The BigBox by Safaricom
geofreygachie
#101 Posted : Monday, June 01, 2015 7:45:02 AM

geofreygachie wrote:
Nimerudi wrote:
@Murchr

Another screenshot for you >>

My log now stands above 42GB. This is less than 24 hours since I last posted. I can restart my Mac again should you feel so inclined to ask.

And no, I use my connection for residential purposes. Similarly, a good quality movie in 1080p should be in the range of 1.5-6GB. I think the bandwidth issue is now decided. smile

I decided to get the bigbox for testing and so far so good.The box is android based and one is able to sideload APKs from the internet.I managed to install VLC.
The best of the apps on the box so far is KODI and TVMC.TVMC allows one to stream movies without going through the murky torrent and download sites.
Although I am 3G area I have been able to stream on youtube and TVMC.

Interesting feedback, at least from real usage of the box - but at 5k per month do you think its worth, ama should one stick to dstv - of course content wise.

@ Nakujua.If you already have DSTV the box is not comparable however in the near future the box might be an alternative.There are provisions for IPTV,VOD and a cabled LAN port.I will test the lan port today and if it works I would recommend the box to every Zuku Customer 😃 .This is one clever move by Safaricom.
Divers - can you laugh in scuba gear, or will you drown? I was wondering. - James May.
savant
#102 Posted : Wednesday, June 03, 2015 2:17:36 AM

anasazi wrote:
That 50 GB per month is a big joke if you're a heavy user. For newspaper readers wako sawa. But Safcom is used to selling bundles so it's hard for them to cannibalise their bundles business by giving unlimited via another route. Catch 22 for them. ZUKU breathes a sigh of relief and keeps moving. Safaricom must ask themselves where the value will be. We're looking for value. Capped bundles are not valuable to us.

Interesting observation i.e on where the value lies.
Généralement, les gens qui savant peu parlent becoup, et les gens qui savant beaucoup parlent peu.
- Rousseau.
#103 Posted : Wednesday, June 03, 2015 8:52:35 AM

Nimerudi wrote:
@Murchr

My log now stands above 42GB. This is less than 24 hours since I last posted. I can restart my Mac again should you feel so inclined to ask.

And no, I use my connection for residential purposes. Similarly, a good quality movie in 1080p should be in the range of 1.5-6GB. I think the bandwidth issue is now decided. smile

Just like I said at the start. 50GB is way too little data for a tv streaming service.
#104 Posted : Wednesday, June 03, 2015 1:12:57 PM

geofreygachie wrote:
Nimerudi wrote:
@Murchr

I decided to get the bigbox for testing and so far so good.The box is android based and one is able to sideload APKs from the internet.I managed to install VLC.
The best of the apps on the box so far is KODI and TVMC.TVMC allows one to stream movies without going through the murky torrent and download sites.

Interesting feedback, at least from real usage of the box - but at 5k per month do you think its worth, ama should one stick to dstv - of course content wise.

@ Nakujua.If you already have DSTV the box is not comparable however in the near future the box might be an alternative.There are provisions for IPTV,VOD and a cabled LAN port.I will test the lan port today and if it works I would recommend the box to every Zuku Customer 😃 .This is one clever move by Safaricom.

hapo sawa, thanks for the feedback - I think if safcom is still interested in the box they should move and get some content providers on board - I don't know how akina netflix and such work but such a model would be nice, at least for the guys who are not well drilled in digging up content online.

Just another clarification, do they give 50gb ama its 25gb plus another 25gb for the night shift thing, I use the orange modem 3k unlimited per month since I am out of zuku's privileged few - but the 20gb cap gets depleted in like 3 weeks, mostly cartoons being streamed on the lowest quality youtube stream.

If you consider VOD in a typical household of around 4, who access content for like 3-4 hours per day, you are looking at around 5 - 8 gb daily usage
#105 Posted : Wednesday, June 03, 2015 2:37:49 PM

Nimerudi wrote:
50gb will not cut it as a home broadband solution. Even if there's a data cap it should be in the 300gb range. I use the zuku 10mbps that fits perfectly though erratic at times. This month my logs indicate 172 gb down, 29 gb up. With good fibre, content is a non-issue really. I stream high-res movies and series on popcorn-time and EPL games too for free.

