wazua Thu, Jan 9, 2025

22 Pages«<1314151617>»
Mbuzi Season 10
#281 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 8:42:33 AM

JB keep up the spirit. Can't attend current one, just hoping though i can send two bottles of some good merlot. Just proposing, other than random dates can we put two mbuzi events on a calender every year with wazuan minimum expectations for such an event (venue, standards e.t.c), then one/two wazuans can combine to book (sponsor) or bid to host the mbuzi well in advance with a commitment fee for whatever they propose? Attendees can then pay a minimum contribution when they can be put on guest list plus some other strategies to sieve any chaff from the wheat. The sponsor then carries/plans the day with a rock solid mbuzi.

I think that will be the solution, one can't be a constant mbuzi attendee who can never contribute anything or in future mbuzi ikuwe bila pledges, people just confirm attendance then we go dutch or divide the denominator!!!!.......the cocoon does this a number of times!!!
#282 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 9:04:24 AM

From the thread, I suspect motivation plummeted for the following reasons:

1. Weak agenda- eating and drinking and having 'fun'? Not even a hint of wazua spirit - not that we care about it on line!

2. Function is held hostage by those who believe they must be there for it to succeed

3. No fair and democratic way for determining venue

4. No clear way of determining what to pledge

5. Even after pledging, issues of fair division of enjoyment arise

6. Non participation/involvement of non pledgers and non attenders is a motivation damper

7. The web design of wazua, is old and may be unconducive for promotion of such events
Muriel
#283 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 9:12:44 AM

1. Weak agenda- eating and drinking and having 'fun'? Not even a hint of wazua spirit - not that we care about it on line!

2. Function is held hostage by those who believe they must be there for it to succeed

6. Non participation/involvement of non pledgers and non attenders is a motivation damper

7. The web design of wazua, is old and may be unconducive for promotion of such events

I felt it too.
Muriel
#284 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 9:14:35 AM

Muriel wrote:
so sad.i wasnt planning to attend but i wish it could happen.i abhor jokers especially when it comes to pledging or promises.why promise something you are not 100% sure you will deliver even if shit happens? you better just keep quiet.

One need very serious talking people, in such matters it seems?

Perhaps Wazuans looked at their wallets and the calendar but none was willing to mention that elephant in the room.

Si then move the Mbuzi to 2-May-2015?

Now that's a thought. Yet it is still a Saturday.
#285 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 9:14:51 AM

aii I don't see why guys are getting angry here.

The only one supposed to be annoyed i JB. The others complaining, how much did you pledge or not pledge.

It was not my mbuzi. Yes my suggestion but it was never meant to be mine. Unfortunately, I really can't get time right now however much I try. It's just one of those things that one can't help.

Now there's still time for those who can meet up to meet up. Those that haven't sent a single cent to it, had better keep mum. It's actually annoying saying those posts.
#286 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 9:19:18 AM

MatataMingi wrote:
digitek1 wrote:
PRESS ALERT

Good people. Due to avoidable circumstances, and for avoidance of uncertainty, Mbuzi Season 10 has been cancelled Sad . With only sh2k in the accounts by COB today, and considering the much awaited date is this Saturday, it wasn’t possible to guarantee its success. Apologies to all who wanted to brace the occasion.

That said, I would also want to step aside from the unofficial, self-appointed, humility-driven Angel , unpaid, surprise-filled, Mpesa-receiving position of Finance Executive, Mbuzi Ministry, ClubSK County, in the Republic of Wazua smile . This is to allow the Wazua Cocoon to conduct investigations as to the conduct of this Mbuzi, and make recommendations to the Republic for future Mbuzis.

May God bless future Mbuzis. May God bless Wazua.

So sad that wazuans were at the last minute taken for a ride by one or two individuals. Credibility of .........

Taken for a ride by one or two people. Wake up.
Who came good on their pledges?
4K - that is shocking.
Their were more people "eating" than "pledging", including your good self.

