wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

Centum impressive FY 2015 profit before tax up 120%
Realtreaty
#21 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2015 12:08:56 AM

When I said money will be made to answer the dollar -Billionaire some of us threw gun powder on my open eyes. Sasa mmeona pesa imeundwa?
Realtreaty
#22 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2015 12:19:03 AM

Laughing out loudly ...the "Dollar Billionaire " as I put it earlierLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Some of us threw gun powder into my eyes. Pesa imeundwa..mingiii!!!!
enyands
#23 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2015 3:22:45 AM

Realtreaty wrote:
When I said money will be made to answer the dollar -Billionaire some of us threw gun powder on my open eyes. Sasa mmeona pesa imeundwa?

meaning watu wanatumiwa to make someone a Billionaire whereas they get nothing ama unamaanisha nini kakangu
Realtreaty
#24 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2015 11:14:30 AM

smile smile smile You have said it yourself!!!!
enyands wrote:
Realtreaty wrote:

meaning watu wanatumiwa to make someone a Billionaire whereas they get nothing ama unamaanisha nini kakangu

enyands
#25 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2015 11:26:29 AM

Realtreaty wrote:
smile smile smile You have said it yourself!!!!
enyands wrote:
Realtreaty wrote:

I think one time you mentioned about a bonus coming . Anyway let patience prevail please
streetwise
#26 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2015 12:18:34 PM

Ati pesa Imeundwa wapi ? . It is just like the Gova econimc growth , the peasant never seems to notice
#27 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2015 12:55:49 PM

streetwise wrote:
Ati pesa Imeundwa wapi ? . It is just like the Gova econimc growth , the peasant never seems to notice

Aguytrying
#28 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2015 2:38:31 PM

Ericsson wrote:

Plus being part of the 30% local shareholding through proxy working with the Chinese firms winning contracts all over the place. Being $b involves seedy & shoddy dealings. Crook....ed!!!

Hata odeyo ya wanjiku yawa!!!

When told to bring your contribution as part of the consortium unasema ntaleta debt and funds za pension schemes as if they are willing to fund the venture.
Hii imeshinda crooked crook.
Lamu coal power plant will be like capital gains tax or Konza city DOA

One of the truest, simplest gestures of a faithful management and a healthy company, Is a DIVIDEND. For eg. Uchumi now struggling to pay a dividend. We cant trust a management like Jesus that they are using our money wisely. The dividend confirms that there is still a company left at the very least.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
mkonomtupu
#29 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2015 3:00:23 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Plus being part of the 30% local shareholding through proxy working with the Chinese firms winning contracts all over the place. Being $b involves seedy & shoddy dealings. Crook....ed!!!

When told to bring your contribution as part of the consortium unasema ntaleta debt and funds za pension schemes as if they are willing to fund the venture.

One of the truest, simplest gestures of a faithful management and a healthy company, Is a DIVIDEND. For eg. Uchumi now struggling to pay a dividend. We cant trust a management like Jesus that they are using our money wisely. The dividend confirms that there is still a company left at the very least.

Applause Applause Applause Ever so true once management keeps retaining your dividends they will make one big gamble with it
streetwise
#30 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2015 3:41:56 PM

And to add who plants a fruit tree that will never bear fruit ?.
Afroblk
#31 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2015 4:38:49 PM

Ericsson wrote:
http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Corporate-News/Centum-profit-jumps-to-Sh7-9bn-on-sale-of-UAP/-/539550/2755584/-/yrnm6u/-/index.html

Just like I said;profits are now being propped up by asset sales.
Yet the company still has negative cash flow;do I see another Uchumi in the making.
In the investing world;cashflow is a very important determinant in the stability of a company.
Some of those projects being mentioned I doubt whether the company has the necessary capital to undertake;this is a brokerage company in the making;no wonder shareholders get nothing in return

I see Centum as the next African Berkshire Hathaway within a decade.
Knowledge is contagious...Infect truth!
#32 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2015 6:23:09 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Berkshire Hathaway. No dividend.
Olympia Capital. 10 cents dividend.
Aguytrying
#33 Posted : Saturday, June 20, 2015 10:30:48 AM

Aguytrying wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

I knew Berkshire would be dragged into this. Given their track record and major shareholder's performance history makes it unique.

