wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

37 Pages«<2324252627>»
Crazy Nairobi traffic!!
#481 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2015 9:13:35 AM

Uuuuuuuwi .
Guys heading to the airport on outering road are finished.Those on train from embakasi wafanye tizi.

In addition to being stuck on traffic,the ugly train has derailed at tajmall closing the road completely.

Human traffic from the derailed train,bodabodas,mathogothanio galore.
Now waiting for cows to get up..

Now at makutano junction looking for a way to jkia.

Thats why its always good to wake up early...used that road at 10 to 6...traffic was already heavy.
#482 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2015 9:27:29 AM

Nkt.
Shame on Nyayo Embakasi Watchies at the gates.
Cops are diverting vehicles to that estate for through pass ndio zi access mba road.
But the watchies turned Reece hawataki kujua.
shindwe!

We are in a bush seems like we are headed to rwai.
And Now we are stuck!!!! in mud in no mans land.

#483 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2015 9:37:18 AM

Nkt.
Shame on Nyayo Embakasi Watchies at the gates.
Cops are diverting vehicles to that estate for through pass ndio zi access mba road.
But the watchies turned Reece hawataki kujua.
shindwe!

We are in a bush seems like we are headed to rwai.
And Now we are stuck!!!! in mud in no mans land.

#SonkoRescueteam
#484 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2015 9:42:08 AM

Hee! Tassia Deliverance church. Finally signs of life.
Now headed to.. ...sijui kuna slum infront.

Hows Mombasa road?
Kihara joni
#485 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2015 9:50:53 AM

Leo nimebebwa kwa mgongo hapo grogon kwenda kirinyaga roadLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Bykhovets
#486 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2015 9:56:25 AM

Uuuuuuuwi .
Guys heading to the airport on outering road are finished.Those on train from embakasi wafanye tizi.

In addition to being stuck on traffic,the ugly train has derailed at tajmall closing the road completely.

Human traffic from the derailed train,bodabodas,mathogothanio galore.
Now waiting for cows to get up..

Now at makutano junction looking for a way to jkia.

Thats why its always good to wake up early...used that road at 10 to 6...traffic was already heavy.

Was at JKIA at 5am this morning ready to take my flight. Seems I luckily missed all the drama on the roads.

And the way I had complained that the flight was too early! Thank goodness I accepted to take it. Now safely and punctually where I should be. smile
"Occasionally I drop a tea cup to shatter on the floor. On purpose. I am not satisfied when it does not gather itself up again. Someday perhaps that cup will come together."
#487 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2015 10:07:04 AM

Lol @pics

Wacha tuscreeniwe.
#488 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2015 10:27:18 AM

Huku kwa kitanda hakuna jam
timbosho
#489 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2015 10:34:33 AM

Speculz wrote:
Um Sayala wrote:
I have also noticed the reduced jams along Mbsa Rd. Hope the trailers will be banished forever. Watumie bypass. Kudos, kidero and team, but you should not threaten long distance buses. Nairobi si ya Duale yenu

I think the only sensible think for Kidero to do is banish private cars from CBD and only allow PSV's into town.

Jogoo private cars should be parked at city stadium,Mombasa road,diaspora and langata road cars should be parked at Nyayo stadium, Kinoo,uthiru should be parked at westlands,Thika road cars should be parked at Pangani.

It doesn't make sense for majority of Nairobians who drive shoebaru and footsubishi to be made to walk just because of a few middle crass driving their old Nze's into town.

Or enforce strict car pooling rules. During morning (7ma to 9am) and evening (5pm to 7pm) commute, minimum 3 pax per car...any less and you pay spot fine of 2k, enough to hurt. See how guys comply. Ill be planning with neighbors chap chap.

Stop being myopic, why can't Kenyan's learn to think of creative solutions, who will be enforcing such a rule?? Do you think all Private vehicles want to come into the CBD? If they were provided with proper alternatives that would work, Car pooling cannot work currently unless you have the usual stone age 9-5 workplaces ,and for you to car pool you need to trust whoever you are ferrying or whoever is ferrying you, Get workable solutions instead of thinking of how to encourage corruption.

Oh pls!!! If we didn't have stone age 9=5 jobs, there would be NO JAM at those peak commute hours. This is the problem: people who dont even see the obvious and come up dumb ideas like barrels.

Again, Myopic, why are you focusing on one issue? I simply pointed out the car pooling issue, if you insist tell us how car pooling would work then ,and actually staggered work hours work better. Is the obvious paying fines of 2k? Are people sticking to 50 KPH because they will be fined? Just because car pooling works elsewhere does not mean it will work here.

Carpooling is just one of many solutions that need to be explored. The trick is to decongest the highway. removal of trucks did it, what else can be done?

Staggered work hours how? most middle class work fixed hours because those are the hours their business goes on. How do you stagger a banker's working hours, or a lawyer's? or even someone who works in accounts at a factory in Ind. Area?

There has to be a way of decongesting the roads since we do not seem to have the brainpower or capacity to build new ones.

Don't the "big Cities" also have special lanes for car pooling? Do they penalize those that do not want to car pool, every city has specific dynamics, you have to be realistic and work with such dynamics.Again I said it would work in 9-5 work places, Not everyone is a banker or a lawyer, an accountant can carry work home at 3:50pm and use VPN to complete his or her work.

De congesting roads is simple :

1. Road etiquette

2. proper road design , why have junctions etc, case in point, while they were busy using explosives on thika road,would it have not been simpler to put a well lit underpass at drive inn? The traffic that that causes especially outbound evening) as inbound morning is determined by other factors.

