Market
Pennywise
Lipa na M-PESA charges
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
if this has been covered elswhere, naomba niwe directed - my browsing device is a pain running a search. for the first time I used this ka service in one of the kiosks and noticed that some deductions were made from my end - I thought its the vendor who is charged. from what safcom call their website, FAQ section Quote: Qusetion - How much will it cost me to pay by M-PESA? Answer - kindly confirm the charges from the merchant before making payment.
Question - What are the charges? Answer - A fee of 1% of the value of the transaction will be charged to the merchant for every transaction The charged value will be recovered by Safaricom when the Merchant moved his collections from the till
http://www.safaricom.co.ke/personal/m-pesa/m-pesa-services/buy-goods-and-services
Initially I never used to get any deductions but this days I see like a 5bob deductions when I use it to fuel. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:Initially I never used to get any deductions but this days I see like a 5bob deductions when I use it to fuel. Funny, because I thought they market it, or used to market it as no charge to the one paying. The weird thing is that the rate does not seem to be standard, used it with 2 different vendors and one charged a 50 bob for a sale of around 500 and the other like 150 for a sale of around 3k. Withdrawing mpesa from an agent next door and using the cash is actually cheaper.
nakujua wrote:McReggae wrote:Initially I never used to get any deductions but this days I see like a 5bob deductions when I use it to fuel. Funny, because I thought they market it, or used to market it as no charge to the one paying. The weird thing is that the rate does not seem to be standard, used it with 2 different vendors and one charged a 50 bob for a sale of around 500 and the other like 150 for a sale of around 3k. Withdrawing mpesa from an agent next door and using the cash is actually cheaper. They now claim that some merchants charge, I thought it was meant to rival card payments, it's convenient but a big fail on this aspect!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Lipa na Mpesa has always charged. Question is who picks up the tab - you or the merchant? The merchant decides and can change the rules at any time.
"Terms and Conditions" not withstanding, the explanation i got was that the buyer is not charged, they were quite specific about this in their promotion, (or perhaps in my specific case), the seller/merchant on the other hand is charged 1% (so for 500/- seller is charged 5bob), non of my "lipa" customers (quite a few) have ever complained of being charged as i have always told them "you will not be charged". Always assumed the same as a customer to other outlets kumbe i was being charged at some places. Apparently one can check whether they will be charged or not via dailing *234# Meru Holiness
Wouldn't it then be prudent, or at least more logical for safcom to ask the merchants charging the clients at least to place the charges next to the till number display, which is always visible. Or at least have a standard charge, at least for those using the system to know the charges before hand.
Rank: Member Joined: 7/24/2010 Posts: 238 Location: nairobi
I have always suspected this. safaricom products always there is a catch.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/15/2013 Posts: 1,977 Location: Here
innovator wrote:I have always suspected this. safaricom products always there is a catch.
Not just a catch...but a HIDDEN catch revealed only after public outcry! Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
After being Charged in a Gas Station,I got the following clarification
lipa na M-Pesa has two tariffs
1. Tariff where a Customers not Charged and merchant bears the cost (1%). This is the tariff most of the shops are on, including hardware and supermarkets
2. Tariff where a customer would be charged - This is basically for Gas stations eg shell, total, Gulf and others,. Not all Gas stations have this tariff. EABL distributor outlets, KTDA, Unilever distributors and a few more. Was told this are not many
Muheani wrote:After being Charged in a Gas Station,I got the following clarification
lipa na M-Pesa has two tariffs
1. Tariff where a Customers not Charged and merchant bears the cost (1%). This is the tariff most of the shops are on, including hardware and supermarkets
2. Tariff where a customer would be charged - This is basically for Gas stations eg shell, total, Gulf and others,. Not all Gas stations have this tariff. EABL distributor outlets, KTDA, Unilever distributors and a few more. Was told this are not many
I was charged a ka tariff at two supermarkets, I think its foolhardy for safcom to let merchants choose and also fix the amount to charge clients using the service - worst case, they do not even put a notice of the same and one has to first query some ussd code to find out the tariff in place.
Rank: Member Joined: 4/1/2008 Posts: 104 Location: Nairobi
If i'm not wrong, adding a tariff to their Lipa Na Mpesa service is the end goal of all the advertising they did in Dec 2014. They increased the number of transactions under the premise of convenience and more importantly no charges. Then quietly start charging. A bad move in my opinion. They're now firmly and squarely in competition with Visa at this level. Between no charge and a 22 shilling levy, guess who i'll be transacting with. Someone somewhere needs to rethink the Lipa Na Mpesa strategy before they hand over all their clients. Généralement, les gens qui savant peu parlent becoup, et les gens qui savant beaucoup parlent peu. - Rousseau.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/15/2013 Posts: 1,977 Location: Here
Yesterday morning Bob Con Me More was hosted on the Person of Interest show, he actually admitted that Safaricom has moved away from its mwananchi level that has seen it grow up. He acknowleged that they have gone to sit and operate in Nairobi and became unreachable. Further he admitted to mistakes in recent post pay ,big box and bundles drama. He said he's afraid they're loosing touch that could cost them in future. He stated cartegorically that " I do not work for shareholders but for these people";he was pointing to a drawing in his office that showed wananichi going about their business on interior streets. If you could get the video..listen to him. Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/16/2014 Posts: 1,420 Location: Bohemian Grove
It depends on the kind of deal a merchant negotiates with safaricom. If no deal exists,the till # will have a "no transaction fee" below the till # or something to that effect. If that's missing then just know you'll bear the transaction charge.
Rank: Member Joined: 2/15/2010 Posts: 150 Location: Kenya
@whiteowl Why would a business choose to charge it's customer's more and give the money to safaricom? or do businesses pocket the extra? If it's the latter charging customers 10 to 5 percent, as in nakujua's case just to process payment is just wrong.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
McReggae wrote:Initially I never used to get any deductions but this days I see like a 5bob deductions when I use it to fuel. Guys can track even 5 bob from their accounts? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
DtheK wrote:@whiteowl Why would a business choose to charge it's customer's more and give the money to safaricom? g. because the alternative is businesses paying safcom the transaction fees
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/16/2014 Posts: 1,420 Location: Bohemian Grove
Lolest! wrote:DtheK wrote:@whiteowl Why would a business choose to charge it's customer's more and give the money to safaricom? g. because the alternative is businesses paying safcom the transaction fees Well answered. Businesses never pay any cost even when they do pay, its always transmitted to the consumer. You only feel the pinch coz it's a direct deduction.
whiteowl wrote:Lolest! wrote:DtheK wrote:@whiteowl Why would a business choose to charge it's customer's more and give the money to safaricom? g. because the alternative is businesses paying safcom the transaction fees Well answered. Businesses never pay any cost even when they do pay, its always transmitted to the consumer. You only feel the pinch coz it's a direct deduction. but some businesses are not charging customers that transaction fee, what about those blueband bandika promotions that are usually attached to loafs za mikate
Impunity wrote:McReggae wrote:Initially I never used to get any deductions but this days I see like a 5bob deductions when I use it to fuel. Guys can track even 5 bob from their accounts? Even the most wealthy people track even a shilling that leaves their pockets. The bigger point is whether you mind loosing the shilling or not. If you dont know and you act like you dont care wewe kwisha. Politics is just things to keep the people divided and foolish and put your trust in men and none of them can do nothing for you...
Market
Pennywise
Lipa na M-PESA charges