wazua Thu, Jun 19, 2025

Ngugi wa Thiongo favorite to win Nobel Prize
#21 Posted : Saturday, October 09, 2010 1:58:54 PM

...I said it...How could a man who turned to village politics win a nobel prize!!!...and supporting a side that stole elctions? It is a NOBEL PEACE PRIZE...Mark that!!!

...Don't lynch me!

Educate yourself my brother lest you make a fool of yourself. Oops!!! Too late!
#22 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2015 6:11:51 PM

Come back home Professor!

How come all those Years Ngugi has been mayuu he has never developed an accent, yet @ kiash 1 year later he couldn't understand kiswahili? smile
kiash
#23 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2015 6:21:11 PM

How come all those Years Ngugi has been mayuu he has never developed an accent, yet @ kiash 1 year later he couldn't understand kiswahili? smile

#24 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2015 6:53:51 PM

Accent is not a problem for as long as you know how to switch to make yourself understood without looking down at those you are talking to. Ellen Johnson Sirleaf the president of Liberia does it effortlessly, one minute she is speaking like the Havard graduate that she is, the next she speaks the pidgin Liberian English like a local market woman. Uhuru speaks English like an Elite, Kiswahili like a mwananchi and Kikuyu like a Wangige matatu tout.

There is a certain Akorino family in Texas that still wears their vilemba. When they come home and their Texas bred children speak at the Akorino conventions, they speak deeper and more fluent Kikuyu than their Kenyan counterparts. In Texas the children speak with a Texas accent and recently one of their daughters started working for a community that deals with Spanish speaking people because of her fluency in Spanish.....
#25 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2015 10:07:57 PM

even his last born daughter born and bred in the US spoke fluent kiuk on the trend!
Mainat
#26 Posted : Tuesday, June 09, 2015 6:44:56 AM

Mayuu-ans acquire accents to fit in. Those who bring them home have esteem issues something to do with their jobs/status in mayuu
Sehemu ndio nyumba
Iganamagana
#27 Posted : Tuesday, June 09, 2015 7:43:31 AM

Accent is not a problem for as long as you know how to switch to make yourself understood without looking down at those you are talking to. Ellen Johnson Sirleaf the president of Liberia does it effortlessly, one minute she is speaking like the Havard graduate that she is, the next she speaks the pidgin Liberian English like a local market woman. Uhuru speaks English like an Elite, Kiswahili like a mwananchi and Kikuyu like a Wangige matatu tout.

There is a certain Akorino family in Texas that still wears their vilemba. When they come home and their Texas bred children speak at the Akorino conventions, they speak deeper and more fluent Kikuyu than their Kenyan counterparts. In Texas the children speak with a Texas accent and recently one of their daughters started working for a community that deals with Spanish speaking people because of her fluency in Spanish.....

Wewe!

The Akorinos in Texas wear their Vilembas with pride.
#28 Posted : Tuesday, June 09, 2015 8:45:36 AM

He had some interesting viewpoints... he validates my worldview of the 'tribe' thing we keep on labling ourselves. Why not say 'the Luo People', 'The Luhya Nation', 'The Kikuyu Community' or even at least 'The Kamba ethnic group'? or just call them 'The Luo...'? Why do we have the notion of 'Tribe'? tribe is a bunch of people in a forest somewhere under some chief who has some skulls around his neck.
#29 Posted : Tuesday, June 09, 2015 9:05:34 AM

He had some interesting viewpoints... he validates my worldview of the 'tribe' thing we keep on labling ourselves. Why not say 'the Luo People', 'The Luhya Nation', 'The Kikuyu Community' or even at least 'The Kamba ethnic group'? or just call them 'The Luo...'? Why do we have the notion of 'Tribe'? tribe is a bunch of people in a forest somewhere under some chief who has some skulls around his neck.

Hapaa, tunacheza na maneno
Ngeli ni ya gongaaa!
Wamunyota
#30 Posted : Tuesday, June 09, 2015 9:16:59 AM

Ngeli ni ya gongaaa!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Kumbe pia wewe Tycho ni mgenge?
Hutia Mundu!!
#31 Posted : Tuesday, June 09, 2015 10:02:42 AM

Wamunyota wrote:

Ngeli ni ya gongaaa!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Kumbe pia wewe Tycho ni mgenge?

