hope hiyo makofi is not to deny your house-help a pay hike-if you have one or a decent pay in future if you ever get one....I agree our government lacks the moral authority to tell people what they can and cannot pay house-helps but this does not mean that the current exploitation of house-helps should continue. what amounts to exploitation?
For Sport wrote:famooz wrote:Wewe @ Dash,i hope hiyo makofi is not to deny your house-help a pay hike-if you have one or a decent pay in future if you ever get one....I agree our government lacks the moral authority to tell people what they can and cannot pay house-helps but this does not mean that the current exploitation of house-helps should continue. what amounts to exploitation? waking up at 5am or even earlier to wash clothes,make breakfast before the 'people of the house' wake up.After 8.30am,2 kids; 2yrs and 3 yrs are up and crying for mummy,food etc. House-help feeds them,plays with them,makes them lunch,puts them to sleep,goes to clean the house before the kids wake up,one of the kids wakes up earlier than expected,house-helps holds him,and tries to light the jiko to put githeri that needs to iva and be packed in the fridge.  It is evening,now all kids are running up and down,mummy has arrived,needs her evening chai,she will watch the kids as the househelp makes dinner,'people of the house' take time to eat.one of the kids is yelling,does not want mukimo,house-help is called to feed the kid. house help must wait for them to eat so that she can scrub the sufuria and wash dishes before going to bed. Kids have refused to sleep so house girl must watch them as 'the people of the house' are too tired to watch the kids  Kitu kama hiyo.... and in some households it is worse...end month 2k kwa mfuko. Now,hata kama this person lives under your roof and eats your food,IMHO,this is exploitation....
famooz wrote:For Sport wrote:famooz wrote:Wewe @ Dash,i hope hiyo makofi is not to deny your house-help a pay hike-if you have one or a decent pay in future if you ever get one....I agree our government lacks the moral authority to tell people what they can and cannot pay house-helps but this does not mean that the current exploitation of house-helps should continue. what amounts to exploitation? waking up at 5am or even earlier to wash clothes,make breakfast before the 'people of the house' wake up.After 8.30am,2 kids; 2yrs and 3 yrs are up and crying for mummy,food etc. House-help feeds them,plays with them,makes them lunch,puts them to sleep,goes to clean the house before the kids wake up,one of the kids wakes up earlier than expected,house-helps holds him,and tries to light the jiko to put githeri that needs to iva and be packed in the fridge.  It is evening,now all kids are running up and down,mummy has arrived,needs her evening chai,she will watch the kids as the househelp makes dinner,'people of the house' take time to eat.one of the kids is yelling,does not want mukimo,house-help is called to feed the kid. house help must wait for them to eat so that she can scrub the sufuria and wash dishes before going to bed. Kids have refused to sleep so house girl must watch them as 'the people of the house' are too tired to watch the kids  Kitu kama hiyo.... and in some households it is worse...end month 2k kwa mfuko. Now,hata kama this person lives under your roof and eats your food,IMHO,this is exploitation.... You are very right.... I see your point. but help me figure this out My receptionist salary at some miserable lawyer's office in town is 15k. after deductions, its say 14k. Ya mzee as a city council employee clumping the vehicles in town is 20k. after deductions its 18k. We have 2 kids (tulipanga uzazi so one kid is 6yrs the other is 2yrs) and a housegal. Now lets do our budget. Total income 32k Less house rent 5k less busfare (we live in kayole where we can afford the house rent so fare is 100bob each per day) 6k shopping for the month 6k child's school at the neighbourhood 3k per month vegetables and other foods 3k water + electricity 500 Mzee took a loan with the sacco to buy a plot in mwiki which he is paying 5k Housegal we pay 2k What's that total? 30,500/= those kids better not think of getting sick! or contemplate wearing clothes... Na hakuna savings... mama hajasaidiwa yoyote, hakuna burial ya neighbour's mother contribution, hakuna lunch, and it better not rain coz the fare goes up... not even sure they charge 50bob to kayole anyway!! Sasa, 7k itatoka wapi? lets say, an extra 5k itatoka wapi?
Wendz wrote:famooz wrote:For Sport wrote:famooz wrote:Wewe @ Dash,i hope hiyo makofi is not to deny your house-help a pay hike-if you have one or a decent pay in future if you ever get one....I agree our government lacks the moral authority to tell people what they can and cannot pay house-helps but this does not mean that the current exploitation of house-helps should continue. what amounts to exploitation? waking up at 5am or even earlier to wash clothes,make breakfast before the 'people of the house' wake up.After 8.30am,2 kids; 2yrs and 3 yrs are up and crying for mummy,food etc. House-help feeds them,plays with them,makes them lunch,puts them to sleep,goes to clean the house before the kids wake up,one of the kids wakes up earlier than expected,house-helps holds him,and tries to light the jiko to put githeri that needs to iva and be packed in the fridge.  It is evening,now all kids are running up and down,mummy has arrived,needs her evening chai,she will watch the kids as the househelp makes dinner,'people of the house' take time to eat.one of the kids is yelling,does not want mukimo,house-help is called to feed the kid. house help must wait for them to eat so that she can scrub the sufuria and wash dishes before going to bed. Kids have refused to sleep so house girl must watch them as 'the people of the house' are too tired to watch the kids  Kitu kama hiyo.... and in some households it is worse...end month 2k kwa mfuko. Now,hata kama this person lives under your roof and eats your food,IMHO,this is exploitation.... You are very right.... I see your point. but help me figure this out My receptionist salary at some miserable lawyer's office in town is 15k. after deductions, its say 14k. Ya mzee as a city council employee clumping the vehicles in town is 20k. after deductions its 18k. We have 2 kids (tulipanga uzazi so one kid is 6yrs the other is 2yrs) and a housegal. Now lets do our budget. Total income 32k Less house rent 5k less busfare (we live in kayole where we can afford the house rent so fare is 100bob each per day) 6k shopping for the month 6k child's school at the neighbourhood 3k per month vegetables and other foods 3k water + electricity 500 Mzee took a loan with the sacco to buy a plot in mwiki which he is paying 5k Housegal we pay 2k What's that total? 30,500/= those kids better not think of getting sick! or contemplate wearing clothes... Na hakuna savings... mama hajasaidiwa yoyote, hakuna burial ya neighbour's mother contribution, hakuna lunch, and it better not rain coz the fare goes up... not even sure they charge 50bob to kayole anyway!! Sasa, 7k itatoka wapi? lets say, an extra 5k itatoka wapi? Nyeti sana maswali haya..
