*warning:Do not copy blindly it does not work for everyone

Uchumi
Sell price 12.45( Jan 2015)- buy price 8.45(Nov 2014) x 236,500=946,000/=
Leverage: Kshs 2,000,0000 Source: Sacco
Interest rate: 12%p.a. Monthly payments 52 668*4 months=210,672
946,000-47,300(capital gains tax)=898,700
898,700-210,672=688,028(net gains)

NIC
Sell price 75 (Aug 2014)-buy price 29.75(May 2012)X 20500=927,625/=(net gains)
Buy back price(May 2015)Kshs 1,537,500/56.5=27,000 shares

Kengen
Sell price 12.5(Oct 2014)-buy price 9.95 (July 2014)X 150,000=382,500/=
Leverage Kshs 1,500,000 Source: Sacco
Loan period: 4 years
Monthly payments Kshs 39,500
Total interest: 397,000
Buy back (Jan 2015) 1,882,500/9.55=197,000
Sell price 11.3(March 2015)-buy price 9.55 (Jan 2015)x 197,000=344,750
344,750-17237.5(capital gains tax)=327,512.5
Buy back (May 2015) =2,208,863/9.5=232,000
#42 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2015 1:26:58 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:
Some random trades.

Uchumi

NIC

Kengen

Uchumi - 33% Net Return
NIC - 152% Net Return
Kengen - 22% Net Return
#43 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2015 4:51:41 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:
Some random trades.

Uchumi

NIC

Kengen

This is some serious strategy! NIC & Kengen on bear?

Aguytrying
#44 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2015 8:31:41 PM

@mkonomtupu. congrats. being able to pull that off is not easy. couple speculation with leverage very large risk, but its working for you. I've been eyeing NIC bank also, I think the company is on a good growth trajectory.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#45 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2015 8:59:37 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
@mkonomtupu. congrats. being able to pull that off is not easy. couple speculation with leverage very large risk, but its working for you. I've been eyeing NIC bank also, I think the company is on a good growth trajectory.

Congrats Bw.MkonomtupuApplause Applause Applause
@SufficientlyP
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#46 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2015 9:01:43 PM

And he's about to make money on his 9.50 Kengenssmile
@SufficientlyP
Pesa Nane
#47 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2015 10:36:50 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:
Some random trades.

Uchumi

NIC
Buy back price(May 2015)Kshs 1,537,500/56.5=27,000 shares (Gaifafa)

Kengen

Yawa! are those Zim $$ or it's Kshs.?? Totally hate you!! Applause Applause
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#48 Posted : Saturday, May 16, 2015 12:41:49 AM

digitek1 wrote:
yes Warren buffet does
Not really. That said... I would not mind that amount ($40bn) in Shs!
target1360
#49 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2015 1:31:31 PM

I’m very conservative. I will never buy shares in my life, I put my money in fixed deposit. But if you give me money, I will buy good running shoes and running gear, those kinds of things because that’s what I love doing.-ohana

why why would the KK ceo not buy shares????
rink
I find satisfaction in owning great business,not trading them
#50 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2015 3:59:25 PM

target1360 wrote:
I’m very conservative. I will never buy shares in my life, I put my money in fixed deposit. But if you give me money, I will buy good running shoes and running gear, those kinds of things because that’s what I love doing.-ohana

rink

What? I always assumed that the man is a lakesider!
#51 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2015 5:30:33 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:
Some random trades.

Uchumi

NIC

Kengen

So you take loans to buy Shares. Be very very careful usije ukalilia chooni kama those of the infamous SafCom IPO loans.

mwekez@ji
#52 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2015 6:06:04 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:
Some random trades.

Uchumi

NIC

Kengen

Heko kaka!
mwekez@ji
#53 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2015 6:14:09 PM

target1360 wrote:

rink

Yaani he has nothing even on ESOP. No wonder he is poor in investor relations!
#54 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2015 6:52:01 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
And he's about to make money on his 9.50 Kengenssmile

True
target1360
#55 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2015 8:29:23 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
target1360 wrote:

rink

he probably understands the power and control in compound interest.
#56 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2015 8:50:36 PM

target1360 wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
target1360 wrote:

rink

Kwani kwa stocks ni simple interest???
target1360
#57 Posted : Monday, May 18, 2015 9:10:35 PM

target1360 wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
target1360 wrote:

rink

i dont know what to call it.if someone bought eveready ten years ago at sh 25 and today the same trades at about sh 3,what do you call that.?

at times it is possible to beat the stocks market by investing in fixed income which has more stable returns
mwekez@ji
#58 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2015 11:48:24 AM

target1360 wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
target1360 wrote:

rink

i dont know what to call it.if someone bought eveready ten years ago at sh 25 and today the same trades at about sh 3,what do you call that.?

at times it is possible to beat the stocks market by investing in fixed income which has more stable returns

@target1360, Ohana is losing out by not investing in shares. Check out the price of KK ESOP shares and the market price of the shares

Trust you've also heard the principle of Risk-Return Tradeoff
xtina
#59 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2015 3:34:50 PM

target1360 wrote:

rink

@VVS, what do you think of this? As in when the top manager does not have shares in his company?
kryptonite
#60 Posted : Tuesday, May 19, 2015 4:04:01 PM

My takeaway from that interview..."I'm a mean guy, I'm mean to my wife, my kids and my employees at the offices...what can I do? It's the way I am" *shoulder shrug*

This one should have been run through the PR office before publishing.
The harder you work, the luckier you get