#41 Posted : Wednesday, June 10, 2015 3:19:04 PM

Fyatu wrote:
bengraham wrote:
moneydust wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
moneydust wrote:
ike wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:
@bengraham...Very Many wazuans are just SPECULATORS disguised in the mouth skin of "am a long term investor". Buree kabisa.

I don't think it really matters which label one chooses to wear when investing... because one calls himself a long term investor and makes loses, another is called a speculator and makes profit.... its all about being on the money.

Well put ...no point in holding a share ad infinitum and see it rise and fall back to its initial position in a number of years in the name of long term investing.What would be the benefit in that??
Unless you have a controlling interest..there can be no upside to such a strategy..
In my case I take my longterm to be a series of shortterms.I therefore evaluate a share's peformance and outlook within 6months to one and half year period and invest accordingly.
This has worked well for me ensuring that year on year my networth increases

What you do has a name. its called speculating.

I beg to differ..Am a longterm investor who is wise to the fact that shares do not always have an upward trajectory no matter how good a share is..so why not benefit from the cycles??
For instance I bought CFC at 65,sold at 130..currently it is at 103 I still think its a great share for the future, however for now, one is better watching from the sidelines..
The most successful investors are those who are able to use technical and fundamental analysis efficiently because the two feed on each other

@moneydust. No doubt one can make a tidy sum every so often by timing the market. But anyone quoting how well they did on one stock may need to be careful not to suffer from survivorship bias where one is happy to quote the winners and conveniently forget the losers. But back to original point of the post, a new investor coming to wazua may think investing is an arcane art known only to a few who know how to time exactly the points of embarkation and disembarking popularly known here as boarding the bus. It is these investors who need to be assured that buying shares in a solid company (one that has a good product, good earnings history, good future prospects and a competitive advantage in the market) and holding for a long long time (even through severe dips) is a time tested way of succeeding in the stock markets.

I think this would be a great time to introduce long termers to the wonderful story of Quincy, the town of Coca Cola millionares. A valid case for buy and hold investing. Rink below

Quincy, Florida, a Town of Coca-Cola Millionaires

The Quincy case study is the right jab for my malaria (remember the chlorine jab for malaria of yester years...it was one on the nyungu and the nurse told you to lala kidogo zishuke shuke...but i digress).

I'm scratching my head trying to contextualize the quincy case to the current NSE. The only companys i can equate coca cola of the 20's and 30's is Safcom, Unga, and technically Centum (i'm not pitching just trying to be factual). No matter how hard life is, a Kenyan will still spare 10 bob for that bamba ten or even Okoa jahazi for 20 bob etc.....people will still Ugali no matter what and chapos during festive etc).

What can you equate coca cola to in Kenya 2015 @bengraham?

i like this. i have never thought of Unga in this way
#42 Posted : Wednesday, June 10, 2015 4:48:02 PM

moneydust wrote:
ike wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:
@bengraham...Very Many wazuans are just SPECULATORS disguised in the mouth skin of "am a long term investor". Buree kabisa.

I don't think it really matters which label one chooses to wear when investing... because one calls himself a long term investor and makes loses, another is called a speculator and makes profit.... its all about being on the money.

Well put ...no point in holding a share ad infinitum and see it rise and fall back to its initial position in a number of years in the name of long term investing.What would be the benefit in that??
Unless you have a controlling interest..there can be no upside to such a strategy..
In my case I take my longterm to be a series of shortterms.I therefore evaluate a share's peformance and outlook within 6months to one and half year period and invest accordingly.

That is speculation. An investor shouldn't really care about how high and how low the stock will be tomorrow as long as the fundamentals are right. Infact low points are times to load more.
#43 Posted : Wednesday, June 10, 2015 6:27:06 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
mkonomtupu wrote:
ike wrote:
bengraham wrote:
Some of you may know Fidelity Investments which is an American multinational financial services corporation. It is one of the largest mutual fund and financial services groups in the world and manages a large family of mutual funds, provides fund distribution and investment advice services, as well as providing discount brokerage services, retirement services, wealth management, securities execution and clearance, life insurance and a number of other services.

