wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Dairy goats.
#1 Posted : Saturday, January 31, 2009 5:01:00 PM

Hi skerians.am told this is hidden treasure.to those in the know,kindly bring out and share all possible info.

Guka wa bijuti...
#2 Posted : Monday, February 02, 2009 8:00:00 AM

@Njung'e

earlier this year,i visited a family who are rearing these goats.... that was my first time to take goat milk and i must say,contrary to what i always thought (that i would throw-up),i loved it..... they told us that it is a lucrative venture especially because it is highly recommended for those people with HIV. Apparently,it boosts the immunity and increases the (I think it is CD counts) something like that.

you can rear many in a very small area and they feed on a lot of roughage so the cost of production is not high. They had like 8 on an eighth which also had their house. A KG of milk goes for around 150/-. the goats dont have many diseases and no much work involved. you just have to keep them clean. You also dont keep them in one shed coz they fight alot so you partition the building into small small 'paddocks'. The shed needsto be raised. They also catch pneumonia easily so you need to ensure the place is not very cold...... (was writing this in a hurry so hope it makes sense)

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
#3 Posted : Monday, February 02, 2009 9:06:00 AM

@Wendz,

Thanx dear.Since posting,i have so far got contacts of the current chaiman of DGAK together with those of Baraka farm,Molo.It's got me so interested and it's funny how some of this opportunities lie around without being noticed...

Guka wa bijuti...
#4 Posted : Monday, February 02, 2009 9:47:00 AM

@Njung'e and Wendz

I agree with you guys...dairy goats are a hidden gem undiscovered by many. I also didn't know how costly and precious goat milk is,until a niece of mine was born two years ago with some serious allergies to proteins and amongst other foods! the Doc highly recommended goat milk...as the kid cannot under any cicumstances take cow milk or dairy products..and after the heavy financial toll on the family coz of the super expensive goat milk and all,the parents decided to move to a Ngong and keep a few dairy goats....kumbe,that was the beginning of their financial freedom! the goats have now multiplied and the supply is good + clients are overwhelming. It's a good venture,so go for it! I also tend to think they eat almost any greens(they're not choosy like cows),so feeding them wont be an issue..plus they can survive hard times..

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
#5 Posted : Monday, February 02, 2009 11:12:00 AM

@leona,

Am informed the sweet part is in breeding does and bucks.Demand especially from the great lakes region is huge and damn things can fetch as much as 20K.......wha...!!

Guka wa bijuti...
Mainat
#6 Posted : Monday, February 02, 2009 11:41:00 AM

Interested in the same. plse keep the info coming. Goats are heavy consumers so that tends to be the challenge...

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#7 Posted : Monday, February 02, 2009 12:04:00 PM

@Mainat,

Are they?........I gather they require about 1.5Kg of forage (Does calliadra do well in cold areas such as Nyandarua?) and less than a litre of water a day........That ain't much and eight of them can take the place of a daily cow but with immense benefits.....Anyway,let's keep digging.

Guka wa bijuti...
brav
#8 Posted : Monday, February 02, 2009 12:26:00 PM

Hey njung'e,

Ive once thought of it but,didnt put much thought to it and hey i wonder how they can do in ongata rongai? where can I get more info on this?

Usichoke kutafuta salary
#9 Posted : Monday, February 02, 2009 12:49:00 PM

@Mainat

They don'tconsume much...the more reason they are reared in the arid areas eg Ukambani and Northern frontier. they also take very kidogo water just as Njung'e says.

@Njung'e

20K? Damn..that's good cash. By the way...are there types/breeds kama ng'ombes...eg some thrive more in drier areas and other in cold spots...etc? Also,is there a company that already does some serious packaging of clean goat milk in Kenya?

Mainat
#10 Posted : Monday, February 02, 2009 12:59:00 PM

Lets talk numbers. How much would each goat be producing daily? Assume a very good milk producer...

Sehemu ndio nyumba
#11 Posted : Monday, February 02, 2009 1:31:00 PM

@Mainat,

2 to 4 litres a day........Way much than more Nguno could do in a week after a loooooong struggle.........Bure kabisa...!

@Leona,

Yes.There are breeds.Most common for dairy are Alpine,Saanen,Nigerian dwarf,Oberhasli and Toggenburg.........In East and Central Africa,a cross breed of the local (Mogotios) and Toggenburg is the dairy goat of choice.......and yes.Three months kids retail at 3K to 5K while does and bucks will retail for not less than 12K locally but 20K when exported.

