wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

6 Pages«<23456>
Is this an African curse?
kayhara
#61 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2015 4:12:37 PM

This needs to stop a guy (msinigeuzie) landed a KDF job a year ago, the last time I saw him he was under medication to treat depression, why because now that he has a job in jeshi his dad wants him to buy him a mguu kumi truck to carry material, the uncle wants a tractor with jembe, halo, turera, planter,the other uncle wants a pickup, another a 110 to be a taxi, the mum wants him to build her a house plus stima and water, the grandma wants him to marry ASAP and give her monthly allowance, 2 bros and 3 sisters wants to go college, and he has to pay the loan he used to pay his way to the job.
weh now where do you even start, the salo is sijui 50k or something, you either get depression or just become kichwa ngumu.
To Each His Own
#62 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2015 4:14:20 PM

We are Africans folks, aceheni uchoyo ya mzungu!!!

@ McReggae - Sio uchoyo. People should not feel entitled to your money. Help. By all means. But choose who to help. And they should know they are not entitled to it. They should actually work twice as hard as everyone else so that they can help someone else or themselves.
#63 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2015 4:21:45 PM

@ McReggae - Sio uchoyo. People should not feel entitled to your money. Help. By all means. But choose who to help. And they should know they are not entitled to it. They should actually work twice as hard as everyone else so that they can help someone else or themselves.

Don't raise expectations too much but when you can, please help!!!
#64 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2015 4:33:46 PM

Sasa McReggae unaona wengine wanataka lorry, tractor, taxi na monthly allowance hata ukiwapatia 1,000/= watafikiria ni ya kununua kiberiti!!!

It is normally the reverse. They demand. You don't raise expectations. Like the poor KDF guy I doubt he ever implied he will get anyone a lorry or a tractor!
#65 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2015 4:41:39 PM

Sasa McReggae unaona wengine wanataka lorry, tractor, taxi na monthly allowance hata ukiwapatia 1,000/= watafikiria ni ya kununua kiberiti!!!

It is normally the reverse. They demand. You don't raise expectations. Like the poor KDF guy I doubt he ever implied he will get anyone a lorry or a tractor!

My method has always been simple, for the distant relatives I simply give them a soft loan, I always know that they will never pay but this is always the perfect way to keep them away!!!!
Toxicity
#66 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2015 8:20:36 AM

Toxicity wrote:
Right now a relative from a different town requested I stay with the Son for two weeks as he had been admitted to college and he had not secured a hostel, two years down the line the guy is still in the house in second year and does not seam to be in a hurry to 'look for hostel' I have raised the issue with the parents not once but twice but on both occasions it has fallen on deaf years.

Pole @Toxicity. This is the oldest trick in the book!!!

Someone leaves his college going kid in your house and even leaves you with two weeks worth of fare to be giving him/her as they seek alternative accommodation for them. Shock on you. After two weeks, kid still in the house. No fare this time. Can you go to work and leave him in the house? Of course not! And the parents know this. The kid stays in your house ad infinitum and you sort his/her upkeep including fare and lunch money! Nothing wrong with helping a fellow human being but YOU should make that decision not be tricked to it.

And it gets worse!!! That boy ain't going nowhere even after graduation. Take it from me. He will stay in your house "tarmacking" only most of the time he will be in the house watching movies. Out of frustrations, you might do everything to get him a job. He will still not move out! Why pay rent and buy food and all those bills while everything is free at Toxicity Inn? He might mess up at work and get fired or quit because the boss/work is stressing him! Many, many years from today you might get totally fed up and throw him out! And guess what the story line will be. "Toxicity threw our kid out of his house bla bla bla". Everything else will be forgotten. This has not happened to me because I refuse to fall for it but I have seen it happen to so many people around me that as soon as you tell me the first three lines of the story I can tell you the rest of the story including what has not happened.

Talk to the parents and tell them "Next semester x cannot stay with me. You guys had better make arrangements for his accommodation." At the end of the current semester, make sure he moves out. Trying to please relatives is what gets people into these messes and 90% of them never appreciate. You are definitely going to be branded a bad person. Now or in 2020. Make the choice.

I help relatives. A lot. But at arms length. And I chose who to help, when and how. If you are a hooligan, I will not pay your school fees just because my mother's second cousin and your father's grandfather were bla bla bla. If you are a bright kid and I can see your parents are struggling then I can decided how I can come in. Even if we are not related!

But my house is my house. I decide who lives in it. Anyone who thinks that is selfish, too bad.

