wazua Mon, Aug 18, 2025

9 Pages«<45678>»
Roundabouts Killed...
#101 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 10:30:53 AM

Not sure if this has been asked before, but how do schools increase or cause the massive traffic jams.

Answer: Think School buses and Private School transport Van

wacha you get a katoi na afike school smile going age utajua tu smile smile
#102 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 11:07:14 AM

Siringi wrote:
Not sure if this has been asked before, but how do schools increase or cause the massive traffic jams.

Add teachers going to work and non- academic staff .
As aforestated, traffic jam on James Gichuru is caused by vehicles dropping pupils at Loreto Msongari,st.Austins/Mary's, Strath more .I have also seen Braeburn and Rundan school buses.
#103 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 11:29:19 AM

Siringi wrote:

Nakujua lives in shanderema location. No school buses mashambani.
#104 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 12:47:09 PM

The guys behind the taskforce:Bodies represented in the Task Force: MoTI, NCC, NTSA, Traffic Police, KURA, KeNHA, Consultants (Mott MacDonald, Gauff Consultants, Wanjohi Consulting)

Budget Estimate:
1.Traffic Modelling (CBD, Westlands, Bunyala, Lusaka, Kiganjo Avenue Bridge)-KES 30 M
2.Civil Works; CBD, Westlands, Bunyala, Lusaka, Kiganjo Avenue Bridge)-KES 25 M
3. Removal of 5 No Roundabout on A104 (University Way, Kenyatta Av, Haille Selassie, Bunyala Rd, Lusaka Rd)-KES 288M.
4.Contingency-KES 45 M

Total KES 388M

So the traffic lights(400M) and removal of roundabouts (388M) will cost the tax payer KES 788M.This excludes the fees paid to the consulting firm

Timeline

1.Press conference to sensitise the public on rerouting of traffic on A104. Newspaper / FM Radio-I day by CS/Governor.
2.Mobilisation and implementation of A104 (Westlands, Bunyala Rd, Lusaka Rd, Kiganjo Av Bridge)-4 weeks by task force implementation team.
3. Monitoring of traffic movements for the above-1 week by task force implementation team.
4.Removal of Roundabouts and replacement with signalised junctions-4 weeks by taskforce implementation team.
5.Review and identify suitable decongestion measures for Arterial Roads-12 weeks by taskforce decongestation committe

#105 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 5:52:41 PM

Siringi wrote:

smile my kids walk to school, and in their school only the headmaster owns a car which is mostly ground - thus my confusion on the connection between schools and traffic jam.
Lakini the schools I see mentioned hapa ni strath, braeburn, loreto, st austin, st marys, rundan - to be honest never seen those school buses the few times I get to visit nairobi, ama I just stick to my lane.
#106 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 5:54:45 PM

Siringi wrote:

smile my kids walk to school, and in their school only the headmaster owns a car which is mostly ground - thus my confusion on the connection between schools and traffic jam.
Lakini the schools I see mentioned hapa ni strath, braeburn, loreto, st austin, st marys, rundan - to be honest never seen those school buses the few times I get to visit nairobi, ama I just stick to my lane.

How can you stick to your lane in shanderema?Please stick to your footpath or bicycle path
#107 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 6:08:05 PM

Siringi wrote:

How can you stick to your lane in shanderema?Please stick to your footpath or bicycle path

smile, when I visit nairobi - kwani this schools have branches in nakuru, last time I passed huko there was a decent build up of traffic, good thing haziko khayega
#108 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 6:15:55 PM

Siringi wrote:

smh.
@ najukua 97% of all schools in nairobi including the salvation army ones own buses.
#109 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 6:21:16 PM

Siringi wrote:

smh.
@ najukua 97% of all schools in nairobi including the salvation army ones own buses.

True and I understand that, just a query that I have always had, since I rarely see the school buses say on jogoo road, or mombasa road or muranga road - but if the said effect of the school buses and kids being dropped is restricted to the school locations then that makes sense.

Well, my bad - I thought the majority traffic situation is attributed to schools closing, lakini it seems its in some specific areas.
#110 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 6:22:04 PM

Siringi wrote:

add parents who uee their vehicles during school term only

others takeleave during hols-to be with kids
kiriita
#111 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 6:56:38 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:

I saw the answer on tweeter... by some genius.... You live in Kilimani and work in Westlands with kids at Rusinga School.

During school term you travel up to Kawangware to drop the kids and then to Westie. During holidays you just travel to Westie.

During school term you will spend more time on the road than during holiday so you will add to the congestion.

When things become too much, you buy an extra car for school rounds adding even more to the jam.

Word. I know a family that lives in Kiambu. One kid goes to Riara [Riara Road, dropped/picked by a driver who does errands in between], the other is at St Bakhita in South B [dropped by the dad who works in Inda]....
#112 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 8:25:04 PM

Siringi wrote:

smh.

True and I understand that, just a query that I have always had, since I rarely see the school buses say on jogoo road, or mombasa road or muranga road - but if the said effect of the school buses and kids being dropped is restricted to the school locations then that makes sense.

Well, my bad - I thought the majority traffic situation is attributed to schools closing, lakini it seems its in some specific areas.

Jam on one road leads to congestion in another and eventually affects the entire system. For example Jam on J.Gichuru affects flow along Waiyaki way which is linked to Uhuru highway.
#113 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 10:26:56 PM

Siringi wrote:

smh.

Jam on one road leads to congestion in another and eventually affects the entire system. For example Jam on J.Gichuru affects flow along Waiyaki way which is linked to Uhuru highway.

Hapo sawa, I now get the picture.
derick
#114 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 10:57:19 PM

They should all go. They are the major cause of traffic jam
Your income is directly related to your philosophy, Not the economy.-Jim Rohn
#115 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 11:03:54 PM

By the way @Nakujua anakuanga serious ama ni jokes?
#116 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 11:17:51 PM

The guys behind the taskforce:Bodies represented in the Task Force: MoTI, NCC, NTSA, Traffic Police, KURA, KeNHA, Consultants (Mott MacDonald, Gauff Consultants, Wanjohi Consulting)

Budget Estimate:
1.Traffic Modelling (CBD, Westlands, Bunyala, Lusaka, Kiganjo Avenue Bridge)-KES 30 M
2.Civil Works; CBD, Westlands, Bunyala, Lusaka, Kiganjo Avenue Bridge)-KES 25 M
3. Removal of 5 No Roundabout on A104 (University Way, Kenyatta Av, Haille Selassie, Bunyala Rd, Lusaka Rd)-KES 288M.
4.Contingency-KES 45 M

Total KES 388M

So the traffic lights(400M) and removal of roundabouts (388M) will cost the tax payer KES 788M.This excludes the fees paid to the consulting firm

Timeline

1.Press conference to sensitise the public on rerouting of traffic on A104. Newspaper / FM Radio-I day by CS/Governor.
2.Mobilisation and implementation of A104 (Westlands, Bunyala Rd, Lusaka Rd, Kiganjo Av Bridge)-4 weeks by task force implementation team.
3. Monitoring of traffic movements for the above-1 week by task force implementation team.
4.Removal of Roundabouts and replacement with signalised junctions-4 weeks by taskforce implementation team.
5.Review and identify suitable decongestion measures for Arterial Roads-12 weeks by taskforce decongestation committe

The drums I saw?
#117 Posted : Thursday, April 09, 2015 3:29:19 PM

#118 Posted : Thursday, April 09, 2015 3:44:33 PM

#119 Posted : Thursday, April 09, 2015 3:50:33 PM

By the way @Nakujua anakuanga serious ama ni jokes?

I am a very serious, deliberate, focused, truthful, and goal oriented individual.

I adapt to many situations and believe that open easy communication is key to a fulfilling livelihood.

I thrive in fluctuating environments which in turn has sharpened my creative self.

With one eye always on the target, the other one can always be on the lookout enabling me to make better use of limited resources and improving the frugal me.

I am also pragmatic and avoid theories.

My queries are usually honest, to the point and aimed at not only enriching my contemplation but also of others who would not have been privy to the same.

Its with a very burdened heart that I contemplate your accusation, touching on my seriousness or lack thereof. The jury is out, and barring you @washiku I highly doubt anyone else can as much as imagine my inquiries to be anything but sincere.
streetwise
#120 Posted : Thursday, April 09, 2015 3:50:54 PM

When I was young they told me round about came to replace T junction as they managed traffic better.

Now what is this or is it what they called reverse osmosis.

If teacher cheated me ataniona leo