wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

Car import bizness
kiash
#1 Posted : Sunday, May 17, 2015 4:04:42 PM

Am tired of waiting for my employers money and want to quit.I would like to venture into this business and i know there are people who it in Wazua like @jkmwatha.What are the pros and cons of this business? I imported a matatu some years back and everything was done by an agent.I have seen of late how people have been swindled and want to base it on trust. I have seen lots of car yards in Nrbi and do not know if those guys are the ones who import.Do you need to be an agent? please provide some info.Criticism,advice all welcome.
JkMwatha
#2 Posted : Sunday, May 17, 2015 5:55:24 PM

kiash wrote:
Am tired of waiting for my employers money and want to quit.I would like to venture into this business and i know there are people who it in Wazua like @jkmwatha.What are the pros and cons of this business? I imported a matatu some years back and everything was done by an agent.I have seen of late how people have been swindled and want to base it on trust. I have seen lots of car yards in Nrbi and do not know if those guys are the ones who import.Do you need to be an agent? please provide some info.Criticism,advice all welcome.

You talk about 'Import' not export. This presumes you're based in KE. (I always thought you were based elsewhere).

The many yards in Nbi do many different things some import themselves, some use agents, buy already imported cars, keep other people's cars etc... or a combination of all.
It's not just of late that people have been swindled, but this has always happened and is likely to continue.

What specifically would you like to do?
Set up a car yard? Bring cars to sell? Buy on order?

Whatever it is you want to do, you may need to enjoy it otherwise the stress will kill you.
kiash
#3 Posted : Sunday, May 17, 2015 6:04:19 PM

JkMwatha wrote:
kiash wrote:

You talk about 'mpIort' not export. This presumes you're based in KE. (I always thought you were based elsewhere).

The many yards in Nbi do many different things some import themselves, some use agents, buy already imported cars, keep other people's cars etc... or a combination of all.
It's not just of late that people have been swindled, but this has always happened and is likely to continue.

What specifically would you like to do?
Set up a car yard? Bring cars to sell? Buy on order?

Whatever it is you want to do, you may need to enjoy it otherwise the stress will kill you.

The business would be registered in Kenya but am still based elsewhere.My idea is to do Japan. Stress !! insights please
JkMwatha
#4 Posted : Sunday, May 17, 2015 7:35:48 PM

kiash wrote:
The business would be registered in Kenya but am still based elsewhere.My idea is to do Japan. Stress !! insights please

@kiash, you're seeking advice but still not saying what you want...fungua roho. This is not a new business idea someone can steal from you. Its flooded.
So is it importing many cars and selling?, is it being a broker? and buying on order?.... ?

Stresses
-if you're bringing your own cars, which models will you sell?
-Risk of slow sell and vehicle/s losing value
-Being based out of the country, who will conduct business for you? Is the person trustworthy?
-If the car you order from Japan is not exactly in the condition you expected, what happens then? i.e. the buyer is not happy with what you got and has already paid.
-If you are using your own money and trust that the buyer will complete payment once they receive the unit.... then they fail to deliver.what then?
- you take your car to a yard and they place it huko nyuma, nobody sees it or they're pricing too high so no one is interested then they tell you that you need to teremsha bei.
In all cases you may lose or just break even.
Now if you don't enjoy selling cars, you will throw in the towel. But if you hang in there, it may amount to something.

kiash
#5 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2015 7:42:23 AM

JkMwatha wrote:
kiash wrote:

@kiash, you're seeking advice but still not saying what you want...fungua roho. This is not a new business idea someone can steal from you. Its flooded.
So is it importing many cars and selling?, is it being a broker? and buying on order?.... ?

Stresses
-if you're bringing your own cars, which models will you sell?
-Risk of slow sell and vehicle/s losing value
-Being based out of the country, who will conduct business for you? Is the person trustworthy?
-If the car you order from Japan is not exactly in the condition you expected, what happens then? i.e. the buyer is not happy with what you got and has already paid.
-If you are using your own money and trust that the buyer will complete payment once they receive the unit.... then they fail to deliver.what then?
- you take your car to a yard and they place it huko nyuma, nobody sees it or they're pricing too high so no one is interested then they tell you that you need to teremsha bei.
In all cases you may lose or just break even.
Now if you don't enjoy selling cars, you will throw in the towel. But if you hang in there, it may amount to something.

@Jk I want to do orders.In this case i do not have to use my own money at first. I can then get a yard like you say where i can get several cars as i wait for more orders. Actually the point of the car condition would likely not arse as i plan to view the car /cars by myself. The plan is to get car details, and then im the one to do the viewing in Japan end then forward the car to the person in Kenya. The thing is when i bought the matatu, actually it was supposed to be in the tourism industry but Alkebab struck and now its become a mat. The person i used was sending mails with the car details and it was like an auction thing and he would say "you will have to quote your price on such and such a model " but then the price of the car would end up being higher.
So do the Kenyan importers participate in the auction? appoint agents in Japan? I do not want to ask the agent how it goes he might think i want to steal his business idea (which i understand). The sites i have seen so far have a fixed price in dollars.
jerry
#6 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2015 9:07:03 AM

@kiash, (1) which are these fixed prices sites? (2) if you were to send me a KDH201... what would you require(cash) from me (3) where would I go for MOU and payment?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#7 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2015 9:59:58 AM

Haiyaaaa!
Mayuu kumedhoka...hii Burundi coupe was really byad!

jerry
#8 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2015 10:18:10 AM

@Impunity, your yatcht not safe?!
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
kiash
#9 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2015 11:08:30 AM

Haiyaaaa!
Mayuu kumedhoka...hii Burundi coupe was really byad!

@impunity, hakujathoka as i said i want to be my own boss. Hii mambo ya kuosha wazungu as you say imenishosha Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly . Any way i have refused a transfer to another place several times and i can see the third one coming and am just preparing ma self.
kiash
#10 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2015 11:31:08 AM

jerry wrote:
@kiash, (1) which are these fixed prices sites? (2) if you were to send me a KDH201... what would you require(cash) from me (3) where would I go for MOU and payment?

@jerry i checked http://www.tradecarview.com/

I have to have someone in Kenya (one to look for client)But to answer yourquestion , yes a deposit is would be needed .The person in Kenya looks for clients who want to import and then the MOU is done with a lawyer. As for me its easier to travel so i will have to do the selection myself.
UpcomingPaperChaser
#11 Posted : Saturday, May 30, 2015 4:10:59 PM

Boss nowadays most things nowadays happen online, sites like Cheki, OLX and many others are very functional. so if you have a heavy online presence, it will act in your favor
Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.