wazua Sun, May 3, 2026

1,590 Pages«<174175176177178>»
Kenya Airways...why ignore..
#1751 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2015 11:36:20 AM

I wonder if KQ will lose their pre-delivery deposits i.e. that was a loss taken by KQ in exchange for AWAS assuming their contract to buy the 787s...
Aguytrying
#1752 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2015 8:04:03 PM

KQ needs a manager like Ohana to clean up the books, radical cost cutting, cleaning the dead wood and retiring debts aggressively.

KQ and kk made the major losses in the same year, kk was quick to react KQ is yet to.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Kastone
#1753 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2015 11:20:03 PM

Kastone wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
Project mawingu cancelled.
I was one of those that said it wasn't feasible. If a non expert in the airline industry, non accountant like me can see a fault in a companys strategy that a whole board goes ahead and persues, kq was in very bad hands. And don't think that much has changed.

which right minded investor would pour 18 billion to a financially mismanaged loss making firm? Unless its the chinco gov. or an airline buying out most of Gov's stake.

That was the only way out for them...

Focusing on actionables, KQ doesn't need a equity partner to raise 18B. The going rate for a new 787 is USD180-200M. Now, KQ has 5 of it's older fleet up for sale. Reportedly a 767 and 4 777-200s. The issue is how soon they can be sold.

Will help clear debt, but would result to more losses

^ pombe? bangi? please explain how selling of fuel guzzling planes leads to more losses

Write down losses.
“The beauty of success is that it doesn’t matter how many times you have failed, you only have to be right once and then everyone can tell you how lucky you are.” - Mark Cuban
#1754 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2015 11:20:59 AM

Aguytrying wrote:
KQ needs a manager like Ohana to clean up the books, radical cost cutting, cleaning the dead wood and retiring debts aggressively.

KQ and kk made the major losses in the same year, kk was quick to react KQ is yet to.
The major shareholder in KK has direct appointees on the board. The major shareholders in KQ have 'political' appointees. All this boils down to ownership.

KK didn't go for an ill-advised expansion plan nor a Rights Issue to hide its underlying problems.
Aguytrying
#1755 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2015 12:09:48 PM

Aguytrying wrote:

The major shareholder in KK has direct appointees on the board. The major shareholders in KQ have 'political' appointees. All this boils down to ownership.

KK didn't go for an ill-advised expansion plan nor a Rights Issue to hide its underlying problems.

Correct. This demonstrates how important management is in investing
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
winmak
#1756 Posted : Sunday, May 10, 2015 1:25:57 PM

Citizen at 1 reports Liberia declared Ebola free... Time to take (speculative) position???
For investors as a whole, returns decrease as motion increases ~ WB
#1757 Posted : Sunday, May 10, 2015 6:42:36 PM

winmak wrote:
Citizen at 1 reports Liberia declared Ebola free... Time to take (speculative) position???

Flights to be resumed from 1st week of June.. several conventions including the cannonisation of sister, plus Obama visit.. Things are looking up
COOP, IMH, KEGN, KQ, MTNU
winmak
#1758 Posted : Sunday, May 10, 2015 8:31:34 PM

winmak wrote:

Flights to be resumed from 1st week of June.. several conventions including the cannonisation of sister, plus Obama visit.. Things are looking up

Thanks Obiero, lakini wapi rink ya hii maneno ya June flight resumption? I will spare something for this counter but on a pure speculative basis... Can't ignore this bear shetani hovering around.
For investors as a whole, returns decrease as motion increases ~ WB
#1759 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 8:44:06 AM

winmak wrote:

Thanks Obiero, lakini wapi rink ya hii maneno ya June flight resumption? I will spare something for this counter but on a pure speculative basis... Can't ignore this bear shetani hovering around.

Although the wod 'likely' has been used by the reporter on the resuming of flights, I would like to assume it's a step in the right direction KQ to resume flights to West Africa
#1760 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 9:49:45 AM

1 order selling at 7.80 while demand spread between 6.90 and 7.15
Supply is slowly thinning out in this price range, I am considering plunging in for speculative purposes
1,590 Pages«<174175176177178>»