The "big cities" also have trains bringing people into the cities from as far as 2 hours away travelling at > 120k.p.h ie Nakuru distance equivalent approx. They also try to move government services like driving license, PIN sijui what, away from the CBD to residential areas, shopping malls, post offices and online. Trains cost money but hizi zingine do not cost alot, and they are not myopic. Why are we putting changaa drums all over the place and not exploring things like these?
#490 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2015 10:35:40 AM

timbosho wrote:
Speculz wrote:
Um Sayala wrote:
I have also noticed the reduced jams along Mbsa Rd. Hope the trailers will be banished forever. Watumie bypass. Kudos, kidero and team, but you should not threaten long distance buses. Nairobi si ya Duale yenu

I think the only sensible think for Kidero to do is banish private cars from CBD and only allow PSV's into town.

Jogoo private cars should be parked at city stadium,Mombasa road,diaspora and langata road cars should be parked at Nyayo stadium, Kinoo,uthiru should be parked at westlands,Thika road cars should be parked at Pangani.

It doesn't make sense for majority of Nairobians who drive shoebaru and footsubishi to be made to walk just because of a few middle crass driving their old Nze's into town.

Or enforce strict car pooling rules. During morning (7ma to 9am) and evening (5pm to 7pm) commute, minimum 3 pax per car...any less and you pay spot fine of 2k, enough to hurt. See how guys comply. Ill be planning with neighbors chap chap.

Stop being myopic, why can't Kenyan's learn to think of creative solutions, who will be enforcing such a rule?? Do you think all Private vehicles want to come into the CBD? If they were provided with proper alternatives that would work, Car pooling cannot work currently unless you have the usual stone age 9-5 workplaces ,and for you to car pool you need to trust whoever you are ferrying or whoever is ferrying you, Get workable solutions instead of thinking of how to encourage corruption.

Oh pls!!! If we didn't have stone age 9=5 jobs, there would be NO JAM at those peak commute hours. This is the problem: people who dont even see the obvious and come up dumb ideas like barrels.

Again, Myopic, why are you focusing on one issue? I simply pointed out the car pooling issue, if you insist tell us how car pooling would work then ,and actually staggered work hours work better. Is the obvious paying fines of 2k? Are people sticking to 50 KPH because they will be fined? Just because car pooling works elsewhere does not mean it will work here.

Carpooling is just one of many solutions that need to be explored. The trick is to decongest the highway. removal of trucks did it, what else can be done?

Staggered work hours how? most middle class work fixed hours because those are the hours their business goes on. How do you stagger a banker's working hours, or a lawyer's? or even someone who works in accounts at a factory in Ind. Area?

There has to be a way of decongesting the roads since we do not seem to have the brainpower or capacity to build new ones.

Don't the "big Cities" also have special lanes for car pooling? Do they penalize those that do not want to car pool, every city has specific dynamics, you have to be realistic and work with such dynamics.Again I said it would work in 9-5 work places, Not everyone is a banker or a lawyer, an accountant can carry work home at 3:50pm and use VPN to complete his or her work.

De congesting roads is simple :

1. Road etiquette

2. proper road design , why have junctions etc, case in point, while they were busy using explosives on thika road,would it have not been simpler to put a well lit underpass at drive inn? The traffic that that causes especially outbound evening) as inbound morning is determined by other factors.

The "big cities" also have trains bringing people into the cities from as far as 2 hours away travelling at > 120k.p.h ie Nakuru distance equivalent approx. They also try to move government services like driving license, PIN sijui what, away from the CBD to residential areas, shopping malls, post offices and online. Trains cost money but hizi zingine do not cost alot, and they are not myopic. Why are we putting changaa drums all over the place and not exploring things like these?

For harvesting water
#491 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2015 10:35:41 AM

Sio kwa ubaya but today's narrative is funny. Allow me Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#492 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2015 10:50:02 AM

Hee! Tassia Deliverance church. Finally signs of life.
Now headed to.. ...sijui kuna slum infront.

Hows Mombasa road?

Being told is terrible...

From a friend;

Manze the jam.Am headed back towards Mombasa road and the traffic that has been created by the water at Imara is mind boggling.From tao traffic begins at the haile selassie/Uhuru highway roundabout.

#493 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2015 10:57:56 AM

#stolen

Uwwwii. KIDERO rudisha Drums tuchotee maji aki .. drainage sijui iko wapiii??
"๐Ÿ˜–๐Ÿ˜กKQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ " overheard in Wazua
#494 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2015 11:00:20 AM

Siringi wrote:
#stolen

Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Ali๐Ÿ
#495 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2015 11:01:08 AM

Siringi wrote:
#stolen

Muriel
#496 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2015 11:01:36 AM

Kihara joni wrote:

Laugh
Laugh
Laugh
ole3
#497 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2015 11:10:53 AM

Muriel wrote:
Kihara joni wrote:

Laugh
Laugh
Laugh

Laughing out loudly d'oh! onside damn the rains, other thanks rain Applause

enterprising people know where to make a buck :d/
#498 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2015 11:22:49 AM

Siringi wrote:
#stolen

#499 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2015 11:24:56 AM

Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Ali๐Ÿ
#500 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2015 10:24:50 PM

murithi mutiga wrote:
Governor Evans Kidero deserves to be commended for his attempts to ease the traffic crisis in the capital.

The removal of the Westlands roundabout, for example, has ended a long-running traffic choke point.

Mombasa Road is a work in progress but the diversion of the trucks into the southern bypass will surely help.

The problem with Kenyans is that we are world class complainers. We complain when the authorities donโ€™t act and fall over ourselves criticising them when they do something.

As one who has assailed the Governor for his inertia in the past, I now doff the cap to him for at least trying something.

Interventions like a mass transit public transport system will take years to implement.

If a few tweaks can at least help the traffic move along a little faster, they are certainly worth doing.