Guka wa bijuti...
Mainat
#12 Posted : Monday, February 02, 2009 1:43:00 PM

So 5*2*120 gives me Ksh1,200 per day. The key thing is still that my experience is goats eat a lot. The reason they survive in semi-arid areas is that they can forage for 2/3km per day. So how feed has to be counted in. 2ndly,is the market there or is it just a niche especially given the cost differential between goat and cow milk?

Still,its doable...

Sehemu ndio nyumba
#13 Posted : Monday, February 02, 2009 2:38:00 PM

@Mainat

Enyewe..looking at it from that perspective of Kms covered,the small animals eat a lot!

The market is there but not in all areas. In Slums of course you would 'jiongelesha' with your expensive goat milk.. But as Wendz had said,people with HIV are advised to take goat milk daily as opposed to cow milk to improve their CD4 count,question is,are you able to acess these people? mark you,if you got such a group(probably if you know of an NGO or HIV support group) you would sell to them fresh and at better rates since they are guaranteed market. also,Some doctors,especially paeditricians would hook you up with their patients whose kids need goat milk coz of allergies like my niece. Am not sure where the big market is,as most ordinary Kenyans still dont believe in goat milk... But tuendelee kutafuta tu.sometimes it's an idea like this one that sparks of ones interest to learn more about a product!

@Njung'e

Thanx for the info. Sell the cow and buy like 10 goats!hehe

#14 Posted : Monday, February 02, 2009 7:39:00 PM

@ Njunge

Have been towing with the idea of dairy goats too. Would you kindly give me the contacts yuo got too on dairy goats at baraka farm. Might be in molo this week end too. Any contacts for baraka farm to aentreprises@yahoo.com. Cheers skerians!

Work like you will die tomorrow,plan like you will never die
#15 Posted : Tuesday, February 03, 2009 6:34:00 AM

@ Ngarana

I got 2 dairy goats from ILRI and i tell you upto now i dont know why people rear cows ! The fooder intake is low and the labour not high,my milkman sells the milk at Kiambu Hospital and he cant meet the demand ! I will let you know next time they are selling.
#16 Posted : Tuesday, February 03, 2009 7:05:00 AM

@Ngarana,

Hey...That's interesting.Maina ain't convinced they eat much less.....Have they had kids and how much did you pay for them?.....Any information will do and thanx

@Tebes,

i got contacts for one Tabby Kamande of Baraka but looks like the cellphone number is no longer in use.The other contact is in Mukurwe-ini.Suppose you pass by the farm and tell us of your experience thereafter?

@Leona,

Market need not neccessarily be hospitals or the sick.Someone intones a dairy house is collecting this milk alongside that of cows and of course at far much superior prices.Again you could learn how to make goat milk cheese or soap...........and yes,Ngunu oes...hehehe..!

Guka wa bijuti...
#17 Posted : Tuesday, February 03, 2009 7:30:00 AM

@Leona and Maina

there is a correlation between the amount of food intake and the work done. the goats that graze around and have to move long distances actually need to eat alot for the energy used. the goats reared in 'zero-grazing' dont really need to eat alot. I think that would explain why the difference in intakes.

by the way,did anyone ever think that Camel milk would sell in Nairobi? now they have youghurt. I believe even the somalis can make good target for the milk if you are selling in Nairobi plus their population is pretty good and income from biashara not that bad.... they have several hotels in town where you can supply.

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
siriki
#18 Posted : Tuesday, February 03, 2009 1:47:00 PM

The farm in Mukuruweini is called Nyaga Mwai farm and is on the road to Wajee Camp and almost directly opposite it.

Its the perfect example of a small subsistence farm (1-2 acres) which amongst many other activities includes a herd of about 20-30 Alpine goats at any one time. One of the reasons for successfull rearing of these animals in that area is that farmers have organised themselves into a group which helps with the marketing of their products.

There is a processor in Nyeri who buys all the goat milk produced in the area and makes soft cheeze sold through all Nakumatt outlets. Also the DGAK of which they are all members assists in the buying and selling of animals thru auctions to neighbouring countries and other intersted groups.

siriki
#19 Posted : Tuesday, February 03, 2009 2:52:00 PM

as a mlefi..i can bet the market for Mbuzi choma is thiiiiiiissssssss big..all my favourite joints sell Mbuzi choma..now to sell to them you might need my contacts..yani broker wa nyama ya mbuzi..Ngai fafa..some still wonder how comes............ 'leseccion' ndiratunyita!!!!

muthomi mugi aiikagia maitho kabere...
#20 Posted : Wednesday, February 04, 2009 8:00:00 AM

some reading.......

http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/document_ds134

Guka wa bijuti...