@ Wendz,actually sina solution....maybe people should stop be having full time house-helps who they end up exploiting? Maybe the employers should have more humane working hours instead of 5am to 11pm? Maybe ...maybe ...maybe
i agree that our government does not hold the moral authority to say what househelps should be paid. apart from fixing the seriously leaking coffers, they should only be poviding guidance as to the minimum wage, etc. moving away from mambo mishahara, some of the conditions that househelps work under are just unacceptable, something i fail to understand given that employers 'entrust' their kids and homes to househelps. and those pinebearers who insist hawataki kujua what the mama who takes care of his kids and home earns, wengine are the ones who end up bombing uninvited on those airports and then go ahead and bury their heads in the sand..... Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Ali🐝
Rank: Member Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 677 Location: Nairobi
famooz wrote:Wewe @ Dash,i hope hiyo makofi is not to deny your house-help a pay hike-if you have one or a decent pay in future if you ever get one....I agree our government lacks the moral authority to tell people what they can and cannot pay house-helps but this does not mean that the current exploitation of house-helps should continue. Makofi is for agreement that this gorv has its head so up in its own behind, they are not even aware what goes on in the country. Househelps deserve to be paid the minimum wage, like everyone else, but that minimum wage is what a majority of Kenyans in the major towns are earning. And to cater for this both husband and wife have to have some form employment therefore the classic mother to stay home with the children does not apply. I am not speaking for the majority in wazua, am speaking for the majority in Kenyan towns. The story of exploitation is a whole chapter on itself.
Rank: User Joined: 11/10/2010 Posts: 550 Location: Junction
I have made a deal with my former wife. Since she is related to my four children, I will employ her as a house girl and pay her a monthly salo of 7000 with the previlages attached. She however is free to remarry but when she does so, her contract will be terminated. I feel a former wife would serve as the most ideal househelp as she would love the children more than a lunje girl who has no blood relation or empathy. Am I mistake in my assumptions here? By inference, the man is all that Mr Phantom is not: an untrustworthy radical, divisive, too many enemies, a dictator, and a persistent liar...Gaitho dialogues.
househelp away without official leaveFloat like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Ali🐝
Rank: Member Joined: 2/27/2014 Posts: 454 Location: Republic of Enchantment.
The people who come up with some of this proposals have a very big problem.How am i supposed to pay that much whereas the same govt is paying me 20k as a civil servant.Some of the house jobs are negotiable depending on work done. Divers - can you laugh in scuba gear, or will you drown? I was wondering. - James May.
geofreygachie wrote:The people who come up with some of this proposals have a very big problem.How am i supposed to pay that much whereas the same govt is paying me 20k as a civil servant.Some of the house jobs are negotiable depending on work done. At this rate it will be cheaper to marry her!!!! The man who marries a beautiful woman, and the farmer who grows corn by the roadside have the same problem
Yet more stupidity from GoK. So now, what about meals, housing etc? Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Rank: Member Joined: 2/27/2014 Posts: 454 Location: Republic of Enchantment.
ZZE123 wrote:geofreygachie wrote:The people who come up with some of this proposals have a very big problem.How am i supposed to pay that much whereas the same govt is paying me 20k as a civil servant.Some of the house jobs are negotiable depending on work done. At this rate it will be cheaper to marry her!!!! Good one. Divers - can you laugh in scuba gear, or will you drown? I was wondering. - James May.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
KulaRaha wrote:Yet more stupidity from GoK. So now, what about meals, housing etc? 15k.. is GROSS Deductibles zinaanza hapo Food, Shelter, Mafuta ya mama ile anaiba, Kuona AfroCinema kwa dstv and citizen kwa TV yangu. Ukimwambia aende atafute nyumba hiyo area unaishi ndio atajua bei ya kuishi nairobi. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
If The average Salo in Nai is 15K?........
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
masukuma wrote:KulaRaha wrote:Yet more stupidity from GoK. So now, what about meals, housing etc? 15k.. is GROSS Deductibles zinaanza hapo Food, Shelter, Mafuta ya mama ile anaiba, Kuona AfroCinema kwa dstv and citizen kwa TV yangu. Ukimwambia aende atafute nyumba hiyo area unaishi ndio atajua bei ya kuishi nairobi. Hii ni kali Ati unapea gross, then deduct epxenses, like elect and the rest including food!! Waa!
Housegirls rights