wazua Thu, Feb 6, 2025

#NEREA Abortion Debate
Tara
#41 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 7:16:51 PM

MutantJ wrote:
2. Women should be free to decide what they want to do with their bodies after all, children affect the woman more than they do the man.

A baby is not and will never be part of their body!...The infant is a separate being and thus should also be allowed by the same women to decide what to do with their life not to take it away...

*do with their bodies* ... this includes carrying a baby for 9 months .. or do you imagine we lay an egg and sit on it till the baby hatches?

And the people who make the most noise about what women should and should not do with their bodies ... from having children to dressing to whether or not they should have sex, use contraception or get married are men. Abortions will always be done whether or not you wanted them ... banning them or vilifying those who need them only pushes people into those dark and dingy abortion clinics. Women are stigmatized when they get pregnant outside marriage, they are abandoned by the same men who weeks prior had seduced them, or toil endlessly while "the man of the house" drinks his money away. I am not saying that all men are bad... all I am saying is by the time a decision has been made to have an abortion or keep the child, the woman has evaluated her options and knows what steps to take for the future.

Yes, people say that you will always manage to feed and clothe a child when it is born but that is not always the case if people around you are struggling just like you.

#42 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 7:36:13 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
Mike Ock wrote:
Sauti Sol new song touching on touchy matters

https://youtu.be/rtNZK3PUme8

me I think that bringing a child into poverty is the biggest disadvantage you can give them. Your thoughts?

Me I ????

Him is.

Mike Ock
#43 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 8:04:15 PM

mkenyan wrote:
Intelligentsia wrote:
Mike Ock wrote:
Sauti Sol new song touching on touchy matters

https://youtu.be/rtNZK3PUme8

me I think that bringing a child into poverty is the biggest disadvantage you can give them. Your thoughts?

To paraphrase you, poor people should not have tois? Shame on you

Meaning, sasa hata watoto ni preserve for the well-off? Wee wacha zako.

and by extension poor people have no right to live (imagine someone living in poverty!! how impossible) and should be killed.

I clearly said that I think poor people are better off sorting their problems first before child bearing
Mike Ock
#44 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 8:07:55 PM

Tara
#45 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 8:41:17 PM

PeterReborn wrote:
Trust me if you got a kid today,he/she will never sleep hungry.

Which utopia is this you live in?
UpcomingPaperChaser
#46 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 8:42:18 PM

If i was a slum kid who has no food, no clothing, no shelter, no medical attention or education, i would rather my mother abort me rather than bringing me to a world of suffering.

What you fail to teach girls is that, yes they are afraid of raising kids while they are poor, but do they know the risks that they are exposing themselves when having unprotected sex? they would rather be poor but alive, rather than being poor and being HIV +!

May God forgive me for being a party to an abortion sometime ago
Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
UpcomingPaperChaser
#47 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 8:44:35 PM

Tara wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:

Boss, there are poor people in this world u wont believe they have never held a 100 bob note in their lives and they are so mature. go to Turkana and you will know that just affording to get water to drink is a luxury to so people
Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
Mike Ock
#48 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 9:05:36 PM

Tara wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:

Si he's saying "God will provide."

You can't assign Christian solutions to universal matters. After all, there's only 1 billion Christians, and we are 7 billion in this world. You have to be more practical
#49 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 10:51:00 PM

#50 Posted : Saturday, April 25, 2015 5:49:00 AM

Mike Ock wrote:
Tara wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:

Si he's saying "God will provide."

You can't assign Christian solutions to universal matters. After all, there's only 1 billion Christians, and we are 7 billion in this world. You have to be more practical

How many people die every day? Road accidents, disease, calamities etc... Maybe then, we shouldn't be all around because at some point or the other, we'll die! Heck, everyone has challenges in life... to avoid such challenges, we should eliminate people, no?