Similarly, youtube videos on zuku are always on 1080p, something akin to unicorns on Safaricom's networks. Clearly saf-com has miscalculated here. The only benefit i see here is better call quality. They should have improved and expanded the Nyayo estate fibre project. This may be a good thing for the lower middle classes though zuku's unlimited 1mbps (in select areas) might kill it.

Post your data chart here.

How many Kenyans download content to watch on their laptops? How many own laptops? With good content, you wouldn't be downloading stuff rather you'd be shuffling and pressing your remote. Actually you shouldn't see the need to stream content live if you can just watch on teli.

I have a question tho. How many of you in your houses download stuff to watch on your laptops? When you stream live content, do you have a HDMI cable to watch from the TV ama you all gather up to watch from the laptop?

Those abroad use the same amount of data as you because mainly they have to catch up with habari za nyumbani. Otherwise out there they have options of high speed internet of 10GB data + TV for $80

murchr whether you download it or stream the video, as long as the quality is the same you use the same data. now a normal family usage of a router (am assuming mine is) would involve different persons using different devices at same or different times. a kid there watching youtube kiddie stuff, a teenager watching and or downloading games (golf, football etc), series, movies and porn, a parent watching national geographic videos or such on youtube. others making calls through facetime or whatsapp (if it works). the devices would includee tvs, ipads, tablets, mobile phones etc. there is no way a household would use less than 50gb in a month.
geofreygachie
#106 Posted : Wednesday, June 03, 2015 5:47:02 PM

geofreygachie wrote:
Nimerudi wrote:
@Murchr

hapo sawa, thanks for the feedback - I think if safcom is still interested in the box they should move and get some content providers on board - I don't know how akina netflix and such work but such a model would be nice, at least for the guys who are not well drilled in digging up content online.

Just another clarification, do they give 50gb ama its 25gb plus another 25gb for the night shift thing, I use the orange modem 3k unlimited per month since I am out of zuku's privileged few - but the 20gb cap gets depleted in like 3 weeks, mostly cartoons being streamed on the lowest quality youtube stream.

If you consider VOD in a typical household of around 4, who access content for like 3-4 hours per day, you are looking at around 5 - 8 gb daily usage

Regarding the bundle query ,the box bundles don't have night shift setup.Its a full bundle,like in my case i have 6 GB for the next six month and i have verified by using the bundles and from the Safaricom.
A few people have complained about using the remote to navigate the interface is clunky.I however tested the unit with a Dell usb keyboard which acts also as a 2 port usb hub.All the controls on the keyboard i.e multimedia keys including pause,stop,volume control using the volume knob etc all worked.I also managed to attach the usb mouse on the keyboard usb hub port and all worked .I control everything using the keyboard and mouse.The next step was now to test a wireless keybpoard and mouse combo and bingo it worked too.Logitech MK220 wireless keyaboard and mouse combo worked.Now i don't need to struggle with the remote trying to type .

MK220

Anxious Anxious Anxious Anxious Very soon we might get a way to use the sim card slot that on the box ????Anxious Anxious Anxious Anxious
Divers - can you laugh in scuba gear, or will you drown? I was wondering. - James May.
#107 Posted : Wednesday, June 03, 2015 10:58:00 PM

geofreygachie wrote:
Nimerudi wrote:
@Murchr

Regarding the bundle query ,the box bundles don't have night shift setup.Its a full bundle,like in my case i have 6 GB for the next six month and i have verified by using the bundles and from the Safaricom.
A few people have complained about using the remote to navigate the interface is clunky.I however tested the unit with a Dell usb keyboard which acts also as a 2 port usb hub.All the controls on the keyboard i.e multimedia keys including pause,stop,volume control using the volume knob etc all worked.I also managed to attach the usb mouse on the keyboard usb hub port and all worked .I control everything using the keyboard and mouse.The next step was now to test a wireless keybpoard and mouse combo and bingo it worked too.Logitech MK220 wireless keyaboard and mouse combo worked.Now i don't need to struggle with the remote trying to type .