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly No wonder huwa anatu 'gengeee' kila wakati.
#32 Posted : Tuesday, June 09, 2015 10:50:20 AM

Ngeli ni ya gongaaa!

where does tribe end and "people/community/nation/ethnic group" begin? are the Kurds a tribe? what makes the swedish a group of people with 9 million people more a 'nation' than the zulus who are 11 million?
#33 Posted : Tuesday, June 09, 2015 10:56:24 AM

Ngeli ni ya gongaaa!

where does tribe end and "people/community/nation/ethnic group" begin? are the Kurds a tribe? what makes the swedish a group of people with 9 million people more a 'nation' than the zulus who are 11 million?

Tribe just like ethnic is a nation but a community/people do not make a tribe, Luhya is not a nation just like Kalenjin but Kikuyu, Bukusu are nations.Kenya is not a nation but a community/group of people.For a nation to exist people have to share cultures, origins,myths and unity which are all lacking in Kenya but can be found in Kikuyu,Bukusu, Teso,Maragoli, kamba, meru,Borana etc
#34 Posted : Tuesday, June 09, 2015 11:06:24 AM

Really??..Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ...Who taught you that?
kiash
#35 Posted : Tuesday, June 09, 2015 11:17:00 AM

Coolio wrote:

even his last born daughter born and bred in the US spoke fluent kiuk on the trend!

Remember some year back i heard Ngugi used to send his children to a school in Thika to learn Kiuk . Thats why they are fluent.
wazuaguest
#36 Posted : Tuesday, June 09, 2015 12:34:25 PM

Why did they attack Ngugi and wife the first time he came back,and of all the place's at Norfolk?
Africa belongs to Africans.
#37 Posted : Tuesday, June 09, 2015 12:38:01 PM

kiash wrote:
Coolio wrote:

Remember some year back i heard Ngugi used to send his children to a school in Thika to learn Kiuk . Thats why they are fluent.

kwani are there are schools in thika that teach kikuyu, the guy and his wife are fluent in kikuyu - they can easily teach their kids the same.
#38 Posted : Tuesday, June 09, 2015 12:40:59 PM

Ngeli ni ya gongaaa!

Tribe just like ethnic is a nation but a community/people do not make a tribe, Luhya is not a nation just like Kalenjin but Kikuyu, Bukusu are nations.Kenya is not a nation but a community/group of people.For a nation to exist people have to share cultures, origins,myths and unity which are all lacking in Kenya but can be found in Kikuyu,Bukusu, Teso,Maragoli, kamba, meru,Borana etc

agreed, Kalenjin and Luhyas are much recent groupings by the mzungu. My beef is the use of the terms "Tribe".... perhaps the best definition of what "Tribe" is "those which have followed ways of life for many generations that are largely self-sufficient, and are clearly different from the mainstream and dominant society.". For sometime the El Molo were a 'Tribe' but they are no longer that - they are now embracing ways of life similar to "the mainstream and dominant society". As soon as you wear clothes like everyone else, speak kiswahili like everyone else i.e. mainstream ways of life you end your tribal stature. You may be Ethnically Kikuyu but there is no such thing as the Kikuyu tribe now, or the Luo tribe.
#39 Posted : Tuesday, June 09, 2015 12:52:03 PM

Ngeli ni ya gongaaa!

agreed, Kalenjin and Luhyas are much recent groupings by the mzungu. My beef is the use of the terms "Tribe".... perhaps the best definition of what "Tribe" is "those which have followed ways of life for many generations that are largely self-sufficient, and are clearly different from the mainstream and dominant society.". For sometime the El Molo were a 'Tribe' but they are no longer that - they are now embracing ways of life similar to "the mainstream and dominant society". As soon as you wear clothes like everyone else, speak kiswahili like everyone else i.e. mainstream ways of life you end your tribal stature. You may be Ethnically Kikuyu but there is no such thing as the Kikuyu tribe now, or the Luo tribe.

Nimekupata sasa, Going by your defination,Tribe is a primitive group of people...So if I say @Makales belongs to kikuyu/gikuyu tribe I'll be implying that you are a primitive hunter and gatherer around mt Kenya forest!
#40 Posted : Tuesday, June 09, 2015 1:21:37 PM

Ngeli ni ya gongaaa!

Nimekupata sasa, Going by your defination,Tribe is a primitive group of people...So if I say @Makales belongs to kikuyu/gikuyu tribe I'll be implying that you are a primitive hunter and gatherer around mt Kenya forest!

exactment!! and it's even worse when you do the same to yourself!