SME
Ideas
water pump
Good SKs,
anyone with info on where i can get a cheap diesel water pump 5.5 or 6.5 Hp? What's the price range?
'A ship in harbour is safe; but that is not what ships are made for'.
SKerians, Am looking forward to beginning farming in October on a 10Acre piece. piped water present but unreliable. Anyone in the forum with idea on; -water requirement per acre -the most appropriate pump power-there's a permanent river downstream,like 200M. -size of storage tank required
your input with be highly appreciated.
Get youself a Hydram pump. Never needs fuel or electricity!! Runs on the flow of the river and has no rotating part!! Invented centuries ago...my dad has one in his shamba and supplies water to about ten other families!! This is how it works: [from Wikipedia] Initially,the waste valve [4] is open,and the delivery valve [5] is closed. The water in the drive pipe [1] starts to flow under the force of gravity and picks up speed and kinetic energy until it forces the waste valve closed. The momentum of the water flow in the supply pipe against the now closed waste valve causes a water hammer that raises the pressure in the pump,opens the delivery valve [5],and forces some water to flow into the delivery pipe [3]. Because this water is being forced uphill through the delivery pipe farther than it is falling downhill from the source,the flow slows; when the flow reverses,the delivery check valve closes. If all water flow has stopped,the loaded waste valve reopens against the now static head,which allows the process to begin again. A pressure vessel [6] containing air cushions the hydraulic pressure shock when the waste valve closes,and it also improves the pumping efficiency by allowing a more constant flow through the delivery pipe. Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow) Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
@Mu-something! Now that ur old man used it,i have some clarification from u. 1. Does the water need to have a high headway-to provide the initial pressure? 2. Can this work for a slow moving river like 15M lower in altitude?
@ Mukiha,
Got a question too. Are there any local suppliers of the hydram pump? How about servicing? To be honest,I've never heard of the thing b4. The technology behind it looks simple but awesome.
Your future depends on your dreams; so,go to sleep.
I would recommend Honda 5.5 but for Premium not Diesel. It serves me very well on my 12ac land. Very powerful. Buy from Davis & Shirtliff abt 35K VAT inclusive. They will give u warranty and spares.
since we are talking about pumps.I have a 4.0 petrol pump frm honda...the problem is it refuses to pump water from a 20 foot well,i was told to use a foot valve but it aint helping either what can i do?help plz,someone.
machachari msee hatari
The below shows the yields (expressed in litres delivered in 24 hours) for hydrams with efficiencies of 66 percent,a supply of 1 litre per minute,and with the working fall (drop from water source to the pump) and lift (height to which water is to be pumped) shown in the table. For supplies greater than 1 litre/minute,simply multiply by the number of litres supplied. Working Fall (m) Lift - Vertical height to which water is raised above ram (m) 5 7.5 10 15 20 30 40 50 60 80 100 125 1.0 144 77 65 33 29 19.5 12.5 1.5 135 96.5 70 54 36 19 15 2.0 220 156 105 79 53 33 25 19.5 12.5 2.5 280 200 125 100 66 40.5 32.5 24 15.5 12 3.0 260 180 130 87 65 51 40 27 17.5 12 3.5 215 150 100 75 60 46 31.5 20 14 4.0 255 173 115 86 69 43 36 23 16 5.0 310 236 155 118 94 71.5 50 36 23 6.0 282 185 140 112 93.5 64.5 47.5 34.5 7.0 216 163 130 109 82 60 48 8.0 187 149 125 94 69 55 9.0 212 168 140 105 84 62 10.0 245 187 156 117 93 69 12.0 295 225 187 140 113 83 14.0 265 218 167 132 97 16.0 250 187 150 110 18.0 280 210 169 124 20.0 237 188 140 Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow) Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
@Mukiha.Pls respond to Dollamans quests below.Are there supppliers of these pumps in Kenya.Whats the average cost.
pink
Don't know any local supplier. My dad bought his from a former mzungu plantation in Nanyuki. It was in a dilapidated state but a jua-kali artisan repaired it. The design is so simple that I think you can easily fabricate one for your self. Alternatively,you can import one from India...prices range around US$300.... Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow) Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
There are these small pumps that cost about 6 - 8K and can pump water to 40 metres. Anyone used them? How good are they?
