wazua Thu, Feb 6, 2025

You are not stupid enough for this job!! Only in Kenya!
#1 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2015 1:12:33 AM

What the hell is happening to my country???
#2 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2015 6:59:14 AM

Welcome to Kenya, dint you hear of the OCPD who was is a form 2 dropout? Even that D was not required

Muriel
#3 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2015 7:58:14 AM

I was told its ok, in so many words. Here in Wazua!

#4 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2015 8:25:24 AM

The comment section always very entertaining

ThickHead • a day ago
Do you expect a recruiting officer Njoroge to recruit above C+ and be outshined?

It is like expecting Uhuru not to appoint Kalembe.
4 • Reply•Share ›
Mugithii ThickHead • 19 hours ago
Imagine RAO is surrounded by Drs and Professors who cant think unless he thinks for them..always tail between their legs waiting on baba the welding engineer...
1 • Reply•Share ›
warrior55 ThickHead • 21 hours ago
you're right in fact Uhuru has Kutuny as his advisor so why should Njoroge hire somebody smarter?
• Reply•Share ›
DNA 2 ThickHead • a day ago
mmmm eeeeeish
• Reply•Share ›

#5 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2015 8:31:28 AM

This country is becoming a very dangerous place for hardworking intelligent/smart individuals.

New rules: No tuition, Don't get to school before 7:30 am, No learning after 3:30 pm.

Don't school too fast or too young. No KCPE registration if you are below 14 years old. "We" are more interested in your age than intellect!!

No repeating! Even if you get straight E's, it's all good.

No ranking of school. "We" hate competition. Hopefully later you will find yourself in a world with no competition (business, life etc.). Good luck.

Oh, you got 420 marks in KCPE. Oops!!! You were in a private school! Marsabit Day Secondary School for you pap! As you know, instead of improving standards in public schools, "we" will just admit the public school students with 250 marks! Less stress for "us".

Oh, Ati you got a C+? Even after we sent you to Marsabit Day??? Tough luck! That grade is too high for this job! Ati police? There was no position for your tribe here? Ati you go to your ancestral home for recruitment? Not allowed. Your ID says place of birth is here!

Ati now you want a county job? Fill in this form. Make sure you fill in the tribe and clan you belong to. You can leave out the rest. We never read it anyway.

Oh, and we forgot to tell you your C+ will not get you admitted to University as a government sponsored student. And you cannot show up there to do a diploma either because we banned that sh!t from University!!!
#6 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2015 8:37:38 AM

Meanwhile Al Shabaab, Mungiki, Chinkoronkoro, Mombasa whatever the hell, neighbourhood gangs etc. are recruiting University graduates!!! Good luck to the D and E material guarding them if they are ever arrested.

We expect D materials (with perfect teeth) to outsmart well trained, motivated, organised and better equipped graduate thugs and terrorists??? Never ever!
Muriel
#7 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2015 8:38:41 AM

This country is becoming a very dangerous place for hardworking intelligent/smart individuals.

New rules: No tuition, Don't get to school before 7:30 am, No learning after 3:30 pm.

Don't school too fast or too young. No KCPE registration if you are below 14 years old. "We" are more interested in your age than intellect!!

No ranking of school. "We" hate competition. Hopefully later you will find yourself in a world with no competition (business, life etc.). Good luck.

Oh, you got 420 marks in KCPE. Oops!!! You were in a private school! Marsabit Day Secondary School. As you know, instead of improving standards in public schools, "we" will just admit the public school students with 250 marks! Less stress for "us".

Oh, Ati you got a C+? Even after we sent you to Marsabit Day??? Tough luck! That grade is too high for this job! Ati police? There was no position for your tribe here? Ati you go to your ancestral home for recruitment? Not allowed. Your ID says place of birth is here!

Ati now you want a county job? Fill in this form. Make sure you fill in the tribe and clan you belong to. You can leave out the rest. We never read it anyway.

Oh, and we forgot to tell you your C+ will not get you admitted to University as a government sponsored student. And you cannot show up there to do a diploma either because we banned that sh!t from University!!!

We insist public appointments be done on merit but on this one merit be gone!
#8 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2015 8:45:12 AM

Oh, you got 420 marks in KCPE. Oops!!! You were in a private school! Marsabit Day Secondary School. As you know, instead of improving standards in public schools, "we" will just admit the public school students with 250 marks! Less stress for "us".

Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad
#9 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2015 10:00:25 AM

Muriel
#10 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2015 10:50:07 AM

muganda wrote:

It might be a mere play of words but funny how where 'intelligence' should be a prerequisite Kenyans of D grade are given preference.

#11 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2015 2:36:00 PM

The problem here is that policy makers in Kenya just don't get it. People don't get D's and E's coz they are dumb, they get this grades because they are lazy, lack self drive and remain immature even at form 4.

Selecting such candidates and leaving the well deserving hardworkers is the recipe for disaster we currently have in our security forces.

Even more distressing is that the policy making positions in govt are filled with D graduates who bought their degrees in India.

And again, why do they examine peoples teeth,

We are trully in shit.
#12 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2015 3:45:33 PM

Meanwhile Al Shabaab, Mungiki, Chinkoronkoro, Mombasa whatever the hell, neighbourhood gangs etc. are recruiting University graduates!!! Good luck to the D and E material guarding them if they are ever arrested.

We expect D materials (with perfect teeth) to outsmart well trained, motivated, organised and better equipped graduate thugs and terrorists??? Never ever!

You know, i listened to that Police commission guy explain the reasoning behind the teeth and I was amazed at the level of thinking. Ati 32 well aligned teeth are an "indicator to the fact that the man is healthy". How archaic is that? That reasoning was used by the white man to disenfranchise some communities. The nilotes took off a tooth as an initiation right and since they didnt have the whole set that was used against them. Its 2015, and we have nor revised some of these foolishness. Someone needs to go to court and force some change. Why are short men being discriminated? Even those with better grade should seek judicial redress change is forced.
Wakanyugi
#13 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2015 3:57:19 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
The problem here is that policy makers in Kenya just don't get it. People don't get D's and E's coz they are dumb, they get this grades because they are lazy, lack self drive and remain immature even at form 4.

Selecting such candidates and leaving the well deserving hardworkers is the recipe for disaster we currently have in our security forces.

Even more distressing is that the policy making positions in govt are filled with D graduates who bought their degrees in India.

We are trully in shit.

You make some good points here.

However, there is a counter argument to this, which though I find hard to accept, is worth examining. I heard this on Nation Radio, an interview that Jimmy Gathu had with a former MP from North Eastern. He argued like this:

Young people with C+ etc have higher aspirations in life than serve in the poorly paid Police service, many do it as they wait for better. You send them to the desert to hunt for Al Shabab, Cattle rustlers etc (a harsh assignment for anybody) and they will not perform - first because many of them have been made soft by modern living and secondly because they do want to risk their potentially good future lives as Doctors, Lawyers etc. Then you will have officers over them who performed even worse in school...

His suggestion was to recruit the D+ etc cadre and prioritize young men from the 'hardened' nomadic communities (Somali, Pokot, Masai, Turkana etc) and then send them to do the job. He argued that this is how the British used to do it and it is the only way Kenya will win this war.

I have been trying to fault his logic but I can't. Can you?

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#14 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2015 4:28:35 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

We are trully in shit.

However, there is a counter argument to this, which though I find hard to accept, is worth examining. I heard this on Nation Radio, an interview that Jimmy Gathu had with a former MP from North Eastern. He argued like this:

Young people with C+ etc have higher aspirations in life than serve in the poorly paid Police service, many do it as they wait for better. You send them to the desert to hunt for Al Shabab, Cattle rustlers etc (a harsh assignment for anybody) and they will not perform - first because many of them have been made soft by modern living and secondly because they do want to risk their potentially good future lives as Doctors, Lawyers etc. Then you will have officers over them who performed even worse in school...

His suggestion was to recruit the D+ etc cadre and prioritize young men from the 'hardened' nomadic communities (Somali, Pokot, Masai, Turkana etc) and then send them to do the job. He argued that this is how the British used to do it and it is the only way Kenya will win this war.

People with C+ could have had higher aspirations 20 years ago. In today's Kenya, you get a B+ and you have to sweat hoping to get called to University to study B.Ed or BA something. With C+, you know for sure you ain't going to University with public funding. Denying a C+ candidate an opportunity to join the police on the pretext that he may not stay is the height of insincerity unless the recruiters are aware that this person has an opportunity to be a doctor or whatever right there in front of him and is only career shopping.

Many of the guys denied an opportunity to serve because they are of average intelligence are left with no future as they also happen to have zero chance of joining a university. In any case, if the fear is that the people will study and improve on their lives, then they can still do something by denying them time out to study until say they serve for a period.