Recently, an internal performance review of Fidelity accounts was conducted to determine which type of investors received the best returns between 2003 and 2013. The customer account audit revealed that the best investors were either dead or inactive—the people who switched jobs and “forgot” about an old account leaving the current options in place, or the people who died and the assets were frozen while the estate handled the assets.

Perhaps there lies a lesson here for those who believe in constant boarding and disembarking of buses at every stage. It may be more exciting and may keep you very busy but you could probably do better to just sit on your hands and do nothing. Am not going to go so far as to suggest that you die for the sake of higher returns though.

Laziness disguises itself in many ways and 'long term' is one of its many justifications. From their research it may be true that between 2003 and 2013 people made money but what about 2003-2007? Imagine a long termer who bought the tech stocks before the bubble and held them till the bubble burst....of course a speculator is in it long term too, only making a few adjustments

Applause Applause Applause True

Even the original Prof. Ben Graham did not say you stay in the market and get burnt. He said an investor should be 50% bonds and 50% equity and keep re-adjusting the portfolio when either gets overheated.

"We recommend that the investor divide his holdings between high-grade bonds and leading common stocks; that the proportion held in bonds be never less than 25% or more than 75% with the converse being necessarily true for the common-stock component."
(1) When the stock market is low and undervalued, hold 25% bonds and 75% stocks.

(2) When the stock market is high and overvalued, hold 75% bonds and 25% stocks. When the stock market begins to go from being undervalued to overvalued, gradually reduce your stock portion and buy more bonds or bond funds

True that was Ben grahams teaching. however Buffet perfected his masters philosophy, modified it to buy and hold forever.

He doesn't hold all stocks forever. He sells when the fundamentals change. He sold the petrochina when oil was at its peak. He sold Exon Mobil when oil slumped. He sold TESCO which he claimed was a big mistake.

BTW, when one talks/discusses 'speculation/trading' vs 'buy & hold' ... the latter is not forever but can change based on circumstances.

1) If the firm is under-performing and the (long-term) investor cannot see a future e.g. TESCO or even Berkshire Hathaway [the Mill] as WB reminds us.

2) There is a better opportunity and WB has done this many times. He will sell out a stake in a listed firm [less so unlisted firms] if the prospects of the 'replacement' are much better in the LONG-TERM. Think airlines & his investment in US Airways.

3) If he is not happy with the management or industry. Divesting from underperforming unlisted firms is something WB doesn't do often & that he agrees it is a weakness but even his under-performers are generally profitable!

Ultimately, WB wants to meet or beat the 15% annual return but this is not getting any easier as the total portfolio grows.
#44 Posted : Wednesday, June 10, 2015 6:31:23 PM

bengraham wrote:
moneydust wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
moneydust wrote:
ike wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:

I beg to differ..Am a longterm investor who is wise to the fact that shares do not always have an upward trajectory no matter how good a share is..so why not benefit from the cycles??
For instance I bought CFC at 65,sold at 130..currently it is at 103 I still think its a great share for the future, however for now, one is better watching from the sidelines..
The most successful investors are those who are able to use technical and fundamental analysis efficiently because the two feed on each other

@moneydust. No doubt one can make a tidy sum every so often by timing the market. But anyone quoting how well they did on one stock may need to be careful not to suffer from survivorship bias where one is happy to quote the winners and conveniently forget the losers. But back to original point of the post, a new investor coming to wazua may think investing is an arcane art known only to a few who know how to time exactly the points of embarkation and disembarking popularly known here as boarding the bus. It is these investors who need to be assured that buying shares in a solid company (one that has a good product, good earnings history, good future prospects and a competitive advantage in the market) and holding for a long long time (even through severe dips) is a time tested way of succeeding in the stock markets.

