Market
Review
The BigBox by Safaricom
Rank: Member Joined: 2/27/2014 Posts: 454 Location: Republic of Enchantment.
mnandii wrote:Thanks for this important information. My decoder is now showing connection to 4G in Kisumu. Had a Safaricom big box teardown to examine components and we found out that the box has 2 sim card slots.The second slot is only accessible by breaking the seal(in a smart way).The sim not branded with Safaricom colour but when inserted in a phone it registered to safaricom and functioned normally.Inside you will find a Mini pcie 4g/3g card the same size and spec of what you would find on WWAN enabled laptops.We tried out an orange and airtel sim and non connected to their respective network meaning the box is locked,but I am sure the android gurus would unlock within a short time. I will keep on updating on what we will find out regarding this BOX.Its good to have friends who are risk takers.The dude was willing to void warranty just to have a peep on what's inside. Divers - can you laugh in scuba gear, or will you drown? I was wondering. - James May.
So what discount has been extended on this on the ocassion of safcom openday. Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
Rank: Member Joined: 2/28/2014 Posts: 188 Location: Nairobi
geofreygachie wrote:mnandii wrote:Thanks for this important information. My decoder is now showing connection to 4G in Kisumu. Had a Safaricom big box teardown to examine components and we found out that the box has 2 sim card slots.The second slot is only accessible by breaking the seal(in a smart way).The sim not branded with Safaricom colour but when inserted in a phone it registered to safaricom and functioned normally.Inside you will find a Mini pcie 4g/3g card the same size and spec of what you would find on WWAN enabled laptops.We tried out an orange and airtel sim and non connected to their respective network meaning the box is locked,but I am sure the android gurus would unlock within a short time. I will keep on updating on what we will find out regarding this BOX.Its good to have friends who are risk takers.The dude was willing to void warranty just to have a peep on what's inside. Who can post a speedtest screenshot of the 3G/4G speeds Offering my personal finance knowledge for free
Useless device. I got it last week and the buffering on high quality videos is unbearable. If safaricom were not ready to tackle the home Internet market they should have just stayed out rather than swindling people's hard earned 10k
muganda wrote:Overwhelmed?
More like underwhelmed I suspect. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Rank: New-farer Joined: 1/21/2015 Posts: 78 Location: Pare Pare
So it flopped. These guys should have stuck to expanding the wireless broadband service piloted at Nyayo estate. Made a lot more sense on the consumer's side.
nashx wrote:geofreygachie wrote:mnandii wrote:Thanks for this important information. My decoder is now showing connection to 4G in Kisumu. Had a Safaricom big box teardown to examine components and we found out that the box has 2 sim card slots.The second slot is only accessible by breaking the seal(in a smart way).The sim not branded with Safaricom colour but when inserted in a phone it registered to safaricom and functioned normally.Inside you will find a Mini pcie 4g/3g card the same size and spec of what you would find on WWAN enabled laptops.We tried out an orange and airtel sim and non connected to their respective network meaning the box is locked,but I am sure the android gurus would unlock within a short time. I will keep on updating on what we will find out regarding this BOX.Its good to have friends who are risk takers.The dude was willing to void warranty just to have a peep on what's inside. Who can post a speedtest screenshot of the 3G/4G speeds http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4470715459
linkServer in CANADA. Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
Nimerudi wrote:So it flopped. These guys should have stuck to expanding the wireless broadband service piloted at Nyayo estate. Made a lot more sense on the consumer's side. I guess it was withdrawn to create an excuse for a relaunch following a false start! Are we to expect better terms if/when it reappears on the shelves! Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
Whoever came up with the idea that home usage will work with bundles should be sacked. Clueless! Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/10/2014 Posts: 976 Location: Kenya
Hahaha Safaricom think they can introduce bundles and wireless net in a business area that needs physical fiber optic. Their networks are already congested sasa adding this is more strain to the cell towers
Purchasing the ''BigBox'' will go down as my biggest mistake for the year 2015. I dont think I'll ever trust safaricom again. My expectation was that safaricom would deliver a very superior product both in terms of hardware and content. The pricing duped most of us to believe that for real this was in deed some next generation product. It was not until reality hit and I realised that Safaricom had in deed used its dominance to con us by delivering a cheap chinese set top box that overheats, keeps going off and has very poor network reception even in areas not known to have any network problems. I now know the impact of a dominant player both on consumers and on competition.
kaption wrote:Purchasing the ''BigBox'' will go down as my biggest mistake for the year 2015. I dont think I'll ever trust safaricom again. My expectation was that safaricom would deliver a very superior product both in terms of hardware and content. The pricing duped most of us to believe that for real this was in deed some next generation product. It was not until reality hit and I realised that Safaricom had in deed used its dominance to con us by delivering a cheap chinese set top box that overheats, keeps going off and has very poor network reception even in areas not known to have any network problems. I now know the impact of a dominant player both on consumers and on competition. Why not take it back, get your money back or get another device all together. Kwani.....you need to know your rights as a consumer "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
I think I said it would flop here. Safcom data is expensive with no justification whatsoever. In other countries, when data provision is becoming cheaper at safcom, its becoming more expensive. The good thing is that the animal has started eating itself. After shocking the post paid clients with their new policies, ALL and I mean ALL the guys I knew who were on post paid have moved to airtel. Next its their sim cards. I no longer use their line only for receiving mpesa then moving it to my equeteee. Watch this space again. Safcom must drop their prices or will be eaten alive by airtel. Hata wakiiba the airtel geniuses. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
alma wrote:I think I said it would flop here.
