wazua Wed, Dec 25, 2024

Landlords of Wazua and compliance with KRA
xtina
#1 Posted : Monday, June 15, 2015 4:37:49 PM

Please advise on the above. It's a four-floor flat, income is approximately 300k a month and minus deductions (security, water) it comes to approx. Kshs 270,000 per month.

What is needed/should be done to ensure compliance with KRA?
Sevian
#2 Posted : Monday, June 15, 2015 4:48:11 PM

xtina wrote:
Please advise on the above. It's a four-floor flat, income is approximately 300k a month and minus deductions (security, water) it comes to approx. Kshs 270,000 per month.

Declare gross and calculate 12% of gross. Before costs/expenses
innovator
#3 Posted : Monday, June 15, 2015 4:54:51 PM

Sevian wrote:
xtina wrote:

300,000*0.12=36,000 and enjoy your sleep.
This time KRA is going to make kill considering most building in Nairobi have been surveyed.
kangi
#4 Posted : Monday, June 15, 2015 5:09:58 PM

innovator wrote:
Sevian wrote:
xtina wrote:

This time KRA is going to make kill considering most building in Nairobi have been surveyed.

This is on a monthly basis. I think you should also consider paying advance tax as it will exceed Kshs. 40,000 p.a.
Accept no one's definition of your life; define your life.
moneydust
#5 Posted : Monday, June 15, 2015 5:28:06 PM

Sevian wrote:
xtina wrote:

Has the new tax come into effect???
I thought it has to wait for the MPs approval
watesh
#6 Posted : Monday, June 15, 2015 6:39:54 PM

moneydust wrote:
Sevian wrote:
xtina wrote:

Has the new tax come into effect???
I thought it has to wait for the MPs approval

Yeah MPs have to approve first
#7 Posted : Monday, June 15, 2015 6:47:38 PM

Sad Sad
Tbags
#8 Posted : Monday, June 15, 2015 6:59:09 PM

In other words you have to pay KRA even before you pay yourself..NKT!
#9 Posted : Monday, June 15, 2015 7:10:32 PM

Tbags wrote:

limanika
#10 Posted : Monday, June 15, 2015 9:41:19 PM

Tbags wrote:

.. and if you are employed, you work for KRA the first 2 weeks every month, coz you end up paying about 50percent of your salary in taxes directly or indirectly
gmg
#11 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2015 8:00:26 AM

In other words one month gross rent belongs to KRA.
#12 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2015 8:05:35 AM

Will MPigs pass this one given most of them kula rent?
xtina
#13 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2015 8:53:47 AM

kangi wrote:
innovator wrote:
Sevian wrote:
xtina wrote:

This is on a monthly basis. I think you should also consider paying advance tax as it will exceed Kshs. 40,000 p.a.

what do you mean?
xtina
#14 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2015 8:56:28 AM

Tbags wrote:

Also don't like it but it's not good to be on the wrong side of those KRA f***ers.
jerry
#15 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2015 8:58:20 AM

Not all have rentals and they are beneficiaries of same taxes. IMO they'll pass.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
xtina
#16 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2015 8:59:57 AM

innovator wrote:
Sevian wrote:
xtina wrote:

It's actually in Kiambu county (kahawa sukari) but same difference. Gross of month or groo of year? Anyway, will wait and see if MPs will pass it.
#17 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2015 9:20:43 AM

jerry wrote:

Not all have rentals and they are beneficiaries of same taxes. IMO they'll pass.

I concur this will go through...
#18 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2015 12:58:41 PM

This is PURE HIGHWAY ROBBERY!!! Most rentals (especially residential) don't even have an ROI of 12% and now KRA wants 12% of gross??? Pure Theft!!!

Most landlords don't even make anything for years and some have to even add more more from their pocket to service the loan and the government expects them to part with 12% of gross??? Technically some landlords will be forced to pay the taxes out of their pocket - if their houses are in areas they cannot increase rents [due to over supply (high end apartments), overstretched tenants (low end rentals), haki yetu crowd (low end) etc.]

For the rest (Most Wazuans who don't own homes are here) one thing will happen. The rent will be increased. By 20% plus. Mark my words!!! You can also ask wazua landlords - akina Thimioni! You can see how quiet they are.

This is not a burden to (most) landlords. It is a burden to you! The same fellow who parts with 50% of his income in direct and indirect taxes is about to part with some more. The landlord will pass the tax to you (unless you are in the categories mentioned earlier). The same way the Fuel companies, EABL, safaricom etc. pass the tax to you, hata hii is on you.

Some keep celebrating. Ati let the landlords pay taxes like the rest of us. Landlord gani??? Wewe ndio utailipa pap!!!
#19 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2015 1:00:30 PM

This tax should be 5% of gross max! And even that is still high!!
#20 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2015 1:10:55 PM

jerry wrote:

I concur this will go through...

MPigs are mercenaries for hire!!! A bill increasing some allowances somewhere or giving some funny grant to go along with this bill is enough!!!

Anyone who passes a VAT bill on medicine and medical equipment in a country where people die of preventable and curable diseases every day could even sell their mother at the right price!!!

Bill passing at the right price. Bei ya jioni.