wazua Fri, Jan 3, 2025

KPLC Prepaid meters
#21 Posted : Tuesday, October 08, 2013 1:14:02 PM

It varies,I have tested using different denominations.
But the more you buy the better because 12 units get exhausted in 2/3 days.

Ngogoyo
#22 Posted : Tuesday, October 08, 2013 1:18:51 PM

It varies,I have tested using different denominations.
But the more you buy the better because 12 units get exhausted in 2/3 days.

This variance is so hard to understand and KPLC are not able to explain in a 'simple' language.

I bought for KES 800 yesterday and got only 23.2 units ABK!Brick wall
doubletap
#23 Posted : Monday, June 01, 2015 11:36:28 AM

Come across this article about KPLC halting the pre-paid meters roll out.

link
You have to learn the rules of the game. And then you have to play better than anyone else - Albert Einstein
#24 Posted : Monday, June 01, 2015 1:37:18 PM

doubletap wrote:

link

we have peculiar leadership
According to that article

According to the Kenya Power records, about 925,000 out of the 3.17 Million customers are on prepaid meters. Before the 925k moved to prepaid, they were collecting about four times more than what they currently collect from the same customers. The Kenya Power MD stopped short of accusing customers with prepaid meter tampering as his explanation of the reduced revenues. With the reduction in revenues, Kenya power has decided to classify this reduction as ‘unpaid debts’ in their books.
#25 Posted : Monday, June 01, 2015 1:45:45 PM

doubletap wrote:

link

According to the Kenya Power records, about 925,000 out of the 3.17 Million customers are on prepaid meters. Before the 925k moved to prepaid, they were collecting about four times more than what they currently collect from the same customers. The Kenya Power MD stopped short of accusing customers with prepaid meter tampering as his explanation of the reduced revenues. With the reduction in revenues, Kenya power has decided to classify this reduction as ‘unpaid debts’ in their books.

How is that even possible?Who are their auditors?
subzero
#26 Posted : Monday, June 01, 2015 4:26:18 PM

There must be a simple logical explanation to this.
Looks like someone didn't do a comprehensive job of analysing how the mess is coming up,
surely, the solution cannot be rolling back to postpaid systems.

The fault must be in either of 2 categories, intentional (fraud) , which could be internal or external. OR a system anomaly,

If, they believe that external fraud could be the problem, why not invest in securing the current technology,

For example, there is a method in which the prepaid meters of several houses are aggregated and positioned at the top of the electricity pole, then the wires go directly to the respective houses. thereby eliminating tampering without going atop the pole . users only have a remote console in the houses.
I believe this can greatly reduce external fraud, instead of doing away with the technology
#27 Posted : Monday, June 01, 2015 4:35:03 PM

subzero wrote:
There must be a simple logical explanation to this.
Looks like someone didn't do a comprehensive job of analysing how the mess is coming up,
surely, the solution cannot be rolling back to postpaid systems.

The fault must be in either of 2 categories, intentional (fraud) , which could be internal or external. OR a system anomaly,

If, they believe that external fraud could be the problem, why not invest in securing the current technology,

For example, there is a method in which the prepaid meters of several houses are aggregated and positioned at the top of the electricity pole, then the wires go directly to the respective houses. thereby eliminating tampering without going atop the pole . users only have a remote console in the houses.
I believe this can greatly reduce external fraud, instead of doing away with the technology

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I like that idea.

lakini its just mental laziness, what would stop the postpaid person from tapering - how does a pre paid meter predispose one to thieving ways.
#28 Posted : Monday, June 01, 2015 5:29:18 PM

doubletap wrote:

link

The reality of estimated (postpaid) bills?d'oh!
#29 Posted : Monday, June 01, 2015 6:16:34 PM

I hope the investors who have been bullish on Kenya Power prospects over 2/3 year period have read this!!!!!!
#30 Posted : Monday, June 01, 2015 6:24:32 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
doubletap wrote:

link

TANESCO, Tanzania's equivalent had a pre-payment program called LUKU (Lipa Umeme Kadri Unavyotumia). All KPLC had to do was spend a week there to learn the challenges which are a carbon copy of what KPLC are facing.
oops
#31 Posted : Monday, June 01, 2015 6:30:37 PM

