10 Pages«<678910>
sema mvua !
#141 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2015 4:43:25 PM

Siringi wrote:
Nairobi is not flooding. rivers are just flowing

The water is just joining the dots where private developers had interfered with nature

Its just that our media doesn't do a good job in going out there and getting the true picture otherwise if this was in the west, some demolitions and massive law suits would be taking place now. Tumezoea kukaliwa kama mayai. We need to get serious as a society. Someone should ask tough questions, like what the 50M is meant for and what do Kanju workers do. Do we have a sewage system? Who manages it? Anyone wondering why in 2015, a country claiming to be middle income is suffering from Cholera? If Ebola happened in Kenya we'd die like chicken.
#142 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2015 5:05:16 PM

#143 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2015 6:56:42 PM

With today's technology and expertise everything can be rectified we just have to use our brains. Otherwise Nairobi will be one big slum
#144 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2015 7:08:29 PM

I've said it before and I'll say it again - if you live in Nairobi don't earn a 7 figure salary or business income (or higher) per month, then you have no business being in Nairobi. That place is unbearable for the broke and the faint hearted. Gather courage. Move out. You might be surprised that the schooling or business you are doing might thrive even more in Meru, Malindi, Kitale or Kisii. Some Kenyans are just obsessed with living in a big city & indicating on their FB info bar 'lives in Nairobi, yet their quality of life is way worse than a shopkeeper's in kakamega or a restaurant owner in Machakos. Even for those working in parastatals & corporate organizations, ask for a transfer to another town & you'll be surprised at how much you'll enjoy life - peace, quiet, quality sleep for whatever number of hours you want, spending quality time with your family every morning & evening. . The list is endless. Personally, moving out of Nairobi is one the best decisions I've made in my life. Let's stop this obsession of living in a big city (where 61% of the population live in slums & informal settlements) and rural to urban migration. Life is not about how much you earn or how many skyscrapers you count (none of which you own) while in traffic on your way to work, it's about spiritual peace, good health, fresh air, quality time with loved ones, watching flowers bloom, enjoying the sunset etc. Think.

Iganamagana
#145 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2015 7:31:28 PM

I've said it before and I'll say it again - if you live in Nairobi don't earn a 7 figure salary or business income (or higher) per month, then you have no business being in Nairobi. That place is unbearable for the broke and the faint hearted. Gather courage. Move out. You might be surprised that the schooling or business you are doing might thrive even more in Meru, Malindi, Kitale or Kisii. Some Kenyans are just obsessed with living in a big city & indicating on their FB info bar 'lives in Nairobi, yet their quality of life is way worse than a shopkeeper's in kakamega or a restaurant owner in Machakos. Even for those working in parastatals & corporate organizations, ask for a transfer to another town & you'll be surprised at how much you'll enjoy life - peace, quiet, quality sleep for whatever number of hours you want, spending quality time with your family every morning & evening. . The list is endless. Personally, moving out of Nairobi is one the best decisions I've made in my life. Let's stop this obsession of living in a big city (where 61% of the population live in slums & informal settlements) and rural to urban migration. Life is not about how much you earn or how many skyscrapers you count (none of which you own) while in traffic on your way to work, it's about spiritual peace, good health, fresh air, quality time with loved ones, watching flowers bloom, enjoying the sunset etc. Think.

Sasa unataka tuende wapi? Naivasha, Thika, Limuru and Machakos are becoming a mess. Sample the Thika traffic jams one of these fine weekends and report back here.
#146 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2015 7:48:17 PM

Iganamagana wrote:

Sasa unataka tuende wapi? Naivasha, Thika, Limuru and Machakos are becoming a mess. Sample the Thika traffic jams one of these fine weekends and report back here.

The guy who wrote that on his fb is a wazuan!
Makali1
#147 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2015 12:34:36 AM

Employers should have stepped up to the plate and given their employees a place to sleep for the night, given the weather warning for torrential rain. That's what they do in advanced countries. When there's a weather alert the company will offer a mattress or sleeping bag for whoever feels unsafe traveling to his/her home after work.
#148 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2015 3:59:55 AM

Floods of the 50's Nairobi River
#149 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2015 1:23:38 PM

#150 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2015 1:27:21 PM

Iganamagana wrote:

@Nakujua?smile
#151 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2015 3:36:47 PM

Iganamagana wrote:

@Nakujua?smile

True
kiash
#152 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2015 5:10:53 PM

Swali , i saw guys scooping water from their cars do they expect them to be operational? Here when flooding occurs and cars are swept, you just forget it ati engine is soaked and its the end of the car.
#153 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2015 7:09:04 PM

kiash wrote:
Swali , i saw guys scooping water from their cars do they expect them to be operational? Here when flooding occurs and cars are swept, you just forget it ati engine is soaked and its the end of the car.

Huko mko na pesa nyingi mnazo pata kwa kuosha hizo tako mzee...hapa Kenya we have to revive the soaked car.

#154 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2015 7:43:58 PM

kiash wrote:

Provided you don't switch on the car when it is submerged in water, it will be okay. It might need kidogo TLC though. Ukiwasha, wewe kwisha!!! Water will be drawn into the combustion chambers and destroy the engine.

One more thing @Kiash, labour huko mayuu is very high. Imagine how much you are paid to wash the elderly. How much do you think a qualified mechanic will charge you? And they charge per hour!
#155 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2015 7:46:32 PM

kiash wrote:

Huko mko na pesa nyingi mnazo pata kwa kuosha hizo tako mzee...hapa Kenya we have to revive the soaked car.

@kiash is right. Flooded cars are normally written off due to the numerous mechanical, electrical and safety issues that result from the flooding. Buyers are always advised to avoid flooded vehicles like plague.
#156 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2015 7:47:13 PM

kiash wrote:

Sio pesa wako nayo. Labour charges are insane!! Get your car repaired and 9 out of 10 times the labour cost will be higher than the cost of the spare parts. In Kenya that rarely ever happens - unless we we are talking about parts that cost under a thousand bob!
#157 Posted : Saturday, May 16, 2015 10:40:10 AM

Iganamagana wrote:

@Nakujua?smile

True

smile never ever, sijawahi comment or post on facebook - 7 figure income is a dream for a stay at home dad, though nakubali I prefer life outside nairobi.
Wainadi
#158 Posted : Saturday, May 16, 2015 11:08:41 AM

I know this place that bridge is still there and it has an inscription built in 1938.
Its all good.
#159 Posted : Saturday, May 16, 2015 12:20:32 PM

Wainadi wrote:

I know this place that bridge is still there and it has an inscription built in 1938.

Yet the ones built by Kenyan cowboy contractors in 2008 have already been washed away!!!
#160 Posted : Sunday, May 24, 2015 2:35:12 AM

With all the rain, I was expecting to hear concerned authorities talking of desilting dams/lakes rivers or uprooting water hyacinth as would be the case for Nrb dam. Why is it that as a country we don't think of solutions to solve a problem? With the population increase in Nairobi surely is Ndakaini enough? The residents of Murang'a also want part of that water