#21 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 1:07:36 PM

majimaji wrote:
If what I am seeing on ktn is Rescue?
28 in hospital 2 dead including an infant.
Everything seems to be at standstill, plus dont they have proper, heavy lifting tools.
I thought the Israel government donated life saving tools to the government??? au ziliuzwa gikomba?
Kidero has just arrived. Posing for photos. 7 levels built without approval he says.yaaawn.
Kidero has instructed us to question landlords.Eti 'kagizzard ' is your house approved? before occupying. ish .

Anyway, one of the problems with construction approvals done by the Kidero County is that the land/plot has to have a title for one to submit building plans. 90 percent of plots in Nairobi Eastlands have no title so no submission. secondly, the county govt has no capacity to deal with all approvals if submissions were done. third, corruption at county buildings approval department, fourthly, submission is costly un-necessarily, they ask for like 200k for a bungalow submission

hapo kweli, the approval process is still stuck to what the colonial masters left - lakini even if the approval process is done what will stop the rogue architect/engineer/owner from using substandard steel or poor sand quality or kidogo cement, unless the local authority guys are hired as the watu wa mikono the responsibility at the end of the day lies with the owner/architect/engineer -watu wa akili kidogo.

From my understanding,once the approval has been granted,The county govt engineers and architects are supposed to be monitoring the construction periodically by visiting the site and doing some tests on the material used.

I am assuming that would require lots of engineers and architects - lakini all said, what keeps people in check are the consequences of doing the wrong thing - as long as individuals know they can get away with it they will always cut corners.

unless we want to police the guys every actions, its just kidogo akili that tells an owner/engineer/architect that they are just messing with other human beings lives.

Howmany structural engineers are emmployed by the County and national government in Nairobi?

In my previous life before devillusion,I interacted with the a provincial public works office which had employed many engineers, architects and quality assurance officers who werent doing their work but just rent seeking!!!
Pesa Nane
#22 Posted : Wednesday, January 07, 2015 11:04:10 PM

You have been a member since:: 5/25/2012
My heart bleeds for you/us faceless Huruma people.

#RIPzinawenyewe
#QuickRecoveryzinawenyewe
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
african coloner
#23 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 1:08:03 AM

The optimist wrote:
Another building collapses.

The only way the city council can sort this mess is only by out sourcing from private companies. It will actually bring more income.
XSK
#24 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 8:01:04 AM

african coloner wrote:
The optimist wrote:
Another building collapses.

The only way the city council can sort this mess is only by out sourcing from private companies. It will actually bring more income.

To the kanjo!
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
#25 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2015 12:42:24 PM

a six storey building collapses in Rosyambu

[imghttps://pbs.twimg.com/media/CBk5FXIUMAIjkFI.jpg][/img]

Will insurance pay the car owners?

What happened to the audit and demolition of buildings? Or it was only targeted in Eastlands?
#26 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2015 12:56:29 PM

Impunity...
#27 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2015 3:00:52 PM

Impunity...

RIP impunity!
#28 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2015 4:15:46 PM

a six storey building collapses in Rosyambu

What happened to the audit and demolition of buildings? Or it was only targeted in Eastlands?

Too bad for the roysambu subaru guy #njokichege. Pole.
#29 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2015 12:26:13 AM

Sad. That car looks somewhat familiar. Does it belong to someone working at USAID?

kiash
#30 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2015 12:40:44 AM

Sad. That car looks somewhat familiar. Does it belong to someone working at USAID?

It belongs to swenani Rip @swenani
#31 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2015 12:40:47 AM

you are thinking of pieces of metal instead of the human life that might be buried in the rubble? smh!
kiash
#32 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2015 12:46:11 AM

Corruption reloaded
#33 Posted : Friday, April 03, 2015 11:40:46 AM

Imagine if that's your car and you were at your mpango's bedsitter in the next building. You had told mama watoto that you were nipping over to see your mum in buru. BTW the xtrail is on mama's staff loan.
#34 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 12:21:43 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

Imagine if that's your car and you were at your mpango's bedsitter in the next building. You had told mama watoto that you were nipping over to see your mum in buru. BTW the xtrail is on mama's staff loan.

Damn. Kumbe he was the developer. He's lucky to be alive. Hope employer won't fire him. Building didn't have approval. Problem is that those plots in that area have no title deeds and thus approvals are shida. Rents hapo go for 28k for a 2bdr, so he was looking at earning around 800k each month for the 6 floor building.

<<<The Star: Collapsed building had no approval>>>
#35 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2015 7:15:32 PM

Another building?
#36 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2015 9:24:53 AM

Another building?

Rink???