We are alive by His grace... No one has the right to make that choice, but Him

Zanze
#51 Posted : Saturday, April 25, 2015 6:19:16 AM

It's all good to have faith in God but a good look at statistics will show you the reality of the matter. Having kids too early or having too many kids keeps people in the cycle of poverty. Yes, they should use birth control or abstein but sometimes shit happens.
#52 Posted : Saturday, April 25, 2015 7:11:45 AM

Shak wrote:
Love the song! Abortion is bad, period!

Applause Applause Applause Applause

I agree, 18-25 year olds, I believe that's the age group with the highest number of abortions and btw most of them come from financially stable families so poverty is not an issue. The thing is we'll use all sorts of excuses to justify our actions but in the end you'll have to live with the consequences.
#53 Posted : Saturday, April 25, 2015 7:14:21 AM

Kenyan Constitution
Chapter 4
Bill of Rights

26(1) Every person has a right to life.
(2) The life of a person begins at conception.
(4) Abortion is not permitted.

After a lot of arguing by doctors, lawyers, teachers, abortion practitioners and survivors, this is what Kenyan's agreed at bomas and beyond (no need to re-discuss/re-argue your already discussed views) . If you cannot avoid abortion because your spiritual (non-spiritual) reasoning does not allow you to, then understand that we have to be together as Kenyans on this, we chose and "The Kenyan View" is abortion is wrong. At least you will think twice before you spread your/someones legs, pump your stupid asses up and down then "accidentally" get pregnant go to abort ati, just think kidogo before that as a Kenyan. And teach the youth this (the truth), we will be a much better people for it.
Meru Holiness
#54 Posted : Saturday, April 25, 2015 7:22:40 AM

Zanze wrote:
It's all good to have faith in God but a good look at statistics will show you the reality of the matter. Having kids too early or having too many kids keeps people in the cycle of poverty. Yes, they should use birth control or abstein but sometimes shit happens.

Lie, My first kid was brought into this world when I was 23 and he doesn't lack anything.
Zanze
#55 Posted : Saturday, April 25, 2015 7:26:22 AM

Shak wrote:
Love the song! Abortion is bad, period!

Applause Applause Applause Applause

I agree, 18-25 year olds, I believe that's the age group with the highest number of abortions and btw most of them come from financially stable families so poverty is not an issue. The thing is we'll use all sorts of excuses to justify our actions but in the end you'll have to live with the consequences.

Of course an abortion should not be considered as the first or only option of birth control. Same goes for morning after pills. If it is known than this group of people is not using contraception what's being done about it? What went wrong? Since I'm huku kwa kina @kiash I might be missing something coz I also hear people don't worry much about AIDS since ARVs work well.
Zanze
#56 Posted : Saturday, April 25, 2015 7:27:54 AM

Zanze wrote:

Lie, My first kid was brought into this world when I was 23 and he doesn't lack anything.

Good for you and your kid. Others are not so lucky.
#57 Posted : Saturday, April 25, 2015 9:28:20 AM

Zanze wrote:
It's all good to have faith in God but a good look at statistics will show you the reality of the matter. Having kids too early or having too many kids keeps people in the cycle of poverty. Yes, they should use birth control or abstain but sometimes shit happens.

And when shit happens you kill the baby? You know in a civilized society, punishment by death is left to the very notorious criminals. In fact, most societies have realized killing them is very inhuman and has changed it to life imprisonment. So punishing a child by death because shit happened is the most crude thing a human being can ever think of doing. Further, may I remind you that most abortions are not even procured by the poor. They are done by the able ones, the same who don't want a child to disrupt their career path, they don't want to be caught red-handed by their spouses now that they were having affairs outside marriage...and such other excuses. As they say, choices have consequences. You chose to get a baby, let the baby live.