The question is if centum can perform and be as faithful to shareholders in the coming years, a question that can only be answered in the future.
Olympia is a monkey to begin with.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#34 Posted : Sunday, June 21, 2015 1:44:56 AM

Aguytrying wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

I knew Berkshire would be dragged into this. Given their track record and major shareholder's performance history makes it unique.

The question is if centum can perform and be as faithful to shareholders in the coming years, a question that can only be answered in the future.
Olympia is a monkey to begin with.

KQ used to pay a dividend too.
As did Uchumi even post-Rights.
Mumias did too.
Boris Boyka
#35 Posted : Sunday, June 21, 2015 10:06:22 AM

@VVS..the economics of kenya are just unexplainable...Centum can crush to 10/- anytime within a few months. Can Berkshire do that? For Kenyan firms..You MUST get dvdnds as part of your benefits awaiting capital gain/loss. Steady Dvdnds here is an indicator of steady cash flow. Much as values of stocks world over may drop....Berkshire its gradual and signs come plus there is always an assurance of rising again. In kenya no no no no...I know you have been in the market long enough and seen the miracles of kenyan stocks valuations and prices.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#36 Posted : Sunday, June 21, 2015 3:33:29 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
@VVS..the economics of kenya are just unexplainable...Centum can crush to 10/- anytime within a few months. Can Berkshire do that? For Kenyan firms..You MUST get dvdnds as part of your benefits awaiting capital gain/loss. Steady Dvdnds here is an indicator of steady cash flow. Much as values of stocks world over may drop....Berkshire its gradual and signs come plus there is always an assurance of rising again. In kenya no no no no...I know you have been in the market long enough and seen the miracles of kenyan stocks valuations and prices.

Here is my take [much better explained by Warren Buffett among others]

Buffett's advice is this. If you want income from Berkshire, simply sell a small portion of your stock holdings every year. By doing so, you can put cash in your account when you need it.

Read more: http://www.nasdaq.com/ar...-cm262834#ixzz3dhcTNLu5

1) Look at the portfolio holistically not in terms of number of shares but value
2) Determine how much Dividend Yield* you want. In KE, it ranges from 2-5% for most firms so let's take 5% [on the higher end].
3) Sell down 5% of your stake's value annually. This would be the same as a 5% dividend. The sales may be staggered to get an average realization.
4) As long as Centum [or any firm] continues growing its profits [& the price increases by +5%] you will be OK.

Let's use numbers:

10,000 Centum at 50 = 500,000/-
5% Dividend Yield = 500,000 x 5% = 25,000/-
Sell 500 Centum at 50 = 25,000/-
Next year, you need Centum at 52.63 (just north of 5%]
52.63 x (10,000-500) = 500,000

If Centum was to rise to 60/- then 9,500 x 60 = 570,000
You only need to sell 475 shares at 60 to get 5% Dividend Yield.

If Centum were to fall to 45/- then you need to sell more than 500 shares.

If Centum cannot make at least 12% [post-tax] on the retained earnings then you should demand a dividend & put the cash into a IFB. I believe Warren Buffett's goal is a long-term average of 15% ROE.

An alternate is for Centum to issue 1:10 bonuses very 2 years which you can sell for the 5% per year 'dividend' though sales do have costs for the shareholders.

* Williamson Tea is at an astonishing 10% this year [40/- on a share price of 400/- after the announcement]. Pre-announcement 12%. In 2015-16, if rains hold up, tea prices remain high & a weak KES = great cash profits in 2015-16. Is another mega dividend possible?