I honestly did not see this coming considering the parents look/looked elite and thought they would be sane enough to understand that with young family having an extra relative from either of the spouse living with you is recipe for disaster. But as you say it is better kukasirikiwa now than 5 years from now.
update president set president = speaker where president is null
Mainat
#67 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2015 8:59:47 AM

Its sad that Adebayor has gone public with family issues especially as a man.
Its not a curse that your relas ask for financial help given our poverty. What might be a curse is when you don't have the wisdom to deal with those requests. For parents, close uncle and aunties that were part of your support base as you grew up, its a blessing to be able to support something small. Within reason.
The Makerege route of providing soft loans is one. The other route is to limit cash handouts by asking relas to give your their business plans which you then jointly develop. Refuse to give fish, but teach how to catch a fish.
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#68 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2015 9:12:36 AM

Mainat wrote:
Its sad that Adebayor has gone public with family issues especially as a man.
Its not a curse that your relas ask for financial help given our poverty. What might be a curse is when you don't have the wisdom to deal with those requests. For parents, close uncle and aunties that were part of your support base as you grew up, its a blessing to be able to support something small. Within reason.
The Makerege route of providing soft loans is one. The other route is to limit cash handouts by asking relas to give your their business plans which you then jointly develop. Refuse to give fish, but teach how to catch a fish.

Adebayor had to go public!

The relatives went public long before spoiling his name. And not in the village! In international media - for a fee of course. They even approached his employer - Real Madrid!!!

They left him no choice!
#69 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2015 9:20:45 AM

kayhara wrote:
This needs to stop a guy (msinigeuzie) landed a KDF job a year ago, the last time I saw him he was under medication to treat depression, why because now that he has a job in jeshi his dad wants him to buy him a mguu kumi truck to carry material, the uncle wants a tractor with jembe, halo, turera, planter,the other uncle wants a pickup, another a 110 to be a taxi, the mum wants him to build her a house plus stima and water, the grandma wants him to marry ASAP and give her monthly allowance, 2 bros and 3 sisters wants to go college, and he has to pay the loan he used to pay his way to the job.
weh now where do you even start, the salo is sijui 50k or something, you either get depression or just become kichwa ngumu.

Now can you imagine this KDF guy was the one playing for Arsenal, Man City, Real Madrid, Tottenham!!!

Angeona moto!!! Hata hii ya Adebayor ingekuwa shadow!!!
Muriel
#70 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2015 10:20:10 AM

kayhara wrote:

Now can you imagine this KDF guy was the one playing for Arsenal, Man City, Real Madrid, Tottenham!!!

Angeona moto!!! Hata hii ya Adebayor ingekuwa shadow!!!

It also has to do with how one answers questions from these relatives.

Has he been giving 'suggestive' answers? For example when talking about vehicles and such has he ever even faintly intimated that 'bei imerudi chini, si kama kitambo'?

I learnt the hard way. There was a friend of my father who kept asking me for a phone whenever I went home. He had a kabambe that worked, albeit with a rubber band around it, so naturally it was not from a lack of a phone that he asked. One day when talking about them with him, the ones you 'stab with your finger', it struck me that he thought they are 'cheap'.

I said they are too expensive for me and that was the end of the story. Sometimes not admitting you don't have money is our downfall.
madhaquer
#71 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2015 6:28:52 AM

Always be practical, let people understand that things come with some effort and there is a difference between a gift, a loan, help and business.

The best is to show that you are only interested in business deals and they must come with their own money too.

An uncle once expected me to buy him a piece of land. After pestering me for so long, I told him to go find the details and ensure it was clean negotiate with the owner and get back to me. Within a week, this guy had met the brokers, the owner verified the title was ok and negotiated a price. He came to me expecting me to just dish out the money.
I didn't have any money but the guy was calling me like 3 times a day even telling my cousins and other relatives to call him urgently.

When I finally met him, I first asked him how much he had for this deal, the guy said he had nothing he was expecting me to buy it. I told him that all along I thought it was a joint venture. I told him if I buy it, it will be mine and the title will be in my name and I would setup a farm. If he wants to live on it, I would have to employ him as a farm hand. Hakuongea, he was so pissed he left.
Needless to say he went and brokered the sale of the same piece of land for some cash.

Siku hizi tukikutana kwa mazishi ni salamu tu.
whiteowl
#72 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 5:15:26 PM

