Roundabouts Killed...
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
Not sure if this has been asked before, but how do schools increase or cause the massive traffic jams.
Swenani wrote:Siringi wrote:I have a dream... "Evans Kidero"  You are dreaming inside a dream! There is a kiswahili word for this....ummmh possunt quia posse videntur
nakujua wrote:Not sure if this has been asked before, but how do schools increase or cause the massive traffic jams. How do cars causetraffic jam on our roads? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Today the cops at Westie must be very hungry. The way they pounce on those cars when there is traffic...wacha tu. They must be thinking hard on how to maintain their cash flow in the view of the new changes. I saw they have now camped at the stage just next to delta plaza wakitegeategea.
Sober wrote:[quote=maka][quote=FundamentAli]It took me 13 mins My people perish due to lack of kowledge: I was t use Mombasa road, I diverted to south C and emerged from Tmall on Mbagathi way and via Valley Road i was in town through Kenyatta avenue- 34 mins the whole manouvre. I am not quite sure if it's because some schools are closed for the April Holz in the nairobi west South c area Where did you get the knowledge?How can I know,the shortest/fastest alternatives from point A to B?
nakujua wrote:Not sure if this has been asked before, but how do schools increase or cause the massive traffic jams. Have you ever seen those huge Makini, Riara and Strathmore buses? Now imagine how many each of the private schools in Nai pours in our roads daily. Further, there is a huge percentage of 'middle class' who only use their cars during school days so as to drop and pick their kids at school. Finally, there are those kids who are dropped to school by their family drivers. When the school closes, all those vehicles are off the road.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
nakujua wrote: Not sure if this has been asked before, but how do schools increase or cause the massive traffic jams.
Using a very narrow example, I estimate about 500 cars go up and down James Gichuru to drop kids at St Austin...and another one near the river whose name I forget. These parents just up and head directly to work when its holidays, leaving James Gichuru freer by tens, possibly hundreds of cars during certain morning and evening hours. Extrapolate to cover the whole city and one aspect of the picture emerges.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
Swenani wrote:nakujua wrote:Not sure if this has been asked before, but how do schools increase or cause the massive traffic jams. How do cars causetraffic jam on our roads? have never understood, might be the rate of parking cars at their destination is too slow compared to normal movement on the roads. Might be wrong but school buses are not that many, not as many as say matatus.
quicksand wrote:nakujua wrote: Not sure if this has been asked before, but how do schools increase or cause the massive traffic jams.
Using a very narrow example, I estimate about 500 cars go up and down James Gichuru to drop kids at St Austin...and another one near the river whose name I forget. These parents just up and head directly to work when its holidays, leaving James Gichuru freer by tens, possibly hundreds of cars during certain morning and evening hours. Extrapolate to cover the whole city and one aspect of the picture emerges. On and around James Gichuru - St Marys, Strathmore, Shani, Kianda, Braeburn, St Austins, Madari, Nairobi Jaffery, Rusinga etc.... when schools close, the road just clears Lord, thank you!
Jubilee government came to power & Baba's dreams died a natural death. In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Angelica _ann wrote:Jubilee government came to power & Baba's dreams died a natural death. Probably in Jubilee budget, it is already built and someone has been paid. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
hizi roundabouts closed not bad...used 7mins to work from an average of 30 to 40 mins earlier...
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
wilyum wrote:hizi roundabouts closed not bad...used 7mins to work from an average of 30 to 40 mins earlier... Ngoja Riara schools re-open...when middle xclass living in Kayole will be shuttling their 3 year old kids to Banda School in Bomas of Kenya. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:wilyum wrote:hizi roundabouts closed not bad...used 7mins to work from an average of 30 to 40 mins earlier... Ngoja Riara schools re-open...when middle xclass living in Kayole will be shuttling their 3 year old kids to Banda School in Bomas of Kenya. You are too imaginative. kayole to Banda School? Lord, thank you!
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
Euge wrote:Impunity wrote:wilyum wrote:hizi roundabouts closed not bad...used 7mins to work from an average of 30 to 40 mins earlier... Ngoja Riara schools re-open...when middle xclass living in Kayole will be shuttling their 3 year old kids to Banda School in Bomas of Kenya. You are too imaginative. kayole to Banda School? Definitely you dont live in Eastlands. We have 3 year old kids doing baby class in Banda school, from kayole. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
I think the victims are Lang'ata Road users when coming from town! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
seen using some very thick coloured goggles  "😖😡KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
McReggae wrote:I think the victims are Lang'ata Road users when coming from town! The diversions have also had a negative effect on Jogoo Rd, its literally a parking lot! It appears traffic has been diverted from Mombasa Rd to Jogoo Rd.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/2/2012 Posts: 1,134 Location: Nairobi
nakujua wrote:Not sure if this has been asked before, but how do schools increase or cause the massive traffic jams. I saw the answer on tweeter... by some genius.... You live in Kilimani and work in Westlands with kids at Rusinga School. During school term you travel up to Kawangware to drop the kids and then to Westie. During holidays you just travel to Westie. During school term you will spend more time on the road than during holiday so you will add to the congestion. When things become too much, you buy an extra car for school rounds adding even more to the jam.
TAZ wrote:McReggae wrote:I think the victims are Lang'ata Road users when coming from town! The diversions have also had a negative effect on Jogoo Rd, its literally a parking lot! It appears traffic has been diverted from Mombasa Rd to Jogoo Rd. Those are the small issues they need to sort out...Mombasa Road is bad... possunt quia posse videntur
Roundabouts Killed...