Investor
Economy
Kenya Nuclear Energy
Japan Space Agency Advances in Space-Based Solar PowerQuote:The Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency, or Jaxa, said it succeeded in transmitting electric power wirelessly to a pinpoint target using microwaves, which is an essential technology needed for the realization of space-based solar power.
If implemented, microwave-transmitting solar satellites would be set up approximately 35,000 kilometers from earth. Jaxa says that a receiver set up on earth with an approximately three-kilometer radius could create up to one gigawatt of electricity, which is about the same as one nuclear reactor. $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
To develop we need cheap and affordable power. Which country has managed to eradicate abject poverty without affordable power. Rich countries has the options and choice to R&D on other renewables that we lack. Nuclear power is what we need. work to prosper
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/25/2014 Posts: 2,301 Location: kenya
Tokyo wrote:To develop we need cheap and affordable power. Which country has managed to eradicate abject poverty without affordable power. Rich countries has the options and choice to R&D on other renewables that we lack. Nuclear power is what we need. my friend Tokyo, when you see America,europe,asia crying about going green and leaving nuclear they ain't stupid. they did nuclear energy decades and decades ago and they have come to realize that its dangerous for their great grandchildren and not them (which I believe most leaders in Kenya don't care about their great grand children). we don't have to go through what these countries have gone through to realize the harm of these nuclear. if Kenya goes nuclear ill be happy if sanctions can be put to us. I don't want the children of my children to suffer over some underthoughts decision someone made because of over ambitions, please follow the links above and you will understand it from enlightened wazuans
enyands wrote:murchr wrote:[quote=Wikipedia] Geothermal energy is thermal energy generated and stored in the Earth. Thermal energy is the energy that determines the temperature of matter. The geothermal energy of the Earth's crust originates from the original formation of the planet (20%) and from radioactive decay of materials (80%). Geothermal power is cost effective, reliable, sustainable, and environmentally friendly,[7] but has historically been limited to areas near tectonic plate boundaries. Recent technological advances have dramatically expanded the range and size of viable resources, especially for applications such as home heating, opening a potential for widespread exploitation. Still immense potential, that will probably exist long after humanity ceases to exist on earth, and as you can read above with technological advancement we can harness more and more of geothermal. These are the researches that our country should undertake instead of sprinting towards 'what they can't handle' And fyi we still got unimaginable unexploited potential in solar and wind energy, or if sophistication is what we are yearning for then lets think of exploiting 'ocean waves' energy. Add "eating" to that....[/quote The problem with nuclear is to properly dispose those nuclear wastes without having negative impact on the environment . Developed countries have a big challenge with properly disposing them off . For Kenya I think it won't be a challenge but a disaster . We need to exhaust all the available energy sources first then let nuclear be the last resort .did you know that hypothetically speaking that putting solar panels in whole of isiolo district is enough to supply power half of Kenya non stop during the day http://m.naturalnews.com...k_Washington_state.html[/quote] It's sad that we were ttalking about nuclear ambitions the other day . IV been reading newspapers about lead poisoning in coast from some politician factory. Lead as a material is also one of radioactive metal if well enriched . Sasa ndugu zanguni hii carelessness of handling this lead had caused damage to slum dwellers . What about the kenyans govt handling of nuclear wastes ? Personally the kenyan leadership no one has enough balls to handle the heat coming with nuclear generation . We need to be matured reason wise and see things beyond our current personal interest and see the burden of kizazi kijacho. This nuclear ambition is totally ambiguous and sign sign of technological immaturity on some self centered leaders. Just look at the lead irresponsibility , how about nuclear sludge errors . Stop this senseless ambition.
Rank: Member Joined: 7/17/2011 Posts: 627 Location: Mbui-Nzau, Kikumbulyu
Thorium nuclear reactors are quite promising...but still works in progress. kenya can opt for them just in case
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,819 Location: NAIROBI
Nuclear energy will not see the light in kenya. This talk about it and formation of kenya nuclear board is an avenue for some people to eat and their cronies to benefit Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ericsson wrote:Nuclear energy will not see the light in kenya. This talk about it and formation of kenya nuclear board is an avenue for some people to eat and their cronies to benefit Thanks eEricsson . I said before western Countries are not stupid to stop nuclear and go green .sisi wafrika what is this that we are smarter than them tthat we see nuclear to be good
http://mobile.nation.co....rvz/-/index.htmlSomeone somewhere has a very thick and rich whitish tissues organic substance in between the two ears
Impunity wrote:hisah wrote:Nuclear energy is just a bloody expensive way of generating steam. Why reinvent the wheel when nature has provided the same in abundance! Hapo mayuu si mnatumia nyuklea? Sasa sisi ndio hamtaki tujienjoy? Tell me if Britain sio mayuu someone reasoning somewhere
enyands wrote:enyands wrote:murchr wrote:[quote=Wikipedia] Geothermal energy is thermal energy generated and stored in the Earth. Thermal energy is the energy that determines the temperature of matter. The geothermal energy of the Earth's crust originates from the original formation of the planet (20%) and from radioactive decay of materials (80%). Geothermal power is cost effective, reliable, sustainable, and environmentally friendly,[7] but has historically been limited to areas near tectonic plate boundaries. Recent technological advances have dramatically expanded the range and size of viable resources, especially for applications such as home heating, opening a potential for widespread exploitation. Still immense potential, that will probably exist long after humanity ceases to exist on earth, and as you can read above with technological advancement we can harness more and more of geothermal. These are the researches that our country should undertake instead of sprinting towards 'what they can't handle' And fyi we still got unimaginable unexploited potential in solar and wind energy, or if sophistication is what we are yearning for then lets think of exploiting 'ocean waves' energy. Add "eating" to that....[/quote The problem with nuclear is to properly dispose those nuclear wastes without having negative impact on the environment . Developed countries have a big challenge with properly disposing them off . For Kenya I think it won't be a challenge but a disaster . We need to exhaust all the available energy sources first then let nuclear be the last resort .did you know that hypothetically speaking that putting solar panels in whole of isiolo district is enough to supply power half of Kenya non stop during the day http://m.naturalnews.com...k_Washington_state.html[/quote] It's sad that we were ttalking about nuclear ambitions the other day . IV been reading newspapers about lead poisoning in coast from some politician factory. Lead as a material is also one of radioactive metal if well enriched . Sasa ndugu zanguni hii carelessness of handling this lead had caused damage to slum dwellers . What about the kenyans govt handling of nuclear wastes ? Personally the kenyan leadership no one has enough balls to handle the heat coming with nuclear generation . We need to be matured reason wise and see things beyond our current personal interest and see the burden of kizazi kijacho. This nuclear ambition is totally ambiguous and sign sign of technological immaturity on some self centered leaders. Just look at the lead irresponsibility , how about nuclear sludge errors . Stop this senseless ambition. USA WARNS KENYA CAUTIOUSLY ON NUCLEAR
Investor
Economy
Kenya Nuclear Energy