heri wrote:i would like to buy a milk ATM to start selling milk
my little research so far shows that i can make good money. Buying a litre at sh 50 and selling at sh 70 while the packed milk goes for sh 100 per litre
anyone who can share any more on this i would appreciate
In Kenya, most of those dispensers you see are supplied by about 2 guys.
One guy (market leader) started it all with Tuskys several years ago on pilot I think in Rongai. When milk ran out one day, there was near riot. Tuskys saw the opportunity and rolled out.
Many supermarkets now are into it.
Also quite a few 'stand alones' out there, on verandahs (the first one on verandah was in Eldoret, by a lady farmer S. B)
Fact 1. Like McR says, you must dispense pasteurized milk.
Fact 2. Cash dispensing is still untidy, you need an operator. Machines for exclusive cash + change (like KAPS parking) are still not optimized here yet.
Fact 3. Selling of empty containers is almost generating more money than milk itself

Fact 4. You must enter into a supply contract with a milk provider. The worst is to get inconsistent milk quality especially since you'll get loyal customers.
Fact 5. Study your market well. Many kawaida people want creamy, buttery milk. Different regions of Kenya produce different milk (e.g., Kinangop is too 'watery' due to wet feeding).
Fact 6. ...sasa lipa kitu.
And I have contacts of everyone in supply chain (milk, containers, dispenser = maintenance, locations....)
No I don't do that business. I am going into a different type of dispensing (not liquids).
Mr. Brookside is reportedly not happy(whose market share mnaslice) and is expected to do something about it. Watch this space.