This is PURE HIGHWAY ROBBERY!!! Most rentals (especially residential) don't even have an ROI of 12% and now KRA wants 12% of gross??? Pure Theft!!!
Most landlords don't even make anything for years and some have to even add more more from their pocket to service the loan and the government expects them to part with 12% of gross??? Technically some landlords will be forced to pay the taxes out of their pocket - if their houses are in areas they cannot increase rents [due to over supply (high end apartments), overstretched tenants (low end rentals), haki yetu crowd (low end) etc.]
For the rest (Most Wazuans who don't own homes are here) one thing will happen. The rent will be increased. By 20% plus. Mark my words!!! You can also ask wazua landlords - akina Thimioni! You can see how quiet they are.
This is not a burden to (most) landlords. It is a burden to you! The same fellow who parts with 50% of his income in direct and indirect taxes is about to part with some more. The landlord will pass the tax to you (unless you are in the categories mentioned earlier). The same way the Fuel companies, EABL, safaricom etc. pass the tax to you, hata hii is on you.
Some keep celebrating. Ati let the landlords pay taxes like the rest of us. Landlord gani??? Wewe ndio utailipa pap!!!