wazua Fri, Jan 3, 2025

9 Pages«<56789>
The BigBox by Safaricom
geofreygachie
#121 Posted : Sunday, June 21, 2015 8:58:50 AM

mnandii wrote:
geofreygachie wrote:

Regarding the bundle query ,the box bundles don't have night shift setup.Its a full bundle,like in my case i have 6 GB for the next six month and i have verified by using the bundles and from the Safaricom.
A few people have complained about using the remote to navigate the interface is clunky.I however tested the unit with a Dell usb keyboard which acts also as a 2 port usb hub.All the controls on the keyboard i.e multimedia keys including pause,stop,volume control using the volume knob etc all worked.I also managed to attach the usb mouse on the keyboard usb hub port and all worked .I control everything using the keyboard and mouse.The next step was now to test a wireless keybpoard and mouse combo and bingo it worked too.Logitech MK220 wireless keyaboard and mouse combo worked.Now i don't need to struggle with the remote trying to type .

MK220

Anxious Anxious Anxious Anxious Very soon we might get a way to use the sim card slot that on the box ????Anxious Anxious Anxious Anxious

Thanks for this important information. My decoder is now showing connection to 4G in Kisumu. smile

Had a Safaricom big box teardown to examine components and we found out that the box has 2 sim card slots.The second slot is only accessible by breaking the seal(in a smart way).The sim not branded with Safaricom colour but when inserted in a phone it registered to safaricom and functioned normally.Inside you will find a Mini pcie 4g/3g card the same size and spec of what you would find on WWAN enabled laptops.We tried out an orange and airtel sim and non connected to their respective network meaning the box is locked,but I am sure the android gurus would unlock within a short time.
I will keep on updating on what we will find out regarding this BOX.Its good to have friends who are risk takers.The dude was willing to void warranty just to have a peep on what's inside.
Divers - can you laugh in scuba gear, or will you drown? I was wondering. - James May.
Ngalaka
#122 Posted : Wednesday, June 24, 2015 5:51:02 PM

So what discount has been extended on this on the ocassion of safcom openday.

Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
nashx
#123 Posted : Thursday, June 25, 2015 2:02:17 PM

geofreygachie wrote:
mnandii wrote:
geofreygachie wrote:

Regarding the bundle query ,the box bundles don't have night shift setup.Its a full bundle,like in my case i have 6 GB for the next six month and i have verified by using the bundles and from the Safaricom.
A few people have complained about using the remote to navigate the interface is clunky.I however tested the unit with a Dell usb keyboard which acts also as a 2 port usb hub.All the controls on the keyboard i.e multimedia keys including pause,stop,volume control using the volume knob etc all worked.I also managed to attach the usb mouse on the keyboard usb hub port and all worked .I control everything using the keyboard and mouse.The next step was now to test a wireless keybpoard and mouse combo and bingo it worked too.Logitech MK220 wireless keyaboard and mouse combo worked.Now i don't need to struggle with the remote trying to type .

MK220

Anxious Anxious Anxious Anxious Very soon we might get a way to use the sim card slot that on the box ????Anxious Anxious Anxious Anxious

Thanks for this important information. My decoder is now showing connection to 4G in Kisumu. smile

Had a Safaricom big box teardown to examine components and we found out that the box has 2 sim card slots.The second slot is only accessible by breaking the seal(in a smart way).The sim not branded with Safaricom colour but when inserted in a phone it registered to safaricom and functioned normally.Inside you will find a Mini pcie 4g/3g card the same size and spec of what you would find on WWAN enabled laptops.We tried out an orange and airtel sim and non connected to their respective network meaning the box is locked,but I am sure the android gurus would unlock within a short time.
I will keep on updating on what we will find out regarding this BOX.Its good to have friends who are risk takers.The dude was willing to void warranty just to have a peep on what's inside.

Who can post a speedtest screenshot of the 3G/4G speeds
Offering my personal finance knowledge for free
Mike Ock
#124 Posted : Saturday, June 27, 2015 2:18:46 PM

Useless device. I got it last week and the buffering on high quality videos is unbearable. If safaricom were not ready to tackle the home Internet market they should have just stayed out rather than swindling people's hard earned 10k
#125 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2015 6:18:49 AM

Overwhelmed?

#126 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2015 7:43:54 AM

muganda wrote:
Overwhelmed?

More like underwhelmed I suspect.

Nimerudi
#127 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2015 7:13:26 PM

So it flopped. These guys should have stuck to expanding the wireless broadband service piloted at Nyayo estate. Made a lot more sense on the consumer's side.
mnandii
#128 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2015 7:35:38 PM

nashx wrote:
geofreygachie wrote:
mnandii wrote:
geofreygachie wrote:

MK220

Who can post a speedtest screenshot of the 3G/4G speeds

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4470715459

link

Server in CANADA.
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
Nandwa
#129 Posted : Thursday, July 02, 2015 11:34:08 AM

Nimerudi wrote:
So it flopped. These guys should have stuck to expanding the wireless broadband service piloted at Nyayo estate. Made a lot more sense on the consumer's side.