3rd and final part:
C&P from FB
SEA, if I decide to bring out the Part 3 today, it is because my brother @Kola Adebayor and my other siblings have decided to talk about our family issues on social medias, through letters to my club, radios…I could write an autobiography and sell it but I decided to share with you here.
25 years ago, my big older brother Kola went to Germany and he became the hope of our family. We all thought he could change the way we were living. Years after he left Togo, we still had no electricity and no phones. If he wanted to talk to us, he would call the Atlantic Hotel that was very close to our house. We would then run to the hotel reception and talk to him.
When I got the opportunity to go play football in France for the first time, we needed money to for the flight tickets and other expenses. My brother was nowhere to be found. Only God knows what he was doing in Germany.
When I arrived in France, I did all the paperwork with my team and they allowed me to stay in the academy. A few months later, my brother wanted to come visit me. I was running out of money and I was living at the academy. Therefore, I had to borrow money so I could pay for his hotel. At that time, my teammate Sega N’diaye from Cameroon was kind enough to lend me some money. I also had to borrow some more money because I had to give my brother some money for his trip back to Germany. Keep in mind he is my older brother.
A couple years later, things started to get better. Thank God, I signed a contract with Metz. Since then, my brother would contact me whenever it was time to pay his bills. Sometimes, he would say his son is sick… I had to get used to all this.
Again, I was lucky enough to get an offer from Monaco and I signed for the football club. One day, Kola and the late Peter Adebayor came to visit me in Monaco. My two brothers did not let me know they were coming. Someone said “blood is thicker than water” so I took them in. They arrived early in the morning and I was on my way to training. When I came back home, we had a discussion and they wanted to start a car business. Obviously, it involves a lot of money. I told them that I could help them out as soon as I get paid next. At that time, Thierry Mangwa was staying in my apartment because he was struggling with some personal issues and needed a place to stay. One day, I came back from training and he was crying. He never told me why. My brothers could also not explain. Another day, one of my friends Padjoe came to visit me and as he was leaving the house, I believe I offered him about €500. My brother Kola noticed that and was very upset. He was trying to understand why I gave my friend some money right away but not him. My reason was very simple; the money he (Kola) needed was a huge amount of money that I did not carry in my house. We went on and had an argument about it.
Another day, after training…I was very tired and decided to go take a nap. I woke up and a knife was held to my throat. As I opened my eyes, both of my brothers were there. They were shouting and they claimed that I was wasting their time. Peter was going mad and Kola was supporting. I asked them: “Is this the only way to solve this issue? I yes, then kill me and take the money”. It’s only at that moment that he put the knife down. After all this, I found a way out of my own apartment and I called my parents. My mom suggested that I call the police. That was the only way for me to get back into my house safely… I had training the next day, by the way. So I did what my mom said. Police came and they settled down. Again, “blood is thicker than water”, so I let it go. A few days after, Peter went to visit one of Kola’s friends in Paris. That means I was left in the house with Kola; for my own safety, I found a way to get him the money as soon as I could. Only God knows how much I gave him that day.
A few months after all this, I went back to Togo and I was surprised when my mom started to ask me why I called the police on my brothers, she continued and said I am the bad person in the family. That is another story I will leave for later…
Every time I went back home, everyone kept asking me why my brother never visited after all these years. Immediately, I organized a flight for him and he came back to visit the family, at my own expenses.
On April 22nd 2005, we received some bad news. I received a call and they announced that my father passed away. I was devastated. I called my big brother and told him that we all have to be there. Again I made sure there was a flight ticket ready for him. We all went back home and I took care of everything. A long time before my dad died, he was in the hospital one day and he asked me to make sure his funeral is not a moment of sadness. He wanted us to celebrate his life. I leave it to God to decide if the funeral I organized for my dad was what he wanted. The man who calls himself the “big man” in the family did not contribute to anything. But he still has the boldness to say I do not take care of this family.
In 2006, I had another big opportunity to go play for Arsenal. Since then, my brother has started to come up with series of false accusations against me.
On July 22nd, 2013 sad news hit us in the family. My brother Peter Adebayor passed away. His death was sad and I was affected by it. One thing I find difficult to swallow today is that Kola was accusing me of Peter’s death. He is saying that the shop I opened for Peter was not good enough. He kept texting saying that my career would be destroyed. I did everything for Peter when he was alive, I brought him to Metz, and Monaco with me. What can Kola say that he has done for Peter? Nothing. The man did not even show up at the funeral even after all the money I sent for the trip back home.
He is saying that I also made my mom suffer, but he forgot that when he was in Germany, at some point I was the one always by my mom’s side. As soon as I started to make a living with football, I did everything you could imagine for our mom. That is normal. But my brother is never satisfied. He said I bought a shitty car for my mom. Why can’t he buy a better one? All I want from him is to take his responsibilities. Since I am not doing it right, he should show the example as a big brother. He has been in Germany for more than 20 years, but he never brought our mother there to visit. Even to go back home for a visit is another struggle. All he keeps saying is that my father said I should build a house for each one of them. I don’t think my father said that. Does that even make sense for him or anyone? As a big brother, he is supposed to be doing all that I am doing for the family. He should stop hiding and take his responsibilities. When he came to Europe, he was young enough to become a football player too. Anyways, some people are drivers here but they are able to take care of their families. They even bring their parents and other family members. Why has he not done anything like that but he keeps talking? As a matter fact, he should at least bring Rotimi, Bidemi or his own son Aziz here before talking about “taking care of the family”. Actions are louder than speeches.
A lot of people are saying that I never went to school, but they forget that it is because we could not afford it. I never blamed my parents for that. But thank God, today I am able to speak more than 3 languages and I can send my daughter to school. I am proud of that. People can accuse me for not going to school, but in the end it is all about who you become and what you teach yourself. It is also about what life teaches you and what you learn from it.
Many times I wanted to give up. Ask my sister Iyabo Adebayor how many times I have called and was ready to commit suicide? I kept these stories for years… But If I die, no one would know my story, no one would learn from it… Some people say I should keep these stories private, but someone has to sacrifice himself; someone has to talk about it. I know people would relate to my story and others would learn from it. For every one who knows me, I’d do anything for my country and my people.
Final message from the younger brother to the older brother: Quit Smoking and Quit Drinking. That was my story.
#73 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 6:31:23 PM

