#221 Posted : Saturday, April 14, 2012 6:45:55 PM

a4architect.com wrote:

Alma the internet is theirs so as long as u use it then they have your info

@Murchr.. nobody owns the internet

http://computer.howstuff...rnet-infrastructure.htm

Since its beginning in 1969, the Internet has grown from four host computer systems to tens of millions. However, just because nobody owns the Internet, it doesn't mean it is not monitored and maintained in different ways. The Internet Society, a non-profit group established in 1992, oversees the formation of the policies and protocols that define how we use and interact with the Internet.

All that is very good to read but what i meant was as long as your info in on the web then someone somewhere can access what you do and makeup a law to terminate your operations.
#222 Posted : Saturday, April 14, 2012 7:15:20 PM

@elder, couldn't agree with you more.

eboomerang
#223 Posted : Saturday, April 14, 2012 9:32:39 PM

You forget one thing, knowledge and skill never gets depleted what we are calling the "in thing" today will be a dinosaur tomorrow and to stay relevant you have to network and have your antennas high to know what will be "in" tomorrow, therefore no serious developer can rush to "buy paris" on striking it big the first time.

Check out Noris Kaboo http://noristechnologies.com/the-kaboo-tablet/, don't u think these guys need maximum support?

And by the way, as long as ur using the www then your info is out there, it doesnt matter if its on google or yahoo or what

Nothing there is original, not even a single thing. Maybe only the name Noris and Kaboo if we insist on finding something.

All I see is some cheap hardware designed and developed somewhere in the East and Android thrown in their.

Then some people have been given the chance to come to Kenya and SELL "their" product under "their" own brand name.

There is nothing revolutionary about that. In fact I'm sorry if you are holding your breath waiting for these kind of companies to drive the ICT story in Kenya.

They would not even survive a single law suit if any of the big players came after them.
#224 Posted : Saturday, April 14, 2012 9:59:48 PM

eboomerang wrote:

You forget one thing, knowledge and skill never gets depleted what we are calling the "in thing" today will be a dinosaur tomorrow and to stay relevant you have to network and have your antennas high to know what will be "in" tomorrow, therefore no serious developer can rush to "buy paris" on striking it big the first time.

Check out Noris Kaboo http://noristechnologies.com/the-kaboo-tablet/, don't u think these guys need maximum support?

And by the way, as long as ur using the www then your info is out there, it doesnt matter if its on google or yahoo or what

Nothing there is original, not even a single thing. Maybe only the name Noris and Kaboo if we insist on finding something.

All I see is some cheap hardware designed and developed somewhere in the East and Android thrown in their.

Then some people have been given the chance to come to Kenya and SELL "their" product under "their" own brand name.

There is nothing revolutionary about that. In fact I'm sorry if you are holding your breath waiting for these kind of companies to drive the ICT story in Kenya.

They would not even survive a single law suit if any of the big players came after them.

I have never seen anything original/revolutionary that Asians have brought in the IT world but they run the show. These people that are selling what your seeing are Kenyans like it or not

I bet you are of the opinion that the Nyayo car was a very stupid idea
#225 Posted : Sunday, April 15, 2012 6:44:15 AM

I am of the opinion that Nyayo Car was a great idea but it was implemented badly. In the end it was a stupid idea.

The same story is true of Konza.

@eboomerang a law suit is on the way.
a4architect.com
#226 Posted : Sunday, April 15, 2012 7:23:45 AM

Another one from Congo

http://www.globalpost.co...let-congo-verone-mankou

While the Way-C was designed in Congo, it was assembled in China, to keep the price low and because of a lack of factories in the central African country.

On the official Way-C website, Mankou describes the tablet as being affordable without being a cheaply made product, and filling a gap in the market for a device catering specifically to Africans.

http://gearburn.com/2012...ongo-born-us300-tablet/

http://www.bet.com/news/...ica-s-first-tablet.html

Verone Mankou's interview

http://www.southworld.ne...p/component/k2/item/127

How did you finance development and production?

