wazua Thu, Dec 26, 2024

45 Pages«<2425262728>»
Is Taking a Mortgage the WORST Decision Ever??
#501 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 2:52:34 PM

How do you make 25% in stocks in a whole year??? Are guys still asking that question?? Seriously!? 25% is a conservative return. That is on the lower side for any serious wazuan!!!

I have previously given numerous links and examples and here is one more for the uninitiated.

Link One: Post# 1. Stock Picks courtesy of S. Mutaga III (5th January 2015)

Link Two: Post# 77. 10 months later. A cool 93.3 return on investment. In 10 months!!!

93.3% Returns in 10 months!!!

And these are not peculiar cases. These are wazuans who:-

1) Were kind enough to share their trading information.

2) Stated when buying (very important) and when selling and therefore there is no argument that the person might just be talking because a certain share has done well that year.

And we are arguing about 25%???

For other examples, go through this thread! And many other threads!!!
#502 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 3:01:41 PM

Yet Another Link: See the post at the top. Post# 481

@Ngundi made 1000+% (Yes!!! One thousand percent) on CIC as others are busy arguing about 25%.

And guess where he got the information from! Read his reply in the same post!
#503 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 3:05:53 PM

@Kiwaru - How many nicely spaced (not extravagant) "standard" two bedroom units can you fit per floor in a 50 by100 plot.

Other wazuans who have done it before can also contribute.

Wazuans tafadhali saidia.

@kiwaru, @A4Architect, wazua landlords???
Mainat
#504 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 7:50:23 PM

Financial literacy is so so important.

Rents increased at a faster rate than t-bills per Hassconsult report for 2001-2010. Won't mind seeing if they have an updated report.
In the same report, prices rises in all types of houses apart from apartments outperformed the NSE for that same period.
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#505 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 8:11:51 PM

But Maich, one shouldn't have their investments only on stocks. And I believe OVER TIME Real estate beats all other forms of investments...if you think about it, stocks get diluted and at times their value is eroded.

As of mortgages, what you should be on the lookout for is the interest rate. Those 25% rates are ridiculous. That rate should only apply to defaulters
lochaz-index
#506 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 8:32:35 PM

Mainat wrote:
Financial literacy is so so important.

Rents increased at a faster rate than t-bills per Hassconsult report for 2001-2010. Won't mind seeing if they have an updated report.
In the same report, prices rises in all types of houses apart from apartments outperformed the NSE for that same period.

Kindly share a specific case/estate in point where rents have tripled during a five year time frame coz none is available in that report or elsewhere for that matter. Rent rarely does such seismic shifts however property prices do.
The main purpose of the stock market is to make fools of as many people as possible.
#507 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 9:12:43 PM

Sevian wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:
I have observed that those who proclaim that mortgages are bad fall into one of two groups:

GROUP 1:- those who have never taken a mortgage in their lives

GROUP 2:- those who took a mortgage and defaulted on payments

to complete the statements
1.......... and have a house they built or bought.
2............the bank NEVER compromised regardless of situation and the fellows lost terribly.

A bad workman quarrels with his tools, and a mortgage is just a tool. Na Yesu alisema in Luke 14:28 kwamba ""Suppose one of you wants to build a tower. Won't you first sit down and estimate the cost to see if you have enough money to complete it?"

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Wacha nicheke tu! You guys will give fellows here indigestion!

People looking at a cow from different angles, will never agree when told to describe it. Agree to disagree... Afterall, all this earthly things mutawacha papa hapa! Mortgaged or not.

Build/mortgage your castle in heaven

#508 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 9:40:55 PM

But Maich, one shouldn't have their investments only on stocks. And I believe OVER TIME Real estate beats all other forms of investments...if you think about it, stocks get diluted and at times their value is eroded.

As of mortgages, what you should be on the lookout for is the interest rate. Those 25% rates are ridiculous. That rate should only apply to defaulters

Link One: See Post# 209

Link Two: See Post# 41
enyands
#509 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 10:19:42 PM

How do you make 25% in stocks in a whole year??? Are guys still asking that question?? Seriously!? 25% is a conservative return. That is on the lower side for any serious wazuan!!!

I have previously given numerous links and examples and here is one more for the uninitiated.

Link One: Post# 1. Stock Picks courtesy of S. Mutaga III (5th January 2015)

Link Two: Post# 77. 10 months later. A cool 93.3 return on investment. In 10 months!!!

93.3% Returns in 10 months!!!

And these are not peculiar cases. These are wazuans who:-

1) Were kind enough to share their trading information.

2) Stated when buying (very important) and when selling and therefore there is no argument that the person might just be talking because a certain share has done well that year.

And we are arguing about 25%???

For other examples, go through this thread! And many other threads!!!