I think this would be a great time to introduce long termers to the wonderful story of Quincy, the town of Coca Cola millionares. A valid case for buy and hold investing. Rink below

There's a village in Muranga that is in (or almost) the same league but in KES. Which entity do you think made them wealthy?
Gatheuzi
#45 Posted : Wednesday, June 10, 2015 8:08:26 PM

bengraham wrote:
moneydust wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
moneydust wrote:
ike wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:

There's a village in Muranga that is in (or almost) the same league but in KES. Which entity do you think made them wealthy?

Equity
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
Aguytrying
#46 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 2:51:47 PM

Any guideline of the ideal number of stocks/sectors to hold
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
mkonomtupu
#47 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 3:09:48 PM

Aguytrying wrote:

That depends if you have a float(continuous supply of cash to invest) like Buffet.

Aguytrying
#48 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 7:51:05 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

That depends if you have a float(continuous supply of cash to invest) like Buffet.

No continuous float, just monthly savings to fund portfolio. what Ben graham described as an aggressive stocks investor.

on another note, why leave wazua? u have many apprentices
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#49 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 10:56:32 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
I think WB believes 10 are more than enough for retail investors.
iris
#50 Posted : Friday, June 12, 2015 10:46:53 AM

Aguytrying wrote:

Since WB is USA-centric, do the proportions remain the same for the Kenyan market?
Aguytrying
#51 Posted : Friday, June 12, 2015 11:20:33 AM

iris wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

Since WB is USA-centric, do the proportions remain the same for the Kenyan market?

@ Iris. Yes

@VVS, thanks. My wish list was almost going to 20, started feeling like im starting my own index smile
mkonomtupu
#52 Posted : Friday, June 12, 2015 11:31:28 AM

Aguytrying wrote:
mkonomtupu wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

No continuous float, just monthly savings to fund portfolio. what Ben graham described as an aggressive stocks investor.

on another note, why leave wazua? u have many apprentices

If you are a swing trader 10 stocks

Buy & hold 4 stocks

The apprentices are now of age. There comes a time when you have to let the apprentices takeover. I'm taking my market activity in another direction(in anticipation of the derivatives) it will be a bit confusing to newbies on wazua
bengraham
#53 Posted : Friday, June 12, 2015 11:47:09 AM

Fyatu wrote:
bengraham wrote:
moneydust wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
moneydust wrote:
ike wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:

The Quincy case study is the right jab for my malaria (remember the chlorine jab for malaria of yester years...it was one on the nyungu and the nurse told you to lala kidogo zishuke shuke...but i digress).

I'm scratching my head trying to contextualize the quincy case to the current NSE. The only companys i can equate coca cola of the 20's and 30's is Safcom, Unga, and technically Centum (i'm not pitching just trying to be factual). No matter how hard life is, a Kenyan will still spare 10 bob for that bamba ten or even Okoa jahazi for 20 bob etc.....people will still Ugali no matter what and chapos during festive etc).

@fyatu. Am glad the Quincy case ignited something in you that leads you to think about stocks as companies and not just daily changing prices on a stock ticker. To me that is the road to successful investing.

Now I would not want to be so presumptous as to recommend companies in the NSE but I want to put some more wood in the fire to this line of thinking by adding some more Buffett. He says "I look for businesses in which I think I can predi
ct what they’re going to look like in ten to fifteen years time. Take Wrigley’s chewing gum. I don’t think the internet is going to change how people chew gum.” He adds "Predictable products equal predictable profits" which is key in arriving at durable competitive advantage. One easy way to determine this is by looking at how old the company is but with a caveat that this is not a fool proof method by any means. For example, some of Warren's key holdings have included the maker of Oreos (since 1912), American Express (since 1850), Wells Fargo (since 1852, Coca Cola (1886), Proctor & Gamble (1837)etc etc. Some of this companies, eg Coke have been selling the same product for over 100years and thus spend little on R&D or new machines for new product lines. On the other hand, a chip maker like Intel has to spend billions each year just to be in the game.