This was the hardest part. It took us two years to collect enough funds to research and develop the idea. We are now in the production phase, and we still need financing. We are now discussing with the government to see if they could contribute to the running costs. We are also talking to private investors.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
a4architect.com
#227 Posted : Sunday, April 15, 2012 7:52:28 AM

On another note, Kukubo and Ndemo should begin by making parliament website accesible.
Its always down..

www.parliament.go.ke

He should also make it interactive-

Expert forum developers like @wazua admin are here with us-their skill should be utilised by GoK to make a better Kenya.

Also, other Ministry websites are either down or have outdated info. I have alerted Ndemo @bantigito and Kukubo @pkukubo several times on this via twitter

http://www.statehouseken...ke/government/local.htm

It says Minister is · Hon Uhuru Kenyatta, M.P.

He left that docket eons ago..

It says Permanent Secretary is· Mr. Solomon S. Boit, C.B.S

The current PS is Prof. Karega Mutahi-

i had a meeting with him a few months ago as i was trying to collaborate with his Ministry on my ICT solution for making it easier to submit plans for approvals online-which he asked me to pitch to the councils directly.

Konza city should start with Government of Kenya being accessible and interactive first. A simple website costs less than 10k.

@wazua admin can donate to them a dedicated page in Wazua if they cant afford smile

Ministry of lands have at least tried something that looks like a forum
http://www.lands.go.ke/i..._fireboard&Itemid=27
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
#228 Posted : Saturday, April 18, 2015 3:05:05 AM

After this student has hit it big, is he supposed to continue working from his bedroom?

Think Big Man!

He can buy Paris!

Hi Alma, am sure you know this that Facebook...the company that started in some Harvard hostel, opened up a new 430,000sq ft complex in Silicon Valley Carlifornia see photo here

This is what Mark had to say;

Mark Zuckerberg wrote:
Our goal was to create the perfect engineering space for our teams to work together. We wanted our space to create the same sense of community and connection among our teams that we try to enable with our services across the world.

To do this, we designed the largest open floor plan in the world — a single room that fits thousands of people. There are lots of small spaces where people can work together, and it’s easy for people to move around and collaborate with anyone here. On the roof is a 9-acre park with walking trails and many outdoor spaces to sit and work.......

I’ll share more photos and stories about this building once we’re fully unpacked, but for now here’s one taken flying over the green roof

Facebook already had 2,000 employees at its headquarters in Menlo Park, Calif.

But it's currently on a major expansion plan. Eventually, its current location—the East Campus—will hold 6,600 employees. Another 2,800 will occupy a second site, the West Campus, across the Bayfront Expressway.

An aerial view

Now back to Kenya.......Did I hear Dan Muchemi say that he employs over 1000 at Jambo Pay...i also understand that he started the company from a cyber cafe Mmmmmhhhhh...
#229 Posted : Sunday, April 19, 2015 9:24:13 AM

Now back to Kenya.......Did I hear Dan Muchemi say that he employs over 1000 at Jambo Pay...i also understand that he started the company from a cyber cafe Mmmmmhhhhh..

1000 staff for Webtribe? Hapanaaaa!
#230 Posted : Sunday, April 19, 2015 4:03:50 PM

Now back to Kenya.......Did I hear Dan Muchemi say that he employs over 1000 at Jambo Pay...i also understand that he started the company from a cyber cafe Mmmmmhhhhh..

1000 staff for Webtribe? Hapanaaaa!

Sorre about that...over 100. But a 1000 is not a pipe dream, depending on the amount of business they attract. Remember the company doesnt only employ webtribers there are accountants marketers/sales people, lawyers, dedicated client managers etc.
timbosho
#231 Posted : Monday, April 20, 2015 4:09:06 AM

I am of the opinion that Nyayo Car was a great idea but it was implemented badly. In the end it was a stupid idea.

