wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

5 Pages<1234>»
Uchumi HY 2015 results - firmly in loss territory
Aguytrying
#21 Posted : Wednesday, February 25, 2015 12:41:24 PM

Fetero wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:
Uchumi and KQ are veeery similar. They report a small profit signalling recovery suck in sheep/Wanjiku and call for more cash only later report a huuuugeeee loss. Uchumi kq mumias kengen : These are "private developers" eating highways. Take money from them ,losses reported,they authorise gvt bailout and pump un cash. They milk again involving a few shareholders. One has to be a trader to get something here...no investing hapa.

Wah! I beg to support your views. These stocks only bend or rise if the one paying the tune is from above. They can surely be Eating schemes!Liar Liar

I'm glad more people see these gv firms for what they really are! only the shareholders in the know will ever benefit in the rise and falls.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
HaMaina
#22 Posted : Wednesday, February 25, 2015 3:01:46 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
Fetero wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:
Uchumi and KQ are veeery similar. They report a small profit signalling recovery suck in sheep/Wanjiku and call for more cash only later report a huuuugeeee loss. Uchumi kq mumias kengen : These are "private developers" eating highways. Take money from them ,losses reported,they authorise gvt bailout and pump un cash. They milk again involving a few shareholders. One has to be a trader to get something here...no investing hapa.

Wah! I beg to support your views. These stocks only bend or rise if the one paying the tune is from above. They can surely be Eating schemes!Liar Liar

I'm glad more people see these gv firms for what they really are! only the shareholders in the know will ever benefit in the rise and falls.

price of expensive bank loans blah, blah, blah, you should have known other peoples money is not free. At least am not on this ship deep enough to be a main feature on the menu, unlike mumias where am the special offer, this year has started with sadness, sorrow and a cold one to wash them down for me. Lakini moja baridi ni lazima kuwe furaha ama huzuni.

http://www.businessdaily...8/-/exoijt/-/index.html
“You can get in way more trouble with a good idea than a bad idea, because you forget that the good idea has limits.” - Ben Graham
mazingira
#23 Posted : Wednesday, February 25, 2015 4:01:00 PM

Draw parallels between mumias and uchumi this one will need a second bailout . i am OUT even at a loss ill be selling coz they have nothing on the likes of Nakumatt now if Nakumatt ever listed im in. But uchumi bye bye never again. KQ service is at least decent and the new terminal is wow , please maintain it , ive got to see their 1st class lounges. Fuel drop and one sale of land should help KQ but DUMP UCHUMI
Cde Monomotapa
#24 Posted : Wednesday, February 25, 2015 10:30:42 PM

Looking at Uchumi's stock of debt on the balance sheet as at Full Year 2013/14 and H1 2014/15, It reduced by 463M (1,446B-983M) or -32%

If the same can be replicated in H2 by the absolute figure of 463M, then the stock of debt reduces to 520M or -64% YoY

On the cash flow, Uchumi generated 233M in H1 from (4,707M). Excellent turnaround there.

To reduce the debt stock further then Uchumi can continue to combine cash flow, sale of owned plant & equipment especially now that new fittings are on lease finance!

The 2.2B in Investment Property should stay. It can be leveraged on a rainy day or opportunity.

Indeed, Uchumi needs to work on sales. Short term targets for the Income Statement can be simple math; 3 or 4 entries of 250M each and voila!! 488M or 738M PBT.

Hao Carrefour, sijui Carey Francis, #AskTRM

Cde Monomotapa
#25 Posted : Wednesday, February 25, 2015 10:58:18 PM

@mazingara, you're on to something on KQ, however, there is a plane approved for sale instead. Also, EPAs have been signed continent wide, so it's on KQ to allocate itself cargo for those wide bodies to & fro the EU.
Cde Monomotapa
#26 Posted : Thursday, February 26, 2015 11:45:59 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
@mazingara, you're on to something on KQ, however, there is a plane approved for sale instead. Also, EPAs have been signed continent wide, so it's on KQ to allocate itself cargo for those wide bodies to & fro the EU.

Qantas are now beyond zero, after 4 years: Fuel
to bring even better H2 www.cnbc.com/id/102456916
#27 Posted : Thursday, February 26, 2015 9:05:05 PM

I am glad I sat out this Rights Issue. How many read the IM? The "Investment Property" has 3 cases filed by squatters and unless they are removed, nothing can happen on the land.

And the Investment Property is the largest chunk of 'real assets' that Uchumi has!