Now as a kenyan investor, it would help to look at the list of NSE listed companies (luckily they are quite few compared to thousands in the US), and ask yourself if your 4 year old will be using that companies products when they earn their first paycheck. Not many would bet against EABL's tusker being around in 20 years time. Or BAT's cigarettes. Nation newspapers have been around forever and I bet your child will be reading Nation, even if it will be digital on an app or whatever media will be there in 20 years. If the price of Tusker went up 30% would their customers switch to Keroche? Highly unlikely. What about a bank? If Equity decided to hike charges 30% would its customers shop for new banks? Maybe. This is the kind of thinking that helps one to buy and hold for a long time without developing ulcers every time they look at stock prices. But not to say that these companies should be purchased at ANY price. They must only be bought when the market has priced them below their real value or at least at their fair value. The strong products and predictable income will ensure that they provide a good return over the long term. As will no doubt be shortly pointed out, others have gotten outstanding returns from younger companies so good products and strong earnings can also be found in newcomers such as Safaricom just the same as old companies such as Mumias and Lehmann have been disappointments. What is important is that an investor thinks of products/earnings/competitive advantage/fair price. Remember, you dont have to be right 100% of the time to win at this game.

The story of Joshua Read, a man who earned low wages as a janitor his entire life yet died with over 8m US dollars to his name illustrates this point very well. The list of his holdings included Buffett type companies such as Wells Fargo, American Express, P&G, Colgate Palmolive and Johnson and Johnson. Even a kenyan would be able to tell anyone what these companies sell. So before you board the next Kurwitu bus you must remember that you shouldnt buy any stock if you cant explain in one line why you own a piece of that company.

You can read his story here. May just the next dose of your malaria jab smile

The Janitor Millionaire
Invest at the point of maximum pessimism.
Aguytrying
#54 Posted : Friday, June 12, 2015 12:54:39 PM

bengraham wrote:
Fyatu wrote:
bengraham wrote:
moneydust wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
moneydust wrote:
ike wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:

@fyatu. Am glad the Quincy case ignited something in you that leads you to think about stocks as companies and not just daily changing prices on a stock ticker. To me that is the road to successful investing.

Now I would not want to be so presumptous as to recommend companies in the NSE but I want to put some more wood in the fire to this line of thinking by adding some more Buffett. He says "I look for businesses in which I think I can predi
ct what they’re going to look like in ten to fifteen years time. Take Wrigley’s chewing gum. I don’t think the internet is going to change how people chew gum.” He adds "Predictable products equal predictable profits" which is key in arriving at durable competitive advantage. One easy way to determine this is by looking at how old the company is but with a caveat that this is not a fool proof method by any means. For example, some of Warren's key holdings have included the maker of Oreos (since 1912), American Express (since 1850), Wells Fargo (since 1852, Coca Cola (1886), Proctor & Gamble (1837)etc etc. Some of this companies, eg Coke have been selling the same product for over 100years and thus spend little on R&D or new machines for new product lines. On the other hand, a chip maker like Intel has to spend billions each year just to be in the game.

Now as a kenyan investor, it would help to look at the list of NSE listed companies (luckily they are quite few compared to thousands in the US), and ask yourself if your 4 year old will be using that companies products when they earn their first paycheck. Not many would bet against EABL's tusker being around in 20 years time. Or BAT's cigarettes. Nation newspapers have been around forever and I bet your child will be reading Nation, even if it will be digital on an app or whatever media will be there in 20 years. If the price of Tusker went up 30% would their customers switch to Keroche? Highly unlikely. What about a bank? If Equity decided to hike charges 30% would its customers shop for new banks? Maybe. This is the kind of thinking that helps one to buy and hold for a long time without developing ulcers every time they look at stock prices. But not to say that these companies should be purchased at ANY price. They must only be bought when the market has priced them below their real value or at least at their fair value. The strong products and predictable income will ensure that they provide a good return over the long term. As will no doubt be shortly pointed out, others have gotten outstanding returns from younger companies so good products and strong earnings can also be found in newcomers such as Safaricom just the same as old companies such as Mumias and Lehmann have been disappointments. What is important is that an investor thinks of products/earnings/competitive advantage/fair price. Remember, you dont have to be right 100% of the time to win at this game.

