Is this an African curse?
urstill1
#1 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2015 9:44:16 AM

#2 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2015 10:03:21 AM

urstill1 wrote:

Haiya, Hata Kama

I organized a meeting in 2005 to solve our family issues. When I asked them about their opinion, they said I should build each family member a house and give each of them a monthly wage.

Mawinder

When I was in Monaco I thought it would be good to have a family of footballers. So I made sure my brother Rotimi gets into a football academy in France. Within a few months; out of 27 players, he stole 21 phones.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2015 10:20:14 AM

Where are the guys who will blame the white man for his problems?
#4 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2015 10:32:21 AM

Pray Pray Pray very saad
#5 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2015 10:44:39 AM

You mean Jubilee Govt?
Muriel
#6 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2015 10:50:05 AM

Of course the white man is to blame.

We should embrace our peculiarities and not fight against them like Mr. Adebayor is doing - obviously at the instigation of white man lifestyle.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2015 10:51:22 AM

You mean Jubilee Govt?

LOL, kina 2pm gang.

Soon they will be trolling Adebayor's FB asking him to look East

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#8 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2015 10:58:17 AM

You mean Jubilee Govt?

#9 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2015 11:19:38 AM

yeah... sure... 1 billion africans and we see Adebayor's story and we automatically think... IT HAS TO BE A CURSE ON THE BLACK MAN! the Black man is the only creature that can do these things.
mkeiy
#10 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2015 12:34:50 PM

Muriel wrote:

We should embrace our peculiarities and not fight against them like Mr. Adebayor is doing - obviously at the instigation of white man lifestyle.

Is writing here on Wazua, in English one of those "peculiarities" of ours?

Thing is, times have changed. We no longer graze,farm and gather. We no longer use horns to call out the village.

The African "UJAMAA" you are preaching no longer sustainable.

The sort of ujamaa, if a brother/sister is making it big, the rest of the grown , healthy siblings just sit back to reap. Reap what?

I believe even the Bible says if you have not worked, you shouldn't eat. Yet we have people/communities that believe my bro's/sis' is mine.

Here in Kenya we have tribes which practice more "ujamaa" than others. Those which embrace hard work thrive. The bowl-handlers are always struggling. Tend to bear more kids. Kind of IRRESPONSIBLE you would say. The bowl-handlers also tend to have a myriad of beliefs and myths. The sort of beliefs Adebayor's family has been having. For a footballer, what would "powers" do? Score goals for him? A lot of BS right there.

The non-Africans to a greater extent, live the hard_work-way. You pick your bills. FULL STOP.

Mothers/sisters also need to style up. We have mothers who abandon their husbands and run to the well-off child,more so, a daughter leaving the husband struggling out there.

To women; you were with your husband before the rich kid was born, stick with your husband and stop the joy-riding.

RESPONSIBLE,HARD WORK! RESPONSIBLE HARD WORK! RESPONSIBLE HARD WORK!
urstill1
#11 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2015 12:35:37 PM

yeah... sure... 1 billion africans and we see Adebayor's story and we automatically think... IT HAS TO BE A CURSE ON THE BLACK MAN! the Black man is the only creature that can do these things.

Sorry if this your first story on this issue. I believe you are a superb web trawler, do the necessary.
Muriel
#12 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2015 1:34:19 PM

mkeiy wrote:
Muriel wrote:

Is writing here on Wazua, in English one of those "peculiarities" of ours?

Thing is, times have changed. We no longer graze,farm and gather. We no longer use horns to call out the village.

The African "UJAMAA" you are preaching no longer sustainable.

The sort of ujamaa, if a brother/sister is making it big, the rest of the grown , healthy siblings just sit back to reap. Reap what?

I believe even the Bible says if you have not worked, you shouldn't eat. Yet we have people/communities that believe my bro's/sis' is mine.