DTB pays 2% but have great Capital Gains over the past few years.
I&M paid 2.5% [less than 30% payout] but isn't likely to ask for a Rights Issue until 2017. The profits are growing nicely & adding to the NAV.
BAT has a 100% dividend payout [DPS/EPS] since it is a cash machine that can easily finance expansion through profits & loans.

http://www.morningstar.c...eocenter.aspx?id=638300

http://www.forbes.com/si...ever-tax-free-dividend/ [Not possible in Kenya]
heri
#37 Posted : Thursday, August 20, 2015 11:53:00 AM

Ericsson wrote:
http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Corporate-News/Centum-profit-jumps-to-Sh7-9bn-on-sale-of-UAP/-/539550/2755584/-/yrnm6u/-/index.html

Just like I said;profits are now being propped up by asset sales.
Yet the company still has negative cash flow;do I see another Uchumi in the making.
In the investing world;cashflow is a very important determinant in the stability of a company.
Some of those projects being mentioned I doubt whether the company has the necessary capital to undertake;this is a brokerage company in the making;no wonder shareholders get nothing in return

@Ericsson, i am looking at Centum to decide whether to buy or not.

From their investor briefing presentation ( am yet to look at the full set of financials), how did you get the negative cashflows?
Ericsson
#38 Posted : Thursday, August 20, 2015 12:05:10 PM

Investor presentation that was being done when announcing full year results
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
heri
#39 Posted : Thursday, August 20, 2015 12:23:11 PM

#40 Posted : Thursday, August 20, 2015 1:31:40 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:

Here is my take [much better explained by Warren Buffett among others]

Buffett's advice is this. If you want income from Berkshire, simply sell a small portion of your stock holdings every year. By doing so, you can put cash in your account when you need it.

Read more: http://www.nasdaq.com/ar...-cm262834#ixzz3dhcTNLu5

1) Look at the portfolio holistically not in terms of number of shares but value
2) Determine how much Dividend Yield* you want. In KE, it ranges from 2-5% for most firms so let's take 5% [on the higher end].
3) Sell down 5% of your stake's value annually. This would be the same as a 5% dividend. The sales may be staggered to get an average realization.
4) As long as Centum [or any firm] continues growing its profits [& the price increases by +5%] you will be OK.

Let's use numbers:

10,000 Centum at 50 = 500,000/-
5% Dividend Yield = 500,000 x 5% = 25,000/-
Sell 500 Centum at 50 = 25,000/-
Next year, you need Centum at 52.63 (just north of 5%]
52.63 x (10,000-500) = 500,000

If Centum was to rise to 60/- then 9,500 x 60 = 570,000
You only need to sell 475 shares at 60 to get 5% Dividend Yield.

If Centum were to fall to 45/- then you need to sell more than 500 shares.

If Centum cannot make at least 12% [post-tax] on the retained earnings then you should demand a dividend & put the cash into a IFB. I believe Warren Buffett's goal is a long-term average of 15% ROE.

An alternate is for Centum to issue 1:10 bonuses very 2 years which you can sell for the 5% per year 'dividend' though sales do have costs for the shareholders.

* Williamson Tea is at an astonishing 10% this year [40/- on a share price of 400/- after the announcement]. Pre-announcement 12%. In 2015-16, if rains hold up, tea prices remain high & a weak KES = great cash profits in 2015-16. Is another mega dividend possible?

DTB pays 2% but have great Capital Gains over the past few years.
I&M paid 2.5% [less than 30% payout] but isn't likely to ask for a Rights Issue until 2017. The profits are growing nicely & adding to the NAV.
BAT has a 100% dividend payout [DPS/EPS] since it is a cash machine that can easily finance expansion through profits & loans.

http://www.morningstar.c...eocenter.aspx?id=638300

http://www.forbes.com/si...ever-tax-free-dividend/ [Not possible in Kenya]

Centum is run by very young, bright, bold and ambitious people BUT i am afraid even they might bite more than they can swallow.

There was a time that Centum was 30% of my portfolio (Average purchase 14-17, offloaded 35-40). At any price above 50, i wouldn't have more than 20% in my portfolio.