wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

everyone is seeing the end of the world
murenj
#1 Posted : Sunday, February 21, 2010 6:25:22 AM

Signs in the Heavens? X-pattern perplexes Astronomers

http://www.wnd.com/

Some people are seeing a flying cross, or perhaps a Star of David.

Others say it resembles a ninja-style throwing blade or even a science-fiction spaceship from such Hollywood creations as "Star Wars," "Star Trek," "Babylon 5" or "The Last Starfighter."

The Hubble Space Telescope has observed a mysterious, X-shaped debris pattern and trailing streamers of dust that may have been the result of a head-on collision between two asteroids.

While scientists don't think it's a comet, they're not exactly sure of the precise origin of the incredible object soaring some 90 million miles from Earth, snapped just a few weeks ago by the Hubble Space Telescope.

"I've seen thousands of astronomical images over my career, but this is one of the few absolute jaw-droppers: A flying X-pattern with trailing streamers," said Ray Villard, a contributing writer to Discovery News. "Whatever it is, nothing quite like it has ever before been seen in the heavens."

Even the experts who study celestial phenomena seem somewhat perplexed.

"We're still trying to really figure out what it is," University of Arizona planetary scientist Jim Scotti told National Geographic. Scotti is on a team observing the object from the Kitt Peak National Observatory outside Tucson.

Some think the mysterious space object has a shape similar to that of a gunship depicted in the 1984 movie, "The Last Starfighter."

"The truth is, we're still struggling to understand what this means," comet expert David Jewitt at UCLA told Britain's Daily Mail. "It's most likely the result of a recent collision between two asteroids."

If it is indeed the result of such a collision, it would be the first time astronomers have gazed upon the immediate result of such a crash.

The official statement from America's space agency indicates:

NASA's Hubble Space Telescope has observed a mysterious X-shaped debris pattern and trailing streamers of dust that suggest a head-on collision between two asteroids. Astronomers have long thought the asteroid belt is being ground down through collisions, but such a smashup has never been seen before.
Asteroid collisions are energetic, with an average impact speed of more than 11,000 miles per hour, or five times faster than a rifle bullet.

"If this interpretation is correct, two small and previously unknown asteroids recently collided, creating a shower of debris that is being swept back into a tail from the collision site by the pressure of sunlight," Jewitt said.

The discovery of the object, officially known as "P/2010 A2," is sparking some chatter concerning a possible biblical message regarding end-time scenarios, as well as other theories.

In the New Testament, Jesus Christ predicted celestial signs concerning the end of this current age and His return to Earth to govern the kingdom of God.

"And the stars of heaven shall fall, and the powers that are in heaven shall be shaken. And then shall they see the Son of man coming in the clouds with great power and glory." (Mark 13:25-26)

"And great earthquakes shall be in divers places, and famines, and pestilences; and fearful sights and great signs shall there be from heaven." (Luke 21:11)

"With 2012 doomsday hysteria building, this might get attention on the Internet as yet another omen of the 'End of Times,'" notes Villard. "Those who've overdosed on Nostradamus might see a flying Star of David, or a pentagram."
Babygal
#2 Posted : Sunday, February 21, 2010 12:59:26 PM

Also watch the movie 2012!
When a person can no longer laugh at himself, it is time for others to laugh at him.

Thomas Szasz, "The Second Sin"
popi
#3 Posted : Monday, February 22, 2010 7:49:08 AM

sisi kwisha!
sumthung
#4 Posted : Monday, February 22, 2010 1:02:51 PM

scary s**t right there. REPENT
#5 Posted : Monday, February 22, 2010 1:52:54 PM

If it is the end of the world for you, it is not yet over for me. Therefore if you are going use words like "everyone" please speak for yourself and keep me out of it.

It is not over until the fat lady sings.

Am out.
murenj
#6 Posted : Wednesday, February 24, 2010 9:04:15 AM

@Mahegoat. one can be forgiven for thinking that you are only 23 years old.................at least that is how I was then.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, February 24, 2010 9:27:51 AM

@murenj......now you have made a telescope that sees further than you could see before

And when you see different / unfamiliar things you start proclaiming the end of the world......

kwani what were you expecting to see out there in space?? cows and goats?

what until that Hubble thing sees even more un-comprehensible things

wewe bure kabisa!!
#8 Posted : Wednesday, February 24, 2010 9:28:25 AM

Twenty three? That is ancient. Thirteen is more like it. Atleast after I encounter such threads as this where one decides to think for everone else.
the sage
#9 Posted : Wednesday, February 24, 2010 10:01:37 AM

If the world was ending what would you do, repent, ask for forgiveness? I think I would go to an ex' and tell her we have to do it, all fanatasies I can fathom. Seriously.
murenj
#10 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2010 8:47:24 PM

well spoken mr billy goat. now I know what substance lies between your ears....................
#11 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2010 8:11:45 AM

How enlightening. I do take it you are Twenty Three. You are Twenty Three years of age, aren't you?
murenj
#12 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2010 3:44:59 PM

Here is a SCIENCE AND AGRICULTURE question put to me by my teacher when I was 13 years old. "A male goat's B*LLS are bigger than it's BRAIN. TRUE OR FALSE?"
#13 Posted : Saturday, February 27, 2010 7:20:25 AM

JkMwatha
#14 Posted : Sunday, February 28, 2010 5:54:59 PM

Your world ends when you die.

You found it here - you will leave it here.

We (human race) will probably become extinct
(or you thought this only happens to other species?)

The planet will probably survive, and keep on ticking ... for another few billion years. It doesn't need us and it never did.

[Please don't go bibilical on me]
sheep
#15 Posted : Monday, March 01, 2010 10:16:12 AM

@JkMwatha,

If I believed there was no God and more importantly no hell,I would climb the tallest building in Nairobi and jump!
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
JkMwatha
#16 Posted : Tuesday, March 02, 2010 2:27:01 PM

@sheep - there is God (or at least some Divine power).This does not mean I take the bible or qur'an as gospel.

Behind all this evolution/life there is a force that keeps it ticking. That is God.

That's why, for example,- if you plant, say, a tomato there is no chance of it becoming a potato.... hence there's got to be a force in existance.

The existance of heaven or hell is where my doubts lie.

hmmmm.... jumping from a building ? Do you hate life?
sheep
#17 Posted : Wednesday, March 03, 2010 9:29:09 AM

on the contrary, I feel I love life too much,and it scares me.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
Mtu Biz
#18 Posted : Wednesday, March 03, 2010 10:23:43 AM

When all is said and done i ask myself, what is the TRUTH about this end of the world stuff.

I sought it..... i found it.

The Truth is a Person.

Sola Scriptura

#19 Posted : Monday, March 08, 2010 1:07:29 PM

Everywhere earthquakes, now another one in Turkey!!!, and it has rained in Kenya for 6months continuous!!! Woloooloo! maybe the earths crust is actually boiling as in the movie 2012 suggested!
A New Kenya