Market
Review
The BigBox by Safaricom
D32 wrote:D32 wrote:KulaRaha wrote:Saw this being flogged at the mall on the weekend.
Really need something to replace my Zuku, BUT
Safcom as usual being greedy insist we need bundles. I can see my kids chewing through 50GB in 3 days...leave alone a month.
I think this bigbox will fail.
So sad. Such a product needs unlimited data. Why do you want to replace Zuku? @KulaRaha Reminder for you to reply. Ok, I now understand. They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
AlphDoti wrote:grolut wrote:WAH! I stream movies and series daily and my usage for the month is only this: Yaani people are this idle? Enyewe I must be too old Alphie you are old kubali tu. Good we have 2nd person showing their data usage, am sure many dont even use 20GBs yet they are up in arms complaining. Unless you are streaming live content daily... "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
How is the Bigbox's uptake thus far! Dunia ni msongamano..
AlphDoti wrote:grolut wrote:WAH! I stream movies and series daily and my usage for the month is only this: Yaani people are this idle? Enyewe I must be too old Which service do you use to stream series? Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,702 Location: NAIROBI
Hallo guys; ON the Big box how does one get reception of the local free to air channels. Is it through the sim card/4/3G or via an aerial? Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ni swali tu
majimaji wrote:Ni swali tu Get Bamba TV instead. Cheaper. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
How does a person use the bigbox to access internet.My sonybig box tv looks like this If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,818 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
majimaji wrote:Ni swali tu But that would be a very expensive DVB-T2 decoder. Afadhali Jolini! Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/27/2010 Posts: 951 Location: Nyumbani
Swenani wrote:How does a person use the bigbox to access internet.My sonybig box tv looks like this If its modern, you should have the LAN/WAN outlet somewhere and you connect that to the LAN/WAN outlet on the bigbox
bought this box 3 weeks ago and have not gotten internet from it. and Safcom's support seems to not even know what to do. TV part is good but hii ya 3G/4G ni upuzi tu
Rank: New-farer Joined: 1/21/2015 Posts: 78 Location: Pare Pare
50gb will not cut it as a home broadband solution. Even if there's a data cap it should be in the 300gb range. I use the zuku 10mbps that fits perfectly though erratic at times. This month my logs indicate 172 gb down, 29 gb up. With good fibre, content is a non-issue really. I stream high-res movies and series on popcorn-time and EPL games too for free.
Similarly, youtube videos on zuku are always on 1080p, something akin to unicorns on Safaricom's networks. Clearly saf-com has miscalculated here. The only benefit i see here is better call quality. They should have improved and expanded the Nyayo estate fibre project. This may be a good thing for the lower middle classes though zuku's unlimited 1mbps (in select areas) might kill it.
50gb will not cut it as a home broadband solution. Even if there's a data cap it should be in the 300gb range. I use the zuku 10mbps that fits perfectly though erratic at times. This month my logs indicate 172 gb down, 29 gb up. With good fibre, content is a non-issue really. I stream high-res movies and series on popcorn-time and EPL games too for free.
Similarly, youtube videos on zuku are always on 1080p, something akin to unicorns on Safaricom's networks. Clearly saf-com has miscalculated here. The only benefit i see here is better call quality. They should have improved and expanded the Nyayo estate fibre project. This may be a good thing for the lower middle classes though zuku's unlimited 1mbps (in select areas) might kill it.
Nimerudi wrote:50gb will not cut it as a home broadband solution. Even if there's a data cap it should be in the 300gb range. I use the zuku 10mbps that fits perfectly though erratic at times. This month my logs indicate 172 gb down, 29 gb up. With good fibre, content is a non-issue really. I stream high-res movies and series on popcorn-time and EPL games too for free.