And now Tottenham are worried it will be difficult to sell Adebayor this summer because of these stories!!!

Seriously!!?? Instead of caring about the well being of their player including psychological well being they are only thinking about their pay day!?

If Adebayor kept quiet with this stuff, it could have killed him or he could have actually committed suicide. These is a form of therapy. He can now start a new chapter in life.

I support his actions and bravery to actually go through with it. I don't think he had many options under the circumstances!!!
whiteowl
#74 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 7:22:13 PM

And now Tottenham are worried it will be difficult to sell Adebayor this summer because of these stories!!!

Seriously!!?? Instead of caring about the well being of their player including psychological well being they are only thinking about their pay day!?

If Adebayor kept quiet with this stuff, it could have killed him or he could have actually committed suicide. These is a form of therapy. He can now start a new chapter in life.

I support his actions and bravery to actually go through with it. I don't think he had many options under the circumstances!!!

Psychological welfare of workers is ignored in a lot of countries even in the 1st world and it's a serious issue. Maybe it even needs a thread on its own.
kiash
#75 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 7:43:49 PM

kayhara wrote:

Feel for the guy wooiiie !
Alba
#76 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 7:46:43 PM

Many times I wanted to give up. Ask my sister Iyabo Adebayor how many times I have called and was ready to commit suicide? I kept these stories for years… But If I die, no one would know my story, no one would learn from it… Some people say I should keep these stories private, but someone has to sacrifice himself; someone has to talk about it. I know people would relate to my story and others would learn from it. For every one who knows me, I’d do anything for my country and my people.
Final message from the younger brother to the older brother: Quit Smoking and Quit Drinking. That was my story.

KPOM !

Other famous sportsmen should be learning from what Adebayor is saying. Relatives can make you go broke.
Also I now realize that Adebayor is doing this as a form of self therapy. Maybe his drop in form is related to these issues and a psychologist told him to air them as a form of relief.

I see now that Tottenham are giving him some time off to take care of his pysche
kiash
#77 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 7:55:30 PM

But there is one thing about our culture that i do not like.Most of the times, parents will pay for your education and expect you to repay later after you get yourself a job.Its like its not their duty to provide for what we used to call basic needs , food,shelter etc .I remeber a case of a neighbour who had struggled educating his daughter (He thought it was a better investment so the son dropped out)The most unthinkable thing happened when the gal was in form 4.After the exams, she did not even return to their parents home she left with some guy who was older than her. The mum tried storming the house to no vain.I hope the dad is still alive.
#78 Posted : Monday, June 22, 2015 9:20:13 PM

So I watched the 'Book of Negroes" this past weekend. A mini series set on the 1770's slave trade days. Boy ooh boy you will hate those West Africans for what they did to their own people. A great historic piece to watch.
#79 Posted : Monday, June 22, 2015 9:24:47 PM

kiash wrote:
But there is one thing about our culture that i do not like.Most of the times, parents will pay for your education and expect you to repay later after you get yourself a job.Its like its not their duty to provide for what we used to call basic needs , food,shelter etc .I remeber a case of a neighbour who had struggled educating his daughter (He thought it was a better investment so the son dropped out)The most unthinkable thing happened when the gal was in form 4.After the exams, she did not even return to their parents home she left with some guy who was older than her. The mum tried storming the house to no vain.I hope the dad is still alive.

creates a vicious circle where that family ends up in perpetual poverty for generations.
#80 Posted : Sunday, September 18, 2016 6:33:00 AM

Telegraph UK wrote:
Chinese farmers have taken over formerly white-owned farms for the first time, investing millions of pounds into tobacco production.

Farms that were badly managed for nearly 20 years, after Robert Mugabe’s mass seizure of white-owned land, are now being worked again in the hope of reaping a potentially huge reward.

At least five farms have attracted Chinese investment in Mashonaland Central, a region to the north-west of Harare, that was traditionally one of the country’s best tobacco-producing areas.

Kuna kasoro mahali msikatae