Kindly also note there is "Pump ya tube ya Baisikeli", same hydram tu, a pump you can make yourself, using plumbing parts tu (if you have a pipewrench)! It will cost you kitu 7,000/- for a small one (1 inch) ok for domestic na kidogo kitchen garden e.tc, and like the ones i made, "twin 2 inch" cost like 10k each, but for two inch you have to "modify" all parts into chuma for it to work because of 'very high pressure'. No elec, no power, thing runs 24 hours (brought out due to rains), see mine on youtube. A New Kenya
Rank: New-farer Joined: 1/14/2015 Posts: 10 Location: Nairobi
Much Know wrote:Kindly also note there is "Pump ya tube ya Baisikeli", same hydram tu, a pump you can make yourself, using plumbing parts tu (if you have a pipewrench)! It will cost you kitu 7,000/- for a small one (1 inch) ok for domestic na kidogo kitchen garden e.tc, and like the ones i made, "twin 2 inch" cost like 10k each, but for two inch you have to "modify" all parts into chuma for it to work because of 'very high pressure'. No elec, no power, thing runs 24 hours (brought out due to rains), see mine on youtube. I have a hydram that i cannot use since it requires construction of a weir and WRMA are taking their sweet time to issue us a permit!!!!
msahle wrote:Much Know wrote:Kindly also note there is "Pump ya tube ya Baisikeli", same hydram tu, a pump you can make yourself, using plumbing parts tu (if you have a pipewrench)! It will cost you kitu 7,000/- for a small one (1 inch) ok for domestic na kidogo kitchen garden e.tc, and like the ones i made, "twin 2 inch" cost like 10k each, but for two inch you have to "modify" all parts into chuma for it to work because of 'very high pressure'. No elec, no power, thing runs 24 hours (brought out due to rains), see mine on youtube. I have a hydram that i cannot use since it requires construction of a weir and WRMA are taking their sweet time to issue us a permit!!!! Under the water act 2002 (google it), if the river is passing through your shamba and you are doing it within your half of the river then (you are called "raparian owner"), those excessive rules were wiped out in the legal reforms preceding constitutional reform, you do not need permission especially domestic and irrigation on your shamba only, unless you are distributing water. If you are going to touch someone else shamba you ask the person directly for permission "EASEMENT". A New Kenya
Much Know wrote:msahle wrote:Much Know wrote:Kindly also note there is "Pump ya tube ya Baisikeli", same hydram tu, a pump you can make yourself, using plumbing parts tu (if you have a pipewrench)! It will cost you kitu 7,000/- for a small one (1 inch) ok for domestic na kidogo kitchen garden e.tc, and like the ones i made, "twin 2 inch" cost like 10k each, but for two inch you have to "modify" all parts into chuma for it to work because of 'very high pressure'. No elec, no power, thing runs 24 hours (brought out due to rains), see mine on youtube. I have a hydram that i cannot use since it requires construction of a weir and WRMA are taking their sweet time to issue us a permit!!!! Under the water act 2002 (google it), if the river is passing through your shamba and you are doing it within your half of the river then (you are called "raparian owner"), those excessive rules were wiped out in the legal reforms preceding constitutional reform, you do not need permission especially domestic and irrigation on your shamba only, unless you are distributing water. If you are going to touch someone else shamba you ask the person directly for permission "EASEMENT". Well after going through the water act (http://www.wrma.or.ke/images/jdownloads/wateract2002.pdf) i still see that i have to get a permit since i require a weir to get sufficient head for the pump!
@msahle, hope you haven't paid them anything, i would recommend Kenya Law Resource Centerparticularly for Laws in Agribusiness SME, you will need these resource if you are to make it in this sector which will produce Kenyas next billionaires without being hindered by obstacles such as you are facing. As an SME you will need to have a grasp of a varid number of laws to survive. we urgently need whatever it is you want to farm on Kenya/Foreign tables ASAP. Please note if you are RIPARIAN OWNER you need to install your hydram ASAP without further delay, the economy needs your next output urgently. Below is a link and excerpt on water act 2002 from kenya law resource center. "The riparian owners right to quantity enables him to abstract, divert, obstruct or impound the water. The water abstracted may be used for ordinary domestic purposes such as drinking, cooking and washing or it may be used for purposes such as irrigation which the common law considers to be extraordinary purposes. Where the riparian owner uses the water for ordinary purposes, there is no restriction in the quantity that he/she may abstract even if the abstraction exhausts all the water in the river."
A New Kenya
Thanks for the info...Quite eye opening i must say.Now i can go ahead and install the hydram.
SME
Ideas
water pump