wazua Thu, Jan 9, 2025

3 Pages<123
East African Breweries H1 pretax profit down 8 pct
#41 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 6:54:55 AM

dukawalla wrote:
After all the Japanese have sake, Ugandans have Waragi etc.... it is time that we supported companies that have real business ethics.

My friend, you can't just let anyone brew whatever it is they want to brew and sell. Kenya is a poor nation so can you imagine the kind of stuff people will be brewing down there on the banks of Nairobi river? Waragi is a well regulated brew and similarly Kenya has a variety of Kanes plus what is brewed by Keroche and that Amario dude.

But you can't let every Tom, D&H brew stuff, next they'll start rolling sheit in papers in the name of cigarettes and cigars.

#42 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 7:03:17 AM

Sparkly, like that, thinking beyond just the profits, kudos!!!!
#43 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 7:03:23 AM

Apparently the "Uganda Waragi" is a EABL product.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Waragi
dukawalla
#44 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 7:31:03 AM

@VituVingiSana I think I should I should come down a little to the level of this forum and respond to some of your myopically driven comments. After all mimi ni mtu wa ground.
It is not rocket science to brew beer.... cavemen were brewing 10,000 years ago so it is a farce to insinuate that Diageo brings in any technology to this country – they are here for a singular mission .

@ sparkly

Yes we live in a capitalistic world but you cannot mention China in the same breath...
The distributorship chains, the bars and the drinkers would still have existed without Diageo – or do you want to convince the forum that these were part of the “technology transfer” that someone is drumming about.
I cannot also adequately address the issue of big company malpractice which is exposed all over the world apart from Kenya – the land of saintly Church goers and Mosque attendees – no crime ever happens here , no wonder no malpractice ever gets exposed or prosecuted. Recently Microsoft has been slapped with several antitrust suits in Europe and in America – do you still want to convince me that business here is run with the best of decorum thats why no such action has been taken so far.

@ guru267 @VituVingiSana @sparkly
We blame Kenyans from not participating in the stock market yet the explanations for rising poverty and inequality vary, and while I do not discount changes to the domestic and global economy the action (or inaction) of the state and many actions of the bourgeoisie have played a great part. The inadequacy of private-sector wages (paid to majority of the guys who work for these blue chips), made possible part by institutionalised anti-union activity in the private sector – sanctioned, if not aided and abetted, by government. Coupled with high cost of housing and health care, even full-time workers are pinioned, trapped at lower rungs of the income scale while their CEOs (who are usually not natives) earn millions.

I end with a quote Cecil Rhodes made more than 100 years ago “In order to save the forty million inhabitants of the UK from a bloody civil war, our colonial statesmen must acquire new lands for settling the surplus population of this country, to provide new markets... The Empire, as I have always said, is a bread and butter question
Chaka
#45 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 7:36:32 AM

@VVS,
Interesting...then why can't EABL set base in Kisii and produce cheap banana waragi to compete with the cheap brews here?
#46 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 7:44:33 AM

@chaka maybe waragi is an acquired taste kenyans may not be used to and hence it may not be able to compete favourably
#47 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 7:52:59 AM

Chaka wrote:
@VVS,
Interesting...then why can't EABL set base in Kisii and produce cheap banana waragi to compete with the cheap brews here?

Uganda Waragi not made from bananas...
Kenya has its own version of 'Waragi' made from alcohol from sugarcane... Kane & Kane Extra...

As for 'price'... as I have mentioned earlier... the MAJORITY of the retail kiosk/supermarket 'price' is taxes... so even if EABL brewed 'cheap' spirits... the taxes add over 200% to the ex-factory price...
#48 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 7:58:10 AM

@dukawalla - Erm, then please start brewing beer... kwani, who has stopped you? [I would advise you register the business...]

And I notice... you do not address facts... Please provide facts about EABL or any other listed firm you have gripe against & we can discuss...

Technology... surely, you are not daft... Bicycles have been around for years YET we see new & improved models... why? TECHNOLOGY...

Cars - So many improvements since the days of Henry Ford...

Brewing - LOL... So you claim "cavemen were brewing 10,000 years ago so it is a farce to insinuate that Diageo brings in any technology to this country"... Are you serious?
#49 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 8:00:43 AM

@dukawala...
i dont argue that majority of kenyans do earn low wages for various reasons...

but that is not the reason as to why the same kenyans sell out of companies that may be suffering now but that have enormous potential for the future which will enable them to grow those low wages over time simply because of lack of any faith or confidence...

foreigners maybe milking these cash cows today but only because they had the COURAE to feed them when they were still starving young calves
#50 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 8:03:16 AM

I despise people who say 'I am not paid enough by my employer' over & over again while staying at the same firm for years!

Well, unless you are a slave... quit your job & become an entrepreneur... or find another job... NO-ONE has the RIGHT to a job or salary... create your own job...

A jua kali artisan or a farmer with a small shamba or a mama mboga or a street peddler... has more integrity & my respect than an employee who gripes about being 'underpaid' by an employer...
gathinga
#51 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 8:24:18 AM

On the issue of competition with local brews (which account for between than 50-70% of all alcohol consumed),
http://www.beverageworld...;catid=3&Itemid=173
http://www.africanexecut...zine=70&sections=17

EABL's efforts and innovation appear to have ended with Senator Keg. Whereas the Keg achieved quite a bit of initial success, these should have been followed up with more brands for this market
#52 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 8:33:37 AM

@gathinga - I think EABL came up with a non-malted non-barley brew (the name escapes me or could it be Senator?)... to compete at the lower end... but then GoK jacked up taxes & essentially killed it off...

BTW, Senator Keg sales dropped 31% in 1Q...
the deal
#53 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 8:44:29 AM

@ vvs i'm off to Windhoek kesho...tired of drinking loss making tusker...time to fill up my tank with award winning windhoek lagei...i will be back in two weeks time..,
#54 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 8:44:35 AM

gathinga wrote:
EABL's efforts and innovation appear to have ended with Senator Keg. Whereas the Keg achieved quite a bit of initial success, these should have been followed up with more brands for this market

I think eabl misconception that there's no real competition has made them seat back and relax. I can bet you Safaricom would be making their revenue from voice and sms only if there was no Orange, YU and that other schizophrenic provider. I hope Keroche would shakes the beer market the way Equity shook the banking industry.

#55 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 8:49:34 AM

the deal wrote:
@ vvs i'm off to Windhoek kesho...tired of drinking loss making tusker...time to fill up my tank with award winning windhoek lagei...i will be back in two weeks time..,

Travel safe!
And buy some Nambrew if you can get them... I tried & failed... then gave up!
U fly NBO-Joburg-Windhoek?
#56 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 9:11:08 AM

HOT ONE on a hot sunny day.

@VituVingiSana and @dukawalla, you have to agree the main thrusts of your arguments are both true.

I think it's fair to say that government could have inordinately supported EABL in the past at the expense of smaller players or other alternatives. Hence Keroche's complaints but this is improving.

On the other hand, it's also fair to say EABL is a professionaly run company, that contributes significantly to Kenyan economy, and it's foreign ownership is a positive. In the modern global village, I dont believe in fake nationalism that only criples companies.
the deal
#57 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 9:28:08 AM

@ vvs yep i'm flying nbo-joburg-whk...no direct flight to whk yet...i think KQ can capitalise on this...last year they launched a direct flight to Gaborone/Botswana...