Safcom data is expensive with no justification whatsoever. In other countries, when data provision is becoming cheaper at safcom, its becoming more expensive.
The good thing is that the animal has started eating itself. After shocking the post paid clients with their new policies, ALL and I mean ALL the guys I knew who were on post paid have moved to airtel.
Next its their sim cards. I no longer use their line only for receiving mpesa then moving it to my equeteee.
Watch this space again.
Safcom must drop their prices or will be eaten alive by airtel. Hata wakiiba the airtel geniuses. Same song since 2008 "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
KulaRaha wrote:muganda wrote:Overwhelmed?
More like underwhelmed I suspect. I am enjoying my monthly 6 GB plan .I have been on 3G+ signal and I cant complain .I am able to have FTA TV and internet on one package. Divers - can you laugh in scuba gear, or will you drown? I was wondering. - James May.
geofreygachie wrote:KulaRaha wrote:muganda wrote:Overwhelmed?
More like underwhelmed I suspect. I am enjoying my monthly 6 GB plan .I have been on 3G+ signal and I cant complain .I am able to have FTA TV and internet on one package. We appreciate your review and sharing of info from a first hand experience perspective. We assume that you arent tied to safcom in any other way that would influence your take on tbe matter. Could you please provide your perspective in view of the unflaterring comments and points raised by fellow users - @Mike Ock and kaption Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
Nandwa wrote:geofreygachie wrote:KulaRaha wrote:muganda wrote:Overwhelmed?
More like underwhelmed I suspect. I am enjoying my monthly 6 GB plan .I have been on 3G+ signal and I cant complain .I am able to have FTA TV and internet on one package. We appreciate your review and sharing of info from a first hand experience perspective. We assume that you arent tied to safcom in any other way that would influence your take on tbe matter. Could you please provide your perspective in view of the unflaterring comments and points raised by fellow users - @Mike Ock and kaption @Nandwa.I like trying out gadgets that are within my financial reach.Initially I had a Samsutech FTA but I had the limitation of not being able to stream internet content.When Safaricom announced the box I decided to try it out.This is my 2nd month with the box and its only the first month when I had connectivity and heating issues but one day I got an update notification and I did the OTA update which fixed the issues. Right now I am using a combo of Huawei B270b with the sim that was in ..... And this gives me the best connection I have ever had.This is because the Huawei has an external aerial connection.My silly maths are I bought a box at Ksh 4000 + 6 GB for six months totalling to 10k. By the way i don't represent Safaricom by all means.For calls i use unliminet,mpesa for mobile payments. Divers - can you laugh in scuba gear, or will you drown? I was wondering. - James May.
geofreygachie wrote:Nandwa wrote:geofreygachie wrote:KulaRaha wrote:muganda wrote:Overwhelmed?
More like underwhelmed I suspect. I am enjoying my monthly 6 GB plan .I have been on 3G+ signal and I cant complain .I am able to have FTA TV and internet on one package. We appreciate your review and sharing of info from a first hand experience perspective. We assume that you arent tied to safcom in any other way that would influence your take on tbe matter. Could you please provide your perspective in view of the unflaterring comments and points raised by fellow users - @Mike Ock and kaption @Nandwa.I like trying out gadgets that are within my financial reach.Initially I had a Samsutech FTA but I had the limitation of not being able to stream internet content.When Safaricom announced the box I decided to try it out.This is my 2nd month with the box and its only the first month when I had connectivity and heating issues but one day I got an update notification and I did the OTA update which fixed the issues. Right now I am using a combo of Huawei B270b with the sim that was in ..... And this gives me the best connection I have ever had.This is because the Huawei has an external aerial connection.My silly maths are I bought a box at Ksh 4000 + 6 GB for six months totalling to 10k. By the way i don't represent Safaricom by all means.For calls i use unliminet,mpesa for mobile payments. So you're not using the box, but just the sim for data? Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
geofreygachie wrote:Nandwa wrote:geofreygachie wrote:KulaRaha wrote:muganda wrote:Overwhelmed?
More like underwhelmed I suspect. I am enjoying my monthly 6 GB plan .I have been on 3G+ signal and I cant complain .I am able to have FTA TV and internet on one package. We appreciate your review and sharing of info from a first hand experience perspective. We assume that you arent tied to safcom in any other way that would influence your take on tbe matter. Could you please provide your perspective in view of the unflaterring comments and points raised by fellow users - @Mike Ock and kaption @Nandwa.I like trying out gadgets that are within my financial reach.Initially I had a Samsutech FTA but I had the limitation of not being able to stream internet content.When Safaricom announced the box I decided to try it out.This is my 2nd month with the box and its only the first month when I had connectivity and heating issues but one day I got an update notification and I did the OTA update which fixed the issues. Right now I am using a combo of Huawei B270b with the sim that was in ..... And this gives me the best connection I have ever had.This is because the Huawei has an external aerial connection.My silly maths are I bought a box at Ksh 4000 + 6 GB for six months totalling to 10k. By the way i don't represent Safaricom by all means.For calls i use unliminet,mpesa for mobile payments. Interesting, lakini why are you using the Huawei modem and yet you have the big box, I thought the thing had connectivity mechinisms - ama you are only using the bigbox for tv, then the Huawei modem for internet. is the 6gb for 6 months ama 6gb per month.
Market
Review
The BigBox by Safaricom