MK220

Anxious Anxious Anxious Anxious Very soon we might get a way to use the sim card slot that on the box ????Anxious Anxious Anxious Anxious

cool, I am assuming the box has a usb interface where you connect the keyboard - what do you mean by the sim card slot, thought the thing is 3g and uses a simcard - ama its inbuilt.
#108 Posted : Wednesday, June 03, 2015 11:15:12 PM

you will throw away this gadget just like you did konza and cs kariuki's night time bans and sijui bebabeba.

we shall buy it for 1k next year and still not buy it.

what the hell is IPTV,VOD and a cabled LAN port?

i want tv. i want internet. at human prices. why is everyone with a mind switching to airtel data and orange airtime?

I wonder if conmemore ever watches his own tv appearances where he said that safcom is losing touch with the mama mboga.
geofreygachie
#109 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2015 6:51:01 PM

you will throw away this gadget just like you did konza and cs kariuki's night time bans and sijui bebabeba.

i want tv. i want internet. at human prices. why is everyone with a mind switching to airtel data and orange airtime?

I wonder if conmemore ever watches his own tv appearances where he said that safcom is losing touch with the mama mboga.

Why is everyone with a mind switching .....??????
#110 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2015 6:58:10 PM

geofreygachie wrote:

@alma will be against everything I support. Don't mind him smile
#111 Posted : Saturday, June 06, 2015 7:14:36 AM

geofreygachie wrote:

On this one, @Alma is 100% right. Am a SafCon shareholder yet I cannot touch their stupid internet bundles. #Airtel_UnlimiNet is the answer. Even after your allocated bundle is reached, i don't even notice any change of browsing speed. Watching YouTube videos at 256kbps on a 5.5" 720p phone screen (though at times I have to change the videos quality to 360p). Stop wasting your mobile internet money on Safaricom, there are other Better Quality, Cheaper cost alternatives.

geofreygachie
#112 Posted : Saturday, June 06, 2015 11:01:39 AM

geofreygachie wrote:

On this one, @Alma is 100% right. Am a SafCon shareholder yet I cannot touch their stupid internet bundles. #Airtel_UnlimiNet is the answer. Even after your allocated bundle is reached, i don't even notice any change of browsing speed. Watching YouTube videos at 256kbps on a 5.5" 720p phone screen (though at times I have to change the videos quality to 360p). Stop wasting your mobile internet money on Safaricom, there are other Better Quality, Cheaper cost alternatives.

Yesterday Safaricom pushed an OTA update and the box is getting better.The system is stable now.I was able to stream without problems this morning.I have also noted that the area has been upgraded to 4G.
#113 Posted : Saturday, June 06, 2015 2:27:52 PM

geofreygachie wrote:

Kwani Airtel now has a "box"?
oops
#114 Posted : Sunday, June 07, 2015 2:56:58 PM

Are the rumours about safcom buying zuku true?
#115 Posted : Sunday, June 07, 2015 10:41:03 PM

geofreygachie wrote:

Murchr, people who use safcom data just hate themselves.

Now if you go ahead and believe this box manenos to pay for NTV at 10k a month, wewe sio mjinga, you need prayers with Pastor Kanyari.
#116 Posted : Sunday, June 07, 2015 11:22:33 PM

geofreygachie wrote:

Now if you go ahead and believe this box manenos to pay for NTV at 10k a month, wewe sio mjinga, you need prayers with Pastor Kanyari.

I understand you were away when people were discussing the migration. I choose to engage those who understand what this is...clearly you dont. And FYI Konza mambo inaendelea...while you were away. :) chao!
#117 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2015 6:53:51 AM

geofreygachie wrote:

I understand you were away when people were discussing the migration. I choose to engage those who understand what this is...clearly you dont. And FYI Konza mambo inaendelea...while you were away. :) chao!

Why, if I was not away, their data would have been cheaper and higher quality?
Or probably the box would have been a better alternative to just buying a digital tv plus airtel modem?

now why didn't I stay, I wonder

Clearly I don't understand why people like bending over and getting screwed by safaricom. But everyone to their own. Mimi awesmek na hiyo wakora.
geofreygachie
#118 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2015 7:59:53 AM

geofreygachie wrote:

Pay for NTV at 10K a month ?????
#119 Posted : Monday, June 08, 2015 8:02:08 AM

This service won't exist by December this year. No sane person will buy bundles when unlimited is available. Folly!
mnandii
#120 Posted : Monday, June 15, 2015 10:09:16 AM

geofreygachie wrote:

MK220

Thanks for this important information. My decoder is now showing connection to 4G in Kisumu. smile
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.