By the way, if babies were killed on the basis of poverty, there millions of successful people today who are changing lives positively and even taking part in eliminating poverty who could not be alive today. Maybe even a good number of Wazuans wouldnt be alive. CEO Equity wouldn't have survived. If I got his book right, Steve Jobs too then would have been a victim. And million others.
mkeiy
#58 Posted : Saturday, April 25, 2015 1:08:36 PM

mkeiy wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:
How can having a baby be a disaster?I know pampers are expensive but the benefits of having a baby outdoes the costs.Having babies should never be a preserve for the rich.

@PeterReborn,

Ask the street kids (for example purposes) what disaster is and they'll give it to you.

Look, a human being should live a decent life, feed,clothe,be housed,health services and education.

I'm against the business of just plunging children into misery, when all that could be avoided to a huge degree.

If one has to choose between children suffering to death and abortion, i take abortion any day.

Until the day virtually all living children get good nurturing, a way has to be found of stopping/lessening the suffering.

It's inhumane watching fellow human being [child] suffer, do nothing about it, yet still,champion for more human beings [children) to be thrown into the abyss of suffering.

When you grow up and maybe have kids also,you will realize that you are wrong

@Swenani. I have kids. That's why i wouldn't want any kid anywhere to suffer the sort of suffering i see around.

I also take care of other people's kids. People with three times more kids than i do, but who can't take care of them.
mkeiy
#59 Posted : Saturday, April 25, 2015 1:22:11 PM

PeterReborn wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:
How can having a baby be a disaster?I know pampers are expensive but the benefits of having a baby outdoes the costs.Having babies should never be a preserve for the rich.

@PeterReborn,

Ask the street kids (for example purposes) what disaster is and they'll give it to you.

Look, a human being should live a decent life, feed,clothe,be housed,health services and education.

I'm against the business of just plunging children into misery, when all that could be avoided to a huge degree.

If one has to choose between children suffering to death and abortion, i take abortion any day.

Until the day virtually all living children get good nurturing, a way has to be found of stopping/lessening the suffering.

It's inhumane watching fellow human being [child] suffer, do nothing about it, yet still,champion for more human beings [children) to be thrown into the abyss of suffering.

That's where we go wrong.We have enough resources to take care of our kids.Our government has resources to settle all the street kids.In fact some of the street kids have run away from homes where there are enough resources.We are just selfish and don't want to take responsibility.Abortion doesnt unmake you a parent.It only make you a parent of a dead child.Trust me if you got a kid today,he/she will never sleep hungry.Sad that only the middle class who have money are complaining.The poor people who have more kids are not complaining and God always provide for them.

@Peter, I used street kids as an example, didn't you read that?

Abortion doesn't bring forth a kid into suffering. Whether the person procuring abortion becomes a murderer,that's their business. They are grown-ups to some extent.

People get kids and those kids go hungry,with some dying. Where are you getting the notion that once you get a kid they can never go hungry.

Burying heads in murky sands and just groping on some ill faith/hope won't solve the suffering.

Deliberate action needs to be taken by grown folks. All the living kids should be taken good care and i try doing my part helping other people's kids, but the yet-to-be born should not be thrown in the mill just for the heck of having kids.

Lastly, could be the "poor" are not complaining because they are always asking the able, "na sasa usipotusaidia unatwambia tufanye nini?"
Zanze
#60 Posted : Saturday, April 25, 2015 3:06:12 PM

I know of a lady who pickets outside abortion clinics here and has done so for many years. She somehow got herself into a situation where she needed an abortion. She put on a disguise (in case the people there thought she was spying or her fellow picketers recognized her), went and had the procedure done and as soon as she was healthy went back to picketing these same clinics and hurling insults at the people going in.

The only time you know what you'd actually do is when shit hits the fan. All we are doing here is speculating and pointing fingers and being hypocrites. Kenyans are very good at pretending to be holier than the next person yet they are committing "wrongs" all over the place. Let's mind our own business and stop projecting our wishes on other people. If you want to have a kid you can't properly raise (or can raise) ... That's on you. If you are irresponsible with your sex life or you do everything you can but still get pregnant ... that's also on you to make the decision that best suits you.