Why didnt kplc refund deposits for those who migrated from the old meters to the pre-pay system? Yet they also charged us for the new prepay system gadgegs?
#32 Posted : Monday, June 01, 2015 6:41:41 PM

oops wrote:
Why didnt kplc refund deposits for those who migrated from the old meters to the pre-pay system? Yet they also charged us for the new prepay system gadgegs?

i thought rather than refund they gave the prepaid meters preloaded with 30 units?
#33 Posted : Monday, June 01, 2015 7:16:19 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
doubletap wrote:

link

TANESCO, Tanzania's equivalent had a pre-payment program called LUKU (Lipa Umeme Kadri Unavyotumia). All KPLC had to do was spend a week there to learn the challenges which are a carbon copy of what KPLC are facing.

they are not facing any challenges, ni vile tu sasa those with prepaid meters are in control of what they use, plus after disconnection one is not charged crazy amounts for re connection.

I have always wondered why our lawyers have never been interested in doing a ka mass lawsuit for those overcharged by kplc.
streetwise
#34 Posted : Monday, June 01, 2015 7:25:26 PM

That is true. It makes a difference when you are in control over your consumption unlike post paid where kplc send you a bill depending g on how much they want that month.

Kplc should refund customers for overcharge
#35 Posted : Monday, June 01, 2015 7:28:44 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
oops wrote:

i thought rather than refund they gave the prepaid meters preloaded with 30 units?

I joined the prepaid meters in October 2012. Was surprised to receive a cheque in July 2014 being refund for deposit. Of course out of 2,500 bob they only paid 850bob, the rest being the last bill.d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

30 units were recovered later at end of 2013 in 3 rounds of 10 units each.
whiteowl
#36 Posted : Monday, June 01, 2015 7:39:01 PM

subzero wrote:

Actually its both fraud and system anomaly. One form of fraud is in accounting. Your bill can spike up in one month and if you pay up without complaining they have their ways of cashing out the extra money. If you complain, they usually recalculate and give you a new correct bill.This is common with old meters.As for bypassing the meter and using elec without being charged, that can be done with both new and old meters. However the KPLC stuff must me involved else you'll be caught so I can also classify that as internal fraud. Now about the system anomaly, some of their backend software is very archaic and is tedious to maintain. Maintaining 1995 n 98 software in 2015 can feel like a lesson in computer history. So much of the blame lies squarely on their side so they should think of ways to get out of their troubles instead of passing blame to consumers.
Boris Boyka
#37 Posted : Monday, June 01, 2015 11:54:38 PM

I hope the investors who have been bullish on Kenya Power prospects over 2/3 year period have read this!!!!!!

They have ignored...let me remind them!
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#38 Posted : Tuesday, June 02, 2015 4:13:45 AM

whiteowl wrote:
subzero wrote:

Actually its both fraud and system anomaly. One form of fraud is in accounting. Your bill can spike up in one month and if you pay up without complaining they have their ways of cashing out the extra money. If you complain, they usually recalculate and give you a new correct bill.This is common with old meters.As for bypassing the meter and using elec without being charged, that can be done with both new and old meters. However the KPLC stuff must me involved else you'll be caught so I can also classify that as internal fraud. Now about the system anomaly, some of their backend software is very archaic and is tedious to maintain. Maintaining 1995 n 98 software in 2015 can feel like a lesson in computer history. So much of the blame lies squarely on their side so they should think of ways to get out of their troubles instead of passing blame to consumers.

Real Stuff!
#staff,no?

#39 Posted : Tuesday, June 02, 2015 6:50:57 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
doubletap wrote:

link

They could spend even a month there but learn no lessons. Remember when MPigs went to Rwanda so that we could prevent political and tribal motivated violence?
#40 Posted : Tuesday, June 02, 2015 8:20:30 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
doubletap wrote:

link

they are not facing any challenges, ni vile tu sasa those with prepaid meters are in control of what they use, plus after disconnection one is not charged crazy amounts for re connection.

I have always wondered why our lawyers have never been interested in doing a ka mass lawsuit for those overcharged by kplc.

Tax accountants should also do mass tax returns,doctors should also do off mass medical services,farmers should also offer mass food products at stay at home dads like you should also offer mass daycare services?