Similarly, youtube videos on zuku are always on 1080p, something akin to unicorns on Safaricom's networks. Clearly saf-com has miscalculated here. The only benefit i see here is better call quality. They should have improved and expanded the Nyayo estate fibre project. This may be a good thing for the lower middle classes though zuku's unlimited 1mbps (in select areas) might kill it. Post your data chart here. How many Kenyans download content to watch on their laptops? How many own laptops? With good content, you wouldn't be downloading stuff rather you'd be shuffling and pressing your remote. Actually you shouldn't see the need to stream content live if you can just watch on teli. I have a question tho. How many of you in your houses download stuff to watch on your laptops? When you stream live content, do you have a HDMI cable to watch from the TV ama you all gather up to watch from the laptop? Those abroad use the same amount of data as you because mainly they have to catch up with habari za nyumbani. Otherwise out there they have options of high speed internet of 10GB data + TV for $80 "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
@murchr Unfortunately I restarted my Mac yesterday but you can already tell my kind of data consumption from the screenshot (23.86gb down just over a day). This is from just one device in our hao. Safcom's 50gbs are more than likely to end within two to three days here. Impractical. The assumption here is that someone looking to buy a router-based service has access to laptops and smartphones etc. How else will they consume Saf's 50gb bundle then? Let's be honest here, content costs money. That's why DSTV premium costs above 7k per month. Now how many Kenyans can afford that, if content is their primary consideration? On the other hand, a decent internet connection allows you to enjoy lots of foreign content without the premium, though legality is a different issue. E.g zuku 10mbps fibre + premium tv goes for 4,299 monthly. With a cheap android TV box, you can stream the stuff straight to your tv at the click of a remote. Have a look at some of the stuff you can enjoy with good net.
Nimerudi wrote:@murchr Unfortunately I restarted my Mac yesterday but you can already tell my kind of data consumption from the screenshot (23.86gb down just over a day). This is from just one device in our hao. Safcom's 50gbs are more than likely to end within two to three days here. Impractical. The assumption here is that someone looking to buy a router-based service has access to laptops and smartphones etc. How else will they consume Saf's 50gb bundle then? Let's be honest here, content costs money. That's why DSTV premium costs above 7k per month. Now how many Kenyans can afford that, if content is their primary consideration? On the other hand, a decent internet connection allows you to enjoy lots of foreign content without the premium, though legality is a different issue. E.g zuku 10mbps fibre + premium tv goes for 4,299 monthly. With a cheap android TV box, you can stream the stuff straight to your tv at the click of a remote. Have a look at some of the stuff you can enjoy with good net. My friend that 23.86GB is all the data you've used up in that site not todays activity . To stream one movie on netflix takes about 1GB. So are you saying that you've streamed about 23 movies today? If you have, then I sincerely hope you are selling them on river road. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
@Murchr Another screenshot for you >> My log now stands above 42GB. This is less than 24 hours since I last posted. I can restart my Mac again should you feel so inclined to ask. And no, I use my connection for residential purposes. Similarly, a good quality movie in 1080p should be in the range of 1.5-6GB. I think the bandwidth issue is now decided.
Rank: Member Joined: 2/27/2014 Posts: 454 Location: Republic of Enchantment.
Nimerudi wrote:@Murchr Another screenshot for you >> My log now stands above 42GB. This is less than 24 hours since I last posted. I can restart my Mac again should you feel so inclined to ask. And no, I use my connection for residential purposes. Similarly, a good quality movie in 1080p should be in the range of 1.5-6GB. I think the bandwidth issue is now decided. I decided to get the bigbox for testing and so far so good.The box is android based and one is able to sideload APKs from the internet.I managed to install VLC. The best of the apps on the box so far is KODI and TVMC.TVMC allows one to stream movies without going through the murky torrent and download sites. Although I am 3G area I have been able to stream on youtube and TVMC. Divers - can you laugh in scuba gear, or will you drown? I was wondering. - James May.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
geofreygachie wrote:Nimerudi wrote:@Murchr Another screenshot for you >> My log now stands above 42GB. This is less than 24 hours since I last posted. I can restart my Mac again should you feel so inclined to ask. And no, I use my connection for residential purposes. Similarly, a good quality movie in 1080p should be in the range of 1.5-6GB. I think the bandwidth issue is now decided. I decided to get the bigbox for testing and so far so good.The box is android based and one is able to sideload APKs from the internet.I managed to install VLC. The best of the apps on the box so far is KODI and TVMC.TVMC allows one to stream movies without going through the murky torrent and download sites. Although I am 3G area I have been able to stream on youtube and TVMC. Interesting feedback, at least from real usage of the box - but at 5k per month do you think its worth, ama should one stick to dstv - of course content wise.
Market
Review
The BigBox by Safaricom