@alma hii sirkal is not serious with access to strategic information, and strategic economic opportunities. So long as you are a foreign company you get full access to the house, mpaka kwa bedroom.
I saw that the government is setting up an database of ID numbers, passports and names, and has engaged an Eastern European company to build this system. Knowing our government, I am sure "something small" of the chicken variety changed hands. Apart from that, we do not know if any controls were put in place to make sure this data is secure, and not accessible by some college dropout programmer sitting somewhere in Eastern Europe.
Government records are being digitised by IBM, Google etc. Even Parliament's Hansard. MPESA is being run by Vodafone, na mtu asiseme ati its now in Kenya. The servers are in Kenya, but the royalties go to the UK and the system it uses is run from the UK.
It makes you wonder, why is it that the government is so keen to hand over as much as possible of its responsibilities and tax payer funds to foreign companies? Surely hizo taxes paid so painfully should stay here in Kenya by engaging Kenyan businesses. If its a matter of capacity insist on time limited joint ventures with significant roles for Kenyans, with sunset clauses. Kenyan businesses should be encouraged to learn fast and provide the services the foreign companies are providing, and fight for the Kenyan and African market. It is not "development", where everything is built and run by foreigner companies. We have to learn to do these things for ourselves, but all we do is pay the bill and consume, and we call it development. By the time we realise what we have done it will be too late to do anything about it, and those who signed these bad deals will have died, and their children will be citizens of the countries they sold the rest of us out to.
#232 Posted : Monday, April 20, 2015 6:42:17 AM

timbosho wrote:

@alma hii sirkal is not serious with access to strategic information, and strategic economic opportunities. So long as you are a foreign company you get full access to the house, mpaka kwa bedroom.
I saw that the government is setting up an database of ID numbers, passports and names, and has engaged an Eastern European company to build this system. Knowing our government, I am sure "something small" of the chicken variety changed hands. Apart from that, we do not know if any controls were put in place to make sure this data is secure, and not accessible by some college dropout programmer sitting somewhere in Eastern Europe.
Government records are being digitised by IBM, Google etc. Even Parliament's Hansard. MPESA is being run by Vodafone, na mtu asiseme ati its now in Kenya. The servers are in Kenya, but the royalties go to the UK and the system it uses is run from the UK.

It makes you wonder, why is it that the government is so keen to hand over as much as possible of its responsibilities and tax payer funds to foreign companies? Surely hizo taxes paid so painfully should stay here in Kenya by engaging Kenyan businesses. If its a matter of capacity insist on time limited joint ventures with significant roles for Kenyans, with sunset clauses. Kenyan businesses should be encouraged to learn fast and provide the services the foreign companies are providing, and fight for the Kenyan and African market. It is not "development", where everything is built and run by foreigner companies. We have to learn to do these things for ourselves, but all we do is pay the bill and consume, and we call it development. By the time we realise what we have done it will be too late to do anything about it, and those who signed these bad deals will have died, and their children will be citizens of the countries they sold the rest of us out to.

Mmmh???? Where did you get that information? MPESA E-REGISTRATION
#233 Posted : Monday, April 20, 2015 10:17:51 AM

timbosho wrote:

What happened to the e-registration which was supposedto kick off early this year?
timbosho
#234 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2015 4:05:31 AM

timbosho wrote:

For the database of ids and passports sio hio umeeka ni hii wanaita IPRS (Integrated Population Registration System, which was developed and implemented in 2012/2013 IPRS
For MPESA just look at the Safaricom financial report, check for MPESA fees paid to Vodafone UK Plc. As I learnt from Wazua, follow the money, not the marketing talk.
#235 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2015 5:52:20 AM

timbosho wrote:

For the database of ids and passports sio hio umeeka ni hii wanaita IPRS (Integrated Population Registration System, which was developed and implemented in 2012/2013 IPRS
For MPESA just look at the Safaricom financial report, check for MPESA fees paid to Vodafone UK Plc. As I learnt from Wazua, follow the money, not the marketing talk.

Yes MPESA is not Kenyan it was implemented by Vodafone <<the company that owns 40% of Safcom. Not only in Kenya but Afghanistan among other countries
premio
#236 Posted : Tuesday, April 21, 2015 5:57:04 PM

Ghanas petronia city seems to be promising just wonderingh does Ghana present better opportunities than Kenya, prices and quality seems to be at par www.petroniacity.com