wazua Wed, Dec 25, 2024

45 Pages«<2526272829>»
Is Taking a Mortgage the WORST Decision Ever??
#521 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 12:20:55 PM

Pension Schemes Returns in the NSE
#522 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 12:31:48 PM

@Kiwaru - How many nicely spaced (not extravagant) "standard" two bedroom units can you fit per floor in a 50 by100 plot.

Other wazuans who have done it before can also contribute.

Wazuans tafadhali saidia.

@kiwaru, @A4Architect, wazua landlords???

Wazua landlords!!! Can you seriously be this mean with information???

There are enough tenants for everyone! He he he.
#523 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 7:48:31 PM

@Kiwaru - How many nicely spaced (not extravagant) "standard" two bedroom units can you fit per floor in a 50 by100 plot.

The best design is 4 No. 2bdrms plus 1 No. 1 bdrm per floor. Assuming the plot is rectangular, you put two 2bdrm units mbele and two 2bdrm huko nyuma. The 1bdrm iko hapo katikati sharing space with the staircase.
Sevian
#524 Posted : Tuesday, May 12, 2015 10:17:39 AM

The best design is 4 No. 2bdrms plus 1 No. 1 bdrm per floor. Assuming the plot is rectangular, you put two 2bdrm units mbele and two 2bdrm huko nyuma. The 1bdrm iko hapo katikati sharing space with the staircase.

@maichblack
Do you have a sample draft? Please share. seviankampuni@gmail.com
#525 Posted : Tuesday, May 12, 2015 4:48:31 PM

Disaster. Clientele for 1br are single young upwardly mobile carefree monied people. Clientele for 2br are just married couples with their first kid. How will these two mix? Huyo single lady shacking in the 1br will be skinned alive by the first time mothers.
#526 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2015 9:12:15 PM

The optimist
#527 Posted : Friday, July 03, 2015 6:26:59 PM

The discussion hasn't stopped there.

#528 Posted : Saturday, July 04, 2015 9:18:15 AM

The optimist wrote:
The discussion hasn't stopped there.

Where's he getting a 12% fixed rate for 20 yrs?
The rent today's less than mortgage repayments, what about in 5 years?
#529 Posted : Tuesday, October 20, 2015 9:30:10 PM

Tings a gwan!!!
#530 Posted : Tuesday, October 20, 2015 9:45:17 PM

A 20 year 30 million loan at 17% interest rate has a monthly repayment of Kshs. 440,040/=.

Adjusting the same loan to 27% without changing the repayment period increases the monthly repayments to Kshs. 678,252/=. A 54% increment in monthly repayment amount (Though a casual eye might 'see' a 10% increment). Adjusting the payment period makes things worse in terms of interest payments but at least spreads out the pain over a long long time!!!

That is how fast you can get screwed!!!
enyands
#531 Posted : Tuesday, October 20, 2015 10:08:44 PM

Taking Mortgage in kenya is the worst decision ever . Remember the rates aren't fixed.its pegged to govt policies and political waves. From 17% to 27% .. just to live a dream fantasy house but inside yourself your are burning in a nightmare ? Not worth it at all
Boris Boyka
#532 Posted : Tuesday, October 20, 2015 10:39:55 PM

A 20 year 30 million loan at 17% interest rate has a monthly repayment of Kshs. 440,040/=.

Adjusting the same loan to 27% without changing the repayment period increases the monthly repayments to Kshs. 678,252/=. A 54% increment in monthly repayment amount (Though a casual eye might 'see' a 10% increment). Adjusting the payment period makes things worse in terms of interest payments but at least spreads out the pain over a long long time!!!

To make it worse it happened in 2012, 2015, meaning in 3-5 year cycle. So in 30 years it happens 6-8 times. Jesus Christ! You'll pay × 5. Screwing dry.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
whiteowl
#533 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 1:26:48 AM

No amount of cooking results will save the NPLs coming up.Banking sector will crash and burn.
Mike Ock
#534 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 1:33:54 AM

I view this as more of a failure of modern society. The city dwelling human is the only creature on this planet that slaves away for decades to do the most basic thing of building a home for himself. In rural areas and in the animal kingdom, that is a one week process and you move on! There are some areas where this so called progress of civilization has really failed humans, but what can you do... accept and move on I guess?
#535 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 4:33:54 AM

Kwani Mortgages are not on a fixed rate? And why the hell are you taking a 30M loan? That building better be giving you back 1M monthly
Boris Boyka
#536 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 5:16:11 AM

Kwani Mortgages are not on a fixed rate? And why the hell are you taking a 30M loan? That building better be giving you back 1M monthly

NO, NEVER! fixed rate is used on Short term asset loans like machinery and commercial cars.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#537 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 5:56:38 AM

Boris Boyka wrote:

NO, NEVER! fixed rate is used on Short term asset loans like machinery and commercial cars.

Unless you are in these group of Kenyans you need not a 30M loan
Boris Boyka
#538 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 6:54:15 AM

Boris Boyka wrote:

Yes. @murchr by the way Fixed rate is worst. Don't even think of it Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
For example for same loan amount paid in same period, 8% fixed rate (straight line) = 16% reducing balance in terms of monthly payments and total interest paid.
#539 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 7:11:13 AM

Boris Boyka wrote:

Yes. @murchr by the way Fixed rate is worst. Don't even think of it Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
For example for same loan amount paid in same period, 8% fixed rate (straight line) = 16% reducing balance in terms of monthly payments and total interest paid.

Id rather a fixed rate, floating risk is not interesting
Sevian
#540 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 7:14:39 AM

I know someone who got an email from Stanchart notifying them of the increase of mortgage rates from 10.3 to 14.5%. They are paying 40% extra since. Hii mbiashara ya mortgage ni upuuus. How do you expect someone to cough an extra 40k (assuming they were paying 100k).