As someone pointed out earlier, when you are talking about sneaking in bottles Because you cannot or don't want to pay corkage,there will be a problem.
If people are so mean, don't plan a mbuzi. OR go somewhere where you can afford.

I can fully understand JB's response. I would have done the same. He has been the treasurer for many such mbuzi events.

After all his efforts trying to arrange this he is left with 4K. Enough to buy 2 chickens AND no drinks.

Are you guys serious about these events.

Thank you @MatataMingi, like seriously, thank you. Actually a Wazuan, a guest and myself came good. I was hoping for the pledgers to advice on when they can come good. It can still happen, coz these venues are a call away. So, we can still do something. Just that @alma, wasn't available, due to personal reasons, doesn't mean the rest aren't.

There are people willing to have such an interaction, and an amazing time. So let's see about tomorrow. Bavaria is a call away. I'll sort everything out tomorrow, if pledges prevail. Please, pledgers, let's do this. Swenani, Vallerie, Sheila, Rollins, Chemos, Kiterunner, maka, PeterReborn, Rahatupu(and I got mad respect for you, need to meet you), Wakanyugi, Bigchick, my Arsenal fan, @Taz, let's do this. Talk to me. La Decima.

Wazua Admin????Sad

If its on me I will mpesa you today...sina shida kabisa,so whats the position.
#287 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 9:46:50 AM

Just a long 2 cents based on experience coordinating Mbuzis.

Mbuzi 5 and 6 had contributors such as @ Ric Dees and @ storyteller who gave full mbuzi wakiwa diaspora- they didn’t need to be there to eat and many others who contributed expensive drinks and were not in the list of ‘eaters’-so wazua has very generous people.Then the subsequent mbuzis,pledges dwindled, late contributions, some didn’t honor the pledges and a number wanted to show up without contributing. At some point,I had to tell people to pledge and only then would they be on the list; let’s face it,if we have more ‘eaters’ than pledges/ little pledges ,that will be an epic fail.

The last mbuzi also happened last minute,people were slow to honor their pledges. I think that there is need to change the way mbuzi is organized . I might be wrong,but I think that people are a bit tired of always kind of being on the contributing list and a large number saying ‘I pledge my appetite’

@ Tycho,mbuzi has never been about drinking and eating, that means you have not been to any mbuzi. It is about fun,yes,but also an opportunity to network. For example, I am doing some work now with contacts from @smano.I also do not think anyone felt that they should be there for mbuzi to happen.Last mbuzi had many new faces and it was very nice.

@ Muriel,how will a venue be determined if people either do not suggest, or suggest a place and when asked to bring rates,no one wants to do that? That is why we have always stuck with Alfajiri . The way to make it happen would be to have as many suggestions as possible and with rates and then let the people decide. That has never happened in the history of mbuzi planning. It is always @ JB or @ MC who check the venue and bring rates. We have stuck with Alfaijiri for convenience.

So the question would be,do people want to continue to network through mbuzi and if yes,then how do they want to do it and then move forward from there.

My suggestion would be along the lines of @ MC;every ‘eater’ should pledge and then that money goes to buy food( shared meal),and for drinks,everyone buys what they want to drink . That would still keep the aspect of sharing and responsibility

#288 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 10:26:26 AM

There have been 9 other Mbuzis. Attend one, then we talk.
#289 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 10:43:33 AM

@famooz, I don't expect zero networks to form out of a mbuzi event, but I also note that given the structure, venue, and inputs to the event, networking can hardly be an optimal issue that can motivate me for example to come. Even the type of network is another issue, and how much one should invest on the network another. How does this site encourage networking?

The issue of venue and rates may be a technical one. For example, what if prospective businesses made their bids on wazua and wazuans voted for their favorite? Can a mbuzi event be in a neutral venue where even AlphDoti can pop in and participate? (some of us can't step into a pub)

#290 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 10:48:00 AM

@famooz, I don't expect zero networks to form out of a mbuzi event, but I also note that given the structure, venue, and inputs to the event, networking can hardly be an optimal issue that can motivate me for example to come. Even the type of network is another issue, and how much one should invest on the network another. How does this site encourage networking?