I guess it was withdrawn to create an excuse for a relaunch following a false start!
Are we to expect better terms if/when it reappears on the shelves!
Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
#130 Posted : Thursday, July 02, 2015 12:49:42 PM

Whoever came up with the idea that home usage will work with bundles should be sacked. Clueless!
watesh
#131 Posted : Thursday, July 02, 2015 9:16:46 PM

Hahaha Safaricom think they can introduce bundles and wireless net in a business area that needs physical fiber optic. Their networks are already congested sasa adding this is more strain to the cell towers
kaption
#132 Posted : Thursday, July 02, 2015 10:52:38 PM

Purchasing the ''BigBox'' will go down as my biggest mistake for the year 2015. I dont think I'll ever trust safaricom again. My expectation was that safaricom would deliver a very superior product both in terms of hardware and content. The pricing duped most of us to believe that for real this was in deed some next generation product. It was not until reality hit and I realised that Safaricom had in deed used its dominance to con us by delivering a cheap chinese set top box that overheats, keeps going off and has very poor network reception even in areas not known to have any network problems.
I now know the impact of a dominant player both on consumers and on competition.
#133 Posted : Friday, July 03, 2015 1:17:53 AM

kaption wrote:
Purchasing the ''BigBox'' will go down as my biggest mistake for the year 2015. I dont think I'll ever trust safaricom again. My expectation was that safaricom would deliver a very superior product both in terms of hardware and content. The pricing duped most of us to believe that for real this was in deed some next generation product. It was not until reality hit and I realised that Safaricom had in deed used its dominance to con us by delivering a cheap chinese set top box that overheats, keeps going off and has very poor network reception even in areas not known to have any network problems.
I now know the impact of a dominant player both on consumers and on competition.

Why not take it back, get your money back or get another device all together. Kwani.....you need to know your rights as a consumer
#134 Posted : Friday, July 03, 2015 7:01:29 AM

I think I said it would flop here.

Safcom data is expensive with no justification whatsoever. In other countries, when data provision is becoming cheaper at safcom, its becoming more expensive.

The good thing is that the animal has started eating itself. After shocking the post paid clients with their new policies, ALL and I mean ALL the guys I knew who were on post paid have moved to airtel.

Next its their sim cards. I no longer use their line only for receiving mpesa then moving it to my equeteee.

Watch this space again.

Safcom must drop their prices or will be eaten alive by airtel. Hata wakiiba the airtel geniuses.
#135 Posted : Friday, July 03, 2015 7:36:45 AM

I think I said it would flop here.

Safcom data is expensive with no justification whatsoever. In other countries, when data provision is becoming cheaper at safcom, its becoming more expensive.

The good thing is that the animal has started eating itself. After shocking the post paid clients with their new policies, ALL and I mean ALL the guys I knew who were on post paid have moved to airtel.

Next its their sim cards. I no longer use their line only for receiving mpesa then moving it to my equeteee.

Watch this space again.

Safcom must drop their prices or will be eaten alive by airtel. Hata wakiiba the airtel geniuses.

Same song since 2008
geofreygachie
#136 Posted : Monday, July 13, 2015 1:15:51 PM

muganda wrote:
Overwhelmed?

I am enjoying my monthly 6 GB plan .I have been on 3G+ signal and I cant complain .I am able to have FTA TV and internet on one package.
Divers - can you laugh in scuba gear, or will you drown? I was wondering. - James May.
Nandwa
#137 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2015 9:29:36 AM

geofreygachie wrote:
muganda wrote:
Overwhelmed?

I am enjoying my monthly 6 GB plan .I have been on 3G+ signal and I cant complain .I am able to have FTA TV and internet on one package.

We appreciate your review and sharing of info from a first hand experience perspective. We assume that you arent tied to safcom in any other way that would influence your take on tbe matter.
Could you please provide your perspective in view of the unflaterring comments and points raised by fellow users - @Mike Ock and kaption
Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
geofreygachie
#138 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2015 10:03:36 AM

Nandwa wrote:
geofreygachie wrote:
muganda wrote:
Overwhelmed?

We appreciate your review and sharing of info from a first hand experience perspective. We assume that you arent tied to safcom in any other way that would influence your take on tbe matter.
Could you please provide your perspective in view of the unflaterring comments and points raised by fellow users - @Mike Ock and kaption

@Nandwa.I like trying out gadgets that are within my financial reach.Initially I had a Samsutech FTA but I had the limitation of not being able to stream internet content.When Safaricom announced the box I decided to try it out.This is my 2nd month with the box and its only the first month when I had connectivity and heating issues but one day I got an update notification and I did the OTA update which fixed the issues.
Right now I am using a combo of Huawei B270b with the sim that was in ..... And this gives me the best connection I have ever had.This is because the Huawei has an external aerial connection.My silly maths are I bought a box at Ksh 4000 + 6 GB for six months totalling to 10k.
By the way i don't represent Safaricom by all means.For calls i use unliminet,mpesa for mobile payments.
#139 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2015 10:13:26 AM

geofreygachie wrote:
Nandwa wrote:
geofreygachie wrote:
muganda wrote:
Overwhelmed?

@Nandwa.I like trying out gadgets that are within my financial reach.Initially I had a Samsutech FTA but I had the limitation of not being able to stream internet content.When Safaricom announced the box I decided to try it out.This is my 2nd month with the box and its only the first month when I had connectivity and heating issues but one day I got an update notification and I did the OTA update which fixed the issues.
Right now I am using a combo of Huawei B270b with the sim that was in ..... And this gives me the best connection I have ever had.This is because the Huawei has an external aerial connection.My silly maths are I bought a box at Ksh 4000 + 6 GB for six months totalling to 10k.
By the way i don't represent Safaricom by all means.For calls i use unliminet,mpesa for mobile payments.

So you're not using the box, but just the sim for data?
#140 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2015 10:37:59 AM

geofreygachie wrote:
Nandwa wrote:
geofreygachie wrote:
muganda wrote:
Overwhelmed?

Interesting, lakini why are you using the Huawei modem and yet you have the big box, I thought the thing had connectivity mechinisms - ama you are only using the bigbox for tv, then the Huawei modem for internet.

is the 6gb for 6 months ama 6gb per month.