Here in Kenya we have tribes which practice more "ujamaa" than others. Those which embrace hard work thrive. The bowl-handlers are always struggling. Tend to bear more kids. Kind of IRRESPONSIBLE you would say. The bowl-handlers also tend to have a myriad of beliefs and myths. The sort of beliefs Adebayor's family has been having. For a footballer, what would "powers" do? Score goals for him? A lot of BS right there.

The non-Africans to a greater extent, live the hard_work-way. You pick your bills. FULL STOP.

Mothers/sisters also need to style up. We have mothers who abandon their husbands and run to the well-off child,more so, a daughter leaving the husband struggling out there.

To women; you were with your husband before the rich kid was born, stick with your husband and stop the joy-riding.

RESPONSIBLE,HARD WORK! RESPONSIBLE HARD WORK! RESPONSIBLE HARD WORK!

There are some among us e.g. Tokyo etc who advocate for abandoning of white man thought systems. They often ask of what we, Africans, had before the white man came. We had ubuntu. Ujamaa.

That Mr. Adebayo's mom and sisters are abusing and misusing ubuntu is not reason to abandon it. Indeed, theirs is a completely unrefined ubuntu. However if there were millions of Mr. Adebayos and only a few Mrs. Adebayos then their demands will not be so prominent.

It is from our poverty in which we speak that we feel Mrs. Adebayo is being unreasonable and sympathise with Mr. Adebayo.

'We', including Tokyo and others, should come out strongly for ubuntu, the indiginous African spirit. I call upon 'us' to strengthen it, the poor show by Mrs. Adebayo notwithstanding.

I would be surprised if 'we' say otherwise.
Ngong
#13 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2015 1:52:17 PM

mimi niko sawa! nime download ubuntu tayari!
Muriel
#14 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2015 2:46:40 PM

Ngong wrote:
mimi niko sawa! nime download ubuntu tayari!

Sasa sambaza kabisa!
#15 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2015 3:11:40 PM

urstill1 wrote:

Sorry if this your first story on this issue. I believe you are a superb web trawler, do the necessary.

I hope you have 1 billion stories to back your claims... your story there in included.
urstill1
#16 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2015 3:35:54 PM

urstill1 wrote:

I hope you have 1 billion stories to back your claims... your story there in included.

Did Uhuru get over 40m votes to be president?
#17 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2015 4:59:41 PM

This is the African mentality on display. When watching the news on the tragic Garissa incident, many parents were sobbing saying that their kids who passed away were their only "tegemeo". What does that mean? The parents were waiting to fend off their kids salos etc How often do we hear of the phrase "Serikali saidia"? Infact Kibaki was hated for asking "na wewe utakuja saidia serikali lini"? Unfortunately those who shout loudest of serikali saidia don't pay kaisari his dues. We Africans have a really strange mentality
Alba
#18 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2015 6:08:23 PM

If true then his family has some crazy characters.
This story reminds me of McHammer who also went broke because he was paying his childhood friends , relatives and other idlers and hangers on
Mike Ock
#19 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2015 8:02:08 PM

This is not an African issue. It's a poverty issue.

Ade is only showing the other side of the rags to riches story. People usually hear of poor guys striking it rich and losing it all. The assumption is usually that they blew it on drugs and girls. But most human beings have instincts that raise alarms whenever frivolous spending goes haywire. So what is it that can make you spend until you have zero bob in the account?

Investments.

Specifically, BAD investments. It is very easy for someone to switch off the alarms in their head and spend all his money under the impression that you are making an investment that will return dividends later. Unfortunately, people from poor backgrounds who strike it rich are easily guilted by the people they left behind in the ghetto. They are made to feel like they owe everything to the people they left in the poorhouse. No doubt Adebayor has been reminded by his family members about "that time I sacrificed my soccer boots for you to practice," etc etc, leading to him pumping so much money towards them and their hair-brained ideas under the guise of 'investing' in them.

Hope he can see the light before they run through all his money and turn on him.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2015 8:51:27 PM

Wacha wamalizane na thread ya Mayweather kwanza!!