The issue of venue and rates may be a technical one. For example, what if prospective businesses made their bids on wazua and wazuans voted for their favorite? Can a mbuzi event be in a neutral venue where even AlphDoti can pop in and participate? (some of us can't step into a pub)

To the best of my knowledge,nothing prevents people from making suggestions about what should be done/how to improve.
Toa maoni yako about how things should be done and by whom.
#291 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 11:08:00 AM

MatataMingi wrote:
digitek1 wrote:
PRESS ALERT

Good people. Due to avoidable circumstances, and for avoidance of uncertainty, Mbuzi Season 10 has been cancelled Sad . With only sh2k in the accounts by COB today, and considering the much awaited date is this Saturday, it wasn’t possible to guarantee its success. Apologies to all who wanted to brace the occasion.

That said, I would also want to step aside from the unofficial, self-appointed, humility-driven Angel , unpaid, surprise-filled, Mpesa-receiving position of Finance Executive, Mbuzi Ministry, ClubSK County, in the Republic of Wazua smile . This is to allow the Wazua Cocoon to conduct investigations as to the conduct of this Mbuzi, and make recommendations to the Republic for future Mbuzis.

So sad that wazuans were at the last minute taken for a ride by one or two individuals. Credibility of .........

4K - that is shocking.

As someone pointed out earlier, when you are talking about sneaking in bottles Because you cannot or don't want to pay corkage,there will be a problem.
If people are so mean, don't plan a mbuzi. OR go somewhere where you can afford.

I can fully understand JB's response. I would have done the same. He has been the treasurer for many such mbuzi events.

After all his efforts trying to arrange this he is left with 4K. Enough to buy 2 chickens AND no drinks.

Thank you @MatataMingi, like seriously, thank you. Actually a Wazuan, a guest and myself came good. I was hoping for the pledgers to advice on when they can come good. It can still happen, coz these venues are a call away. So, we can still do something. Just that @alma, wasn't available, due to personal reasons, doesn't mean the rest aren't.

There are people willing to have such an interaction, and an amazing time. So let's see about tomorrow. Bavaria is a call away. I'll sort everything out tomorrow, if pledges prevail. Please, pledgers, let's do this. Swenani, Vallerie, Sheila, Rollins, Chemos, Kiterunner, maka, PeterReborn, Rahatupu(and I got mad respect for you, need to meet you), Wakanyugi, Bigchick, my Arsenal fan, @Taz, let's do this. Talk to me. La Decima.

Wazua Admin????Sad

Yangu pia
#292 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 11:29:43 AM

JB, which of the nine previous mbuzis should I attend? So that we can talk?
#293 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 11:31:25 AM

MatataMingi wrote:
digitek1 wrote:
PRESS ALERT

4K - that is shocking.

Wazua Admin????Sad

Yangu pia

Nitumieni basi. Others will follow suit. Like I said, Bavaria are a call away. It can still happen.
#294 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 11:31:42 AM

famooz wrote:

To the best of my knowledge,nothing prevents people from making suggestions about what should be done/how to improve.
Toa maoni yako about how things should be done and by whom.

Great attitude. I will toa maoni. . .
#295 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 11:43:34 AM

JB, which of the nine previous mbuzis should I attend? So that we can talk?

I am saying, attend one future Mbuzi, then we can talk about the above points, not on the unknown. Previous Mbuzis have been successful. Re-read @famooz's post.
PeterReborn
#296 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 11:54:44 AM

@JB there is no need to postpone the Mbuzi.If you cancel the mbuzi then chances of having another mbuzi will decrease significantly because no one will be sure it will happen next time.
We were all aware that the mbuzi is happening tomorrow and it was not a surprise.
Let those who are available come and network.
We can contribute money to buy the mbuzi and then buy our own drinks.
I can also suggest that we can order the mbuzi when we are there.If we are about 10 eaters then we just need a bout 5 kilos which can be both fry and choma.
@Taz and @Maka have confirmed they will send through the money.I will also send through my contribution.Lets make this happen.
Consistency is better than intensity
#297 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 11:59:23 AM