The story of Joshua Read, a man who earned low wages as a janitor his entire life yet died with over 8m US dollars to his name illustrates this point very well. The list of his holdings included Buffett type companies such as Wells Fargo, American Express, P&G, Colgate Palmolive and Johnson and Johnson. Even a kenyan would be able to tell anyone what these companies sell. So before you board the next Kurwitu bus you must remember that you shouldnt buy any stock if you can explain in one line why you own a piece of that company.

The Janitor Millionaire

Thats a goose bump raising story. Now thats buy and hold! 95 stocks.
mkonomtupu
#55 Posted : Friday, June 12, 2015 1:13:07 PM

That Janitor Millionaire story reminds me of the guy who said he will save so that he can eat chicken everyday. By the time he had saved to enjoy the chicken he had no teeth.

#56 Posted : Friday, June 12, 2015 5:10:21 PM

bengraham wrote:
Fyatu wrote:
bengraham wrote:
moneydust wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
moneydust wrote:
ike wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:

The story of Joshua Read, a man who earned low wages as a janitor his entire life yet died with over 8m US dollars to his name illustrates this point very well. The list of his holdings included Buffett type companies such as Wells Fargo, American Express, P&G, Colgate Palmolive and Johnson and Johnson. Even a kenyan would be able to tell anyone what these companies sell. So before you board the next Kurwitu bus you must remember that you shouldnt buy any stock if you cant explain in one line why you own a piece of that company.

The Janitor Millionaire

Fitting moniker

Ericsson
#57 Posted : Friday, June 12, 2015 5:25:57 PM

No NSE posting of closing prices.
Last prices were on Wednesday June 10 nkt
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#58 Posted : Sunday, June 14, 2015 8:41:07 PM

10 stocks in KE should be enough unless you want to attend every AGM... as some do!

It is easier to follow 10 stock [& their sectors] in the news, online, AGMs, etc.

As @bengraham says some [barring poor management or extreme problems] firms are likely to continue doing well in the long-term e.g. EABL [alcohol not just beer], Unga [Wheat & Maize Flour], etc ... The demand for these firms' products remains a 'constant' over the years.
bengraham
#59 Posted : Wednesday, June 17, 2015 1:09:59 PM

[quote=mkonomtupu]@ bengraham, this is a good the explanation on the bond yields and equities. I was expecting you to give the new investors this kind of knowledge instead of telling to stay in the casino when everyone is heading the exits. Given my pending retirement from wazua you will pick up the mantle and help newbies understand the market cycle better

I would like to shed light on the implications of an increase and/or decrease in long-term interest rates — as represented by the benchmark 10-year Treasury bond — and how equity investors can use it as a leading signal for their equity investments.

Before we begin, let me lay the foundation on how bonds work. When the economy begins to strengthen, bond yields tend to rise. This is partly because bondholders sell, causing weaker demand which pushes bond prices lower.

If investors believe the economy is improving, they may be inclined to move money into equities in anticipation of an improvement in corporate profits which could propel stocks higher.

When investors are fearful, they always tend to move out of stocks and into bonds but sometimes this is not the case.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/nvpqj3z/-/index.html[/quote]

Interestingly and hardly a week later, an article by the same writer concedes that although in theory bond yields and stock prices have an inverse relationship, at the end of the day its a futile exercise trying to predict market movements and easier to focus on what you as an investor can control i.e your ability to sit tight through market dips and not panic.

"Of importance, rather than worrying about how the Central Bank policy might affect the market--which you can’t control — it could be more profitable to focus on your own investing temperament, which you can. Realise that stocks are volatile, rate hikes happen abruptly, and the unexpected regularly happens. Doing well, as an investor relies more on your ability to accept market swings than your ability to forecast them."

http://www.businessdaily.../-/11rrymh/-/index.html
Invest at the point of maximum pessimism.