Were these accounts qualified?
mkonomtupu
#28 Posted : Friday, February 27, 2015 12:36:38 PM

JBB together with Goodwill Ltd, an affiliate firm, now hold 15.19 per cent shares with the government owning 14.67 per cent.Sources close to the deal said JBB and other large shareholders are eyeing board positions to give them the ability to implement new growth strategies for Kenya’s oldest chain which has been struggling in an increasingly competitive market.

JBB chief executive Samuel Kimani confirmed the bank’s inroads at Uchumi but declined to give further information on the strategy going forward. “We have bought shares in Uchumi but I cannot give more details because it is a listed company,” Mr Kimani told the Business Daily.

Applause Applause you got to know when to hold them....
madebe
#29 Posted : Friday, February 27, 2015 5:27:15 PM

did they pay the dividend...i have been waiting na sionikwa bank......
the deal
#30 Posted : Saturday, February 28, 2015 3:55:25 PM

Uchumi just needs to improve its sales per store ratio then things will be fine. As of now the trend in that ratio is pointing south despite opening new stores. This can be done by better site identification and improving customer service. I will never buy Uchumi shares unless I see a reversal in that ratio.

As for Mumias any turnaround will depend on easing of the current global sugar glut. Right now sugar futures are trading at 5 year lows...expect more cheap sugar to be dumped in Kenya.
Mucene
#31 Posted : Saturday, February 28, 2015 10:34:37 PM

Jamii Bora now the major shareholder

How will the new shareholding structure affect this share?
Should we expect Jamii Bora to bring sanity to a board out of ideas?Pray Pray
If you don't want to go to plan B have a good plan A.
madebe
#32 Posted : Friday, March 06, 2015 3:19:51 PM

Hi all. if you read the post no 1,, uchumi had started paying the declared dividends to some people,,,,have they paid other people??? i have not receive my dividends
#33 Posted : Monday, March 16, 2015 11:19:55 AM

http://www.monitor.co.ug.../-/taw77pz/-/index.html

But are these guys serious? Shame on you

What are they feeding people?
Cde Monomotapa
#34 Posted : Monday, March 16, 2015 11:40:51 AM

guru267 wrote:
http://www.monitor.co.ug/News/National/KCCA-shuts-Uchumi-food-poor-hygiene/-/688334/2651368/-/taw77pz/-/index.html

A difference was made the following day... A speedy response to a city wide concern.

Uchumi fast food court back in business http://www.newvision.co....d&utm_medium=twitter
#35 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2015 6:56:00 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
guru267 wrote:

A difference was made the following day... A speedy response to a city wide concern.

Uchumi fast food court back in business http://www.newvision.co....&utm_medium=twitter

This doesn't explain why they had to be closed in the first place nor does it replace the lost business from the customers who were disgusted by this
Pesa Nane
#36 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2015 9:32:03 AM

guru267 wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Uchumi fast food court back in business http://www.newvision.co....&utm_medium=twitter

This doesn't explain why they had to be closed in the first place nor does it replace the lost business from the customers who were disgusted by this nor does it help with the battered NaiAviationColle reputation.

Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
mkonomtupu
#37 Posted : Tuesday, May 12, 2015 10:23:57 AM

Uchumi rallied +1.86% to close at 10.95 and was trading at 11.00 +2.33% at the finish. Someone has swept up all the sell-side supply up to 11.00 over the last two trading sessions. - See more at: http://www.the-star.co.k...se#sthash.YtD8Kxm9.dpuf
madebe
#38 Posted : Saturday, June 13, 2015 10:21:31 AM

madebe wrote:

In today DN page6 uchumi purport to have paid dividends from 20/4/15 how come I've not seen it via ext? Can someone who has received it hola here or we get the CMA contacts for follow up
Cde Monomotapa
#39 Posted : Saturday, June 13, 2015 10:41:33 AM

madebe wrote:

In today DN page6 uchumi purport to have paid dividends from 20/4/15 how come I've not seen it via ext? Can someone who has received it hola here or we get the CMA contacts for follow up

Check SLP
madebe
#40 Posted : Saturday, June 13, 2015 1:28:11 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
madebe wrote:

In today DN page6 uchumi purport to have paid dividends from 20/4/15 how come I've not seen it via EFT? Can someone who has received it hola here or we get the CMA contacts for follow up

Check SLP

Have you received cde? I was in the SLP jana but did not see anything...and why not pay as EFT?