PeterReborn wrote:
@JB there is no need to postpone the Mbuzi.If you cancel the mbuzi then chances of having another mbuzi will decrease significantly because no one will be sure it will happen next time.
We were all aware that the mbuzi is happening tomorrow and it was not a surprise.
Let those who are available come and network.
We can contribute money to buy the mbuzi and then buy our own drinks.
I can also suggest that we can order the mbuzi when we are there.If we are about 10 eaters then we just need a bout 5 kilos which can be both fry and choma.
@Taz and @Maka have confirmed they will send through the money.I will also send through my contribution.Lets make this happen.

Word. Agreeable. I'm game. And I'm sure the likes of Sheila and Vallerie are too (that's for @Swenani)... Tumeni pesa basi. Then we do it...
Muriel
#298 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 12:00:57 PM

famooz wrote:
Just a long 2 cents based on experience coordinating Mbuzis.

Mbuzi 5 and 6 had contributors such as @ Ric Dees and @ storyteller who gave full mbuzi wakiwa diaspora- they didn’t need to be there to eat and many others who contributed expensive drinks and were not in the list of ‘eaters’-so wazua has very generous people.Then the subsequent mbuzis,pledges dwindled, late contributions, some didn’t honor the pledges and a number wanted to show up without contributing. At some point,I had to tell people to pledge and only then would they be on the list; let’s face it,if we have more ‘eaters’ than pledges/ little pledges ,that will be an epic fail.

The last mbuzi also happened last minute,people were slow to honor their pledges. I think that there is need to change the way mbuzi is organized . I might be wrong,but I think that people are a bit tired of always kind of being on the contributing list and a large number saying ‘I pledge my appetite’

@ Tycho,mbuzi has never been about drinking and eating, that means you have not been to any mbuzi. It is about fun,yes,but also an opportunity to network. For example, I am doing some work now with contacts from @smano.I also do not think anyone felt that they should be there for mbuzi to happen.Last mbuzi had many new faces and it was very nice.

@ Muriel,how will a venue be determined if people either do not suggest, or suggest a place and when asked to bring rates,no one wants to do that? That is why we have always stuck with Alfajiri . The way to make it happen would be to have as many suggestions as possible and with rates and then let the people decide. That has never happened in the history of mbuzi planning. It is always @ JB or @ MC who check the venue and bring rates. We have stuck with Alfaijiri for convenience.

So the question would be,do people want to continue to network through mbuzi and if yes,then how do they want to do it and then move forward from there.

My suggestion would be along the lines of @ MC;every ‘eater’ should pledge and then that money goes to buy food( shared meal),and for drinks,everyone buys what they want to drink . That would still keep the aspect of sharing and responsibility

I see. Thank you for the explanation.
#299 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 12:02:20 PM

Date: 25th April
Venue: Bavaria Gardens, next to Lions Place
Time: 2pm

Pledges
Swenani - Half mbuzi
Maka - 1 crate of White Cap
Rahatupu - Chicken wings
Chemos - 1 bottle of Jameson
PeterReborn - sh2k - paid
Rollins - 1 crate of Tusker and Zoe's bottle of Amarula
Kiterunner - sh3k
Vallerie - sh3k
Anonymous - sh1k for cassava ugali and kachumbari - Paid
Sheila - sh2k
Wakanyugi - bottle of favourite drink
Bigchick - sh1k
Taz - 1 bottle of Jameson (for McReggae)
Guest -sh2k - Paid
JB - sh1k - Paid

Eaters
Swenani, maka, McR, kysse, nakujua, JB, luttz, chemos, urstill, derick, PeterReborn, Rollins, Ric Dees, mawinder, Coolio, kiterunner, Vallerie, Wamunyota, Anonymous, Sheila, Wakanyugi, Bigchick, Guest

Email: jsblazin@gmail.com
No: 0721-548194
Pray Pray Pray
#300 Posted : Friday, April 24, 2015 12:04:55 PM

So it's back on.