On the matters of hardened communities, I support it if its applied both ways, yes hire the Somalis, pokots and Turkanas to serve as policemen in Turkana, pokot and NE counties, but at the same time hire Nairobian's to serve as police in Nairobi, Kiambuan's in Kiambu, Kisumuans in Kisumu etc. Everyone is then more effective as they serve in areas where they are familiar, can you imagine the chaos if a Turkana man is posted to direct traffic at Haille Sellasie then a light Nairobi chic walks past in them tight jeansLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly accident PAP.
Wakanyugi
#15 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2015 5:05:43 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

We are trully in shit.

People with C+ could have had higher aspirations 20 years ago. In today's Kenya, you get a B+ and you have to sweat hoping to get called to University to study B.Ed or BA something. With C+, you know for sure you ain't going to University with public funding. Denying a C+ candidate an opportunity to join the police on the pretext that he may not stay is the height of insincerity unless the recruiters are aware that this person has an opportunity to be a doctor or whatever right there in front of him and is only career shopping.

Many of the guys denied an opportunity to serve because they are of average intelligence are left with no future as they also happen to have zero chance of joining a university. In any case, if the fear is that the people will study and improve on their lives, then they can still do something by denying them time out to study until say they serve for a period.

On the matters of hardened communities, I support it if its applied both ways, yes hire the Somalis, pokots and Turkanas to serve as policemen in Turkana, pokot and NE counties, but at the same time hire Nairobian's to serve as police in Nairobi, Kiambuan's in Kiambu, Kisumuans in Kisumu etc. Everyone is then more effective as they serve in areas where they are familiar, can you imagine the chaos if a Turkana man is posted to direct traffic at Haille Sellasie then a light Nairobi chic walks past in them tight jeansLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly accident PAP.

I have been working with youth for many years, in different parts of the world. There is one trait that Kenyan young people have that I have rarely seen anywhere - aspiration. They may lack self confidence but I have not met many youth who do not aspire to do better for themselves, something I have rarely seen in African countries. It is a good thing. But for tough and poorly paying vocations, it is a challenge to keep staff - especially when you can't threaten to court martial them for desertion or refusing to fight.

As for devolving security to the communities, I am in agreement with you here. In fact I have failed to understand government resistance to this. It makes complete sense (to me)to devolve at least policing.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#16 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2015 5:23:49 PM

@Wakanyugi, the problem is the gava approaches the idea of further studies wrongly. Gava employees literally abandon their posts to pursue further education. There is no cost benefit analysis of how the higher education will help the country. Case in point the current IG has many degrees but zero experience, has he been an OCS, OCPD, has he ever commanded any operational arm of police. Then what was the basis for sending him to further his educ when there was no practical experience that he could improve on.

The solution to this is not to hold back the C+ students, but to peg further personal development on mutual benefits for the employer and employee. Private sector does this very well, the public sector and police force should embrace this, otherwise we will never have police leaders who appreciate that success is borne from hard work.
#17 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2015 6:50:12 PM

Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad

Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad
#18 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2015 7:00:02 PM

Sawa tu. the complainer in this thread was too loudly shouting us down when the kanu orphans took the mantle in 2013.did he expect anything good from moi boys? Ati no more nusu mkate. Sitasahau

m.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&m=387381
marko
#19 Posted : Sunday, May 10, 2015 9:08:27 AM

So you work hard in school, get a A-, refuse to go to uni because you have been called for a degree course you don't like then complain that refused to pick you as a prison warder? What kind of intelligence do you believe a warder needs to effectively do this work? And the salary? How much do you think it is? How long do you think you'll be paid those peanuts before you start complaining and looking for greener pastures? It is a fact that Kenyans who did well in school are using disciplined forces as stepping stones for better paying jobs in the corporate world. At times leaving the organizations in a manpower crisis. Initially, these organizations thought they had it easy recruiting such bright students until they all left. Civil service is not centum. You need people who will be there for the long haul.
WHO DARES WINS
#20 Posted : Sunday, May 10, 2015 11:07:27 AM

sasa, we do not shout when the D+ guys are discriminated against when consideration is made for doctors, lawyers, magistrates, cadets ...

Qualifications are set for almost every major occupation and preferences exists in every recruitment process.

The police force and the army have recruitment for more specialized functions where they recruit the A material, and coincidentally its the A material that usually get the commanding and leadership roles in the forces, and its the latter that has failed us (giving commands and strategy).