10 Pages«<78910>
sema mvua !
#161 Posted : Sunday, May 24, 2015 8:04:17 AM

Wainadi wrote:
Floods of the 50's Nairobi River

I know this place that bridge is still there and it has an inscription built in 1938.

Yet the ones built by Kenyan cowboy contractors in 2008 have already been washed away!!!

BTW...why are they called cowboy contractors??
#162 Posted : Sunday, May 24, 2015 11:38:24 AM

With all the rain, I was expecting to hear concerned authorities talking of desilting dams/lakes rivers or uprooting water hyacinth as would be the case for Nrb dam. Why is it that as a country we don't think of solutions to solve a problem? With the population increase in Nairobi surely is Ndakaini enough? The residents of Murang'a also want part of that water

I'm checking on the WDR 2015 and I think I, or one can, come up with possible answers to your question by looking at the thoughts in this document. http://www.worldbank.org/en/publication/wdr2015

#163 Posted : Sunday, May 24, 2015 1:36:20 PM

Wainadi wrote:
Floods of the 50's Nairobi River

I know this place that bridge is still there and it has an inscription built in 1938.

Yet the ones built by Kenyan cowboy contractors in 2008 have already been washed away!!!

BTW...why are they called cowboy contractors??

Informal meaning: a person who is an irresponsible or unscrupulous operator in business
whiteowl
#164 Posted : Sunday, May 24, 2015 3:22:31 PM

Iganamagana wrote:
I've said it before and I'll say it again - if you live in Nairobi don't earn a 7 figure salary or business income (or higher) per month, then you have no business being in Nairobi. That place is unbearable for the broke and the faint hearted. Gather courage. Move out. You might be surprised that the schooling or business you are doing might thrive even more in Meru, Malindi, Kitale or Kisii. Some Kenyans are just obsessed with living in a big city & indicating on their FB info bar 'lives in Nairobi, yet their quality of life is way worse than a shopkeeper's in kakamega or a restaurant owner in Machakos. Even for those working in parastatals & corporate organizations, ask for a transfer to another town & you'll be surprised at how much you'll enjoy life - peace, quiet, quality sleep for whatever number of hours you want, spending quality time with your family every morning & evening. . The list is endless. Personally, moving out of Nairobi is one the best decisions I've made in my life. Let's stop this obsession of living in a big city (where 61% of the population live in slums & informal settlements) and rural to urban migration. Life is not about how much you earn or how many skyscrapers you count (none of which you own) while in traffic on your way to work, it's about spiritual peace, good health, fresh air, quality time with loved ones, watching flowers bloom, enjoying the sunset etc. Think.

Sasa unataka tuende wapi? Naivasha, Thika, Limuru and Machakos are becoming a mess. Sample the Thika traffic jams one of these fine weekends and report back here.

The guy who wrote that on his fb is a wazuan!

@mv_ufanisi?
#165 Posted : Sunday, May 24, 2015 9:43:07 PM

These so called journalists will steal everything!! Including the title of this thread!!!
#166 Posted : Wednesday, May 27, 2015 11:27:43 AM

Haiya @kiashSad

endelea kuchekelea Kidero tu ... God is watching you
Don't joke with nature

Looks like Nairobi's got company

Her sister city Houston Texas is Flooded

interstate 45

Cars stranded in flood waters along Interstate 45 at N. Main St. in Houston, TX

"πŸ˜–πŸ˜‘KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
Iganamagana
#167 Posted : Wednesday, May 27, 2015 11:34:20 AM

Siringi wrote:
Haiya @kiashSad

Don't joke with nature

interstate 45

Afadhari hao. A lot of the vehicle in the lone star state are 4WD's and @Kiash might not feel the effect like us in South C.
#168 Posted : Wednesday, May 27, 2015 11:34:35 AM

"πŸ˜–πŸ˜‘KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
#169 Posted : Wednesday, May 27, 2015 2:50:54 PM

of all the #NairobiFloods images this one I found most poignant
it drove the message home loud and clear

"When nature says Return to Sender" --

#170 Posted : Wednesday, May 27, 2015 2:58:37 PM

Siringi wrote:
Haiya @kiashSad

Don't joke with nature

interstate 45

RIP Kiashsmile smile
hindi ni riu
#171 Posted : Thursday, May 28, 2015 12:43:20 PM

Siringi wrote:
Haiya @kiashSad

Don't joke with nature

interstate 45

RIP Kiashsmile smile

I dont get it. Which pic was taken first here?

β€œOnce the last tree is cut and the last river poisoned,you will find you cannot eat your money" Traditional saying.
#172 Posted : Thursday, May 28, 2015 12:58:25 PM

hindi ni riu wrote:
Siringi wrote:
Haiya @kiashSad

Don't joke with nature

interstate 45

RIP Kiashsmile smile

I dont get it. Which pic was taken first here?

my guess, ya usiku was taken first when the flash floods came in na hiyo ingine ya mchana was taken later after the water levels went down kiasi.
kiash
#173 Posted : Thursday, May 28, 2015 2:25:38 PM

Siringi wrote:
Haiya @kiashSad

Don't joke with nature

interstate 45

RIP Kiashsmile smile

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you this is no South C man they have fire fighters who respond immediately and incase you are the local Kisero, you do not need to call the local Waitas or waiti for the local Sonko rescue team you just dial 911 and they come to your rescue.
#174 Posted : Thursday, May 28, 2015 3:54:22 PM

kiash wrote:
Siringi wrote:
Haiya @kiashSad

Don't joke with nature

interstate 45

RIP Kiashsmile smile

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you this is no South C man they have fire fighters who respond immediately and incase you are the local Kisero, you do not need to call the local Waitas or waiti for the local Sonko rescue team you just dial 911 and they come to your rescue.

They should learn from kenya how to build roads with proper drainage eg thika rd.
#175 Posted : Thursday, May 28, 2015 3:58:23 PM

kiash wrote:
Siringi wrote:
Haiya @kiashSad

Don't joke with nature

interstate 45

RIP Kiashsmile smile

They should learn from kenya how to build roads with proper drainage eg thika rd.

#176 Posted : Tuesday, June 02, 2015 9:44:08 AM

The rains finlly got devolved to Mombasa County smile

Idiots built houses on what initially was a river. Nature never forgets neither forgives

#177 Posted : Tuesday, June 02, 2015 9:50:36 AM

#178 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2015 2:44:21 PM

Ghana #AccraFloods too traumatizing to post here

kwani iko global warming am ni ujinga "imetufikicha" huku?
Jitahidi
#179 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2015 2:57:21 PM

Siringi wrote:

Sad images from twitter..not interesting to look at. Sad in deed
#180 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2015 3:29:22 PM

Siringi wrote:

Very graphic!!!

An explosion at a petrol station in Ghana's capital Accra killed about 90 people, many of whom had sought shelter there from torrential rain, on Wednesday night, the fire brigade said.The blast was caused by a fire that erupted at a nearby truck terminal then spread to the petrol station and other buildings, fire brigade spokesman Prince Billy Anaglate said.It ripped through the filling station, operated by GOIL (GOIL.GH), shattering windows and walls and reducing the station to rubble."It was an explosive fire and so the people sheltering at the filling station did not have an opportunity to escape," Anaglate said.Firefighters battled the blaze into the early hours while police and soldiers joined emergency crews helping rescue people trapped in the wreckage, Accra Mayor Oko Vanderpuije said.

Charred corpses and wreckage of about a dozen cars and mini buses littered the forecourt of the station, where security forces kept an anxious crowd behind a police cordon.A Reuters reporter at the scene saw some charred bodies in cars where they had sought refuge.