@maichblack iv been reading your comments and would say you aare very Iinsightful and helpful not forgetting generous with ideas. Though on this article I'll chose to disagree wwith you respectfully . Different people have different financial goals . I could be earning my returning of Iinvestment at 25% for me it's comfortable and
I play safe with PE which could be more secure to me . If you choose to do with listed exchanges and get a return of 1000% it's kudos to you because your character is you are a risk taker. Different people have different view of financial approach but they have a common goal of making money . To others1000% is ideal and to others 25% makes tthem happy . Different sizes of fingers but they are all connected to the same hand. Don't blame the small finger for being small bbecause small as it looks it might have a very crucial role in lifting hard objects . I welcome constructive criticism on my defense to @eco
#510 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 10:32:26 PM

Link One: See Post# 209

Link Two: See Post#41

MaichBlack Post#209 wrote:
I invest in both stocks and real estate - using my own cash. I don't borrow to buy stock. I don't borrow to buy real estate.

Rules of smart investing, dont borrow to buy stocks...BORROW to buy real estate<----ofcourse at a low interest rate, it gets better when your interest beats inflation #Otherpeoplesmoney.

Trick - Buy places that are opening up and wait...
= Speculation...same as buying art, if they turn the land next to yours and label it as the dumping site, No one will want it. Speculation is risky

Not all stocks give back 25%, if one has an investment giving back 25% well and good. We all cant keep up with stocks rem others are not able to interprete the accounting books as others can do.
#511 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 10:55:24 PM

Thanks @enyands.

I am not saying making 25% returns (or even less) is a bad thing. We all have different risk appetites. Even in my case, my risk appetite is not always constant. And it will definitely change (to much lower levels) as I get older.

It is perfectly okay to do your risk vs potential gain analysis before you make your investment. Even if you choose an investment that gives you 13% returns like a bond, it is okay. It is a personal choice. Based on personal reasons.

What I have a problem with are assertions that it is not possible to make 25% returns in a year in the stock market. Nothing can be further from the truth.
#512 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 10:59:57 PM

= Speculation...same as buying art, if they turn the land next to yours and label it as the dumping site, No one will want it. Speculation is risky

See highlighted text.
#513 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 11:03:34 PM

See highlighted text.

Opening up...could be = new town/shopping center...but if the town decides that its sewage treatment plants will be near your plot...you might end up selling at cost or lower...thats why am saying speculation is risky
#514 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 11:10:45 PM

Not all stocks give back 25%, if one has an investment giving back 25% well and good. We all cant keep up with stocks rem others are not able to interprete the accounting books as others can do.

I am not saying everyone should do stocks. That's not the point. I am saying it is possible to make 25% (and higher) per year for those interested.

Someone insisting that it is not possible to make 25% per year in stocks just because he is not interested or does know how is the same as a villager saying it is not possible to be paid Kshs. 5 million plus a week to play football just because he hates football, is not good at it or has never left the village.

There many ways of making money. choose the one you are happy with. For example there are many people who will tell me they make much more money in forex trading than they would ever make in stocks. And they are probably right. I should not start saying it is not possible just because I am not good at forex trading or I am not comfortable with the risk profile.

#515 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 11:21:21 PM

See highlighted text.

Opening up...could be = new town/shopping center...but if the town decides that its sewage treatment plants will be near your plot...you might end up selling at cost or lower...thats why am saying speculation is risky

That is why you should know exactly what you are doing!

Do due diligence, read, know who to talk to etc. etc.

And watch programs like this.. Well, not necessarily this one.

Examples of free sources of information
#516 Posted : Thursday, April 09, 2015 12:11:34 AM

See highlighted text.

High risk high return/loss...the results are not always the same when the die is cast. Yes due diligence is important for all investments but note things can change anytime.
Boris Boyka
#517 Posted : Thursday, April 09, 2015 6:11:04 AM

See highlighted text.

High risk high return/loss...the results are not always the same when the die is cast. Yes due diligence is important for all investments but note things can change anytime.

Understanding is difficult!d'oh!
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
Mainat
#518 Posted : Thursday, April 09, 2015 6:18:58 AM

Okay warren buffet smile ama ni warren nyamachoma?
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#519 Posted : Thursday, April 09, 2015 7:51:02 AM

I am not saying everyone should do stocks. That's not the point. I am saying it is possible to make 25% (and higher) per year for those interested.

Someone insisting that it is not possible to make 25% per year in stocks just because he is not interested or does know how is the same as a villager saying it is not possible to be paid Kshs. 5 million plus a week to play football just because he hates football, is not good at it or has never left the village.

There many ways of making money. choose the one you are happy with. For example there are many people who will tell me they make much more money in forex trading than they would ever make in stocks. And they are probably right. I should not start saying it is not possible just because I am not good at forex trading or I am not comfortable with the risk profile.

How do you make 25% per year on stocks?
Boris Boyka
#520 Posted : Thursday, April 09, 2015 9:54:59 AM

How do you make 25% per year on stocks?

d'oh! Ata wewe unauliza! e.g if you stay in a stock for 5 yrs and get 150%.